We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort. Fabulous restaurant "The Mediterraneo"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing resort. Fabulous restaurant "The Mediterraneo"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Gorgeous property, amazing staff and first-rate spa. The restaurants here are five star! My favorite was the "Mediterraneo".Chef Aristeo Nava introduced himself outside of the restaurant and invited me to a special dinner the next night. Very friendly and inviting! He and Chef Narciso prepared a true culinary feast I never would have expected at a resort. The entire staff including Manager Mario, Hostess Suey and Waiter Humberto treated me like family. I went there almost every night, even tho there were plenty of other choices. Hard to resist the the consistent hospitality, amazing service, charming décor and gourmet choices here. Do no miss this great find!!! Can't wait to go back! Thank you for making my stay so relaxing!!

Room Tip: Only downside our room was next to a construction site - noisy early morning until early evening. Sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Once again, thank you very much for your great review and Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,004
    2,148
    660
    296
    216
See reviews for
1,734
9,237
186
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,056)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Myfamily and i have stayed at this resort many times, The food is Amazing, the rooms are great! the pool was freezing cold on one visit but minor detail, the spa is great and playa is a fun town. The staff is very accomodating. Tip: we stay at the sister resort in Cancun now called the Hyatt Zilara. The resort is a little newer and nicer BUT being able to walk from the resort to 5th Ave in Playa is what makes us keep coming back. If you have more that a week i recommend a stay at both resorts, its nice to break up the trip with a week at each resort

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our Resort, we are very happy that you enjoyed all of our services.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Royal in Playa del Carmen for 7 days. We arrived for a friend's destination wedding and were travelling with a group of about thirty people. Upon arrival, we were checked-in quickly, offered water and moist towels and shown to our rooms. We had junior suites which were very lovely, with the mini bar fully stocked and everything nicely presented. During our stay, our cleaning lady (Maria) did a very thorough and good job. We always had fresh linens/towels, a good stock of bottles of water, different turn down service at night (from hearts to dog shaped towels) and accompanied by hershey kisses. The larger (and louder pool) closer to the beach was nice and had a fun swim up bar. There's a quieter pool on one side of the resort which offers a small bar, more peace/quiet and is also right next to the Coffee House (where Luisa makes the best iced coffees and which has a lot of yummy treats). The wedding went smoothly and our friends (and all of us as guests) had an amazing time, especially during the party on the beach that followed. The food at all the resort restaurants was pretty delicious. Our favourite was Asiana (by far the best!), we also went there three times. You don't require a reservation for dinner for Asiana and all the dishes were so well done (the pork curry noodles and terriyaki beef, along with the sushi, were some of the most amazing dishes). The chefs there make the most amazing sauces and prepare all the meat so perfectly. We also made reservations and ate at Maria Marie (the lamb chop dish was quite good) and Meditterraneo (the only item that stood out here was one of the desserts which came with carrot ice cream and honeyed bananas which was quite simply one of my favourite desserts at the resort). Spice, the buffet bar, was perfect for breakfasts and lunches when you wanted some variety and something quick to eat. The food was decent considering it's a buffet and there were many new dishes/foods every day. As mentioned above, the Coffee House was a favourite of ours. The iced coffees and treats were always good/yummy and it's open early/late. The 24hr. lounge/snack bar was also good (offering finger foods and a variety of drinks, alcoholic and non-acoholic, and coffee). Pelicanos is also nice, quick and convenient (the three milk cake is delicious) and the Tapas place is right next door which is also quick and offers lots of yummy options (try everything on the menu, since it's all small, and then order additional items that you like most). The Tapas place also offers amazing tacos during the lunch hour (which are a must!).

The only issue we had was with Room Service (breakfast). The first time I ordered breakfast, it came and was wonderful. The following two mornings it didn't come at all (despite calling and inquiring). On the first occasion, we called just after 9am and when nothing came by 11am, we called and they said they would call back to let us know what happened. We did receive a call back a moment later with apologies, they didn't know what happened and asked if we'd still like our order. We simply went to the buffet at Spice since it was mid morning. The next morning we ordered the same items, around the same time and didn't receive anything for over an hour. We called before 11am again and they said it was on its way but it never came and we never received a follow up call. This second occasion was more annoying since the staff we spoke to indicated it was coming but it never did. We had ordered room service the night before also and this came without issue so we were uncertain why our breakfast orders, two mornings in a row, didn't arrive. We weren't angry as we had other options but just slightly annoyed and thought it may have been due to our suite location (which was in the 300s on the upper level of the resort). Not a big deal or issue but really the only thing that was a deficit in our experience.

We were able to book a Coba adventure through Best Day which costed about $150 each (the company they use is Alltournative). This included pick-up in the morning with our tour guide, a trip through the jungle, with zip-lining, going into a cenote (underground cave with water) and a full authentic lunch in Penncha, followed by a trip to the Coba ruins where you can rent a bike for $4 and travel around quickly to see most of the sites (we wish we had had an extra half an hour for this though). Our guide, Jose, was really great and this made for a safe, fun and amazing day. My boyfriend also booked whale-sharking which he thoroughly enjoyed but which was also a bit pricey at $300 (you can book for cheaper, for $125, outside of the resort. I went to Coco Bongo with friends from the wedding group for $80 (which you can also find for cheaper on 5th Ave.) but this includes open bar at the club, in addition to the full show. There's no describing Coco Bongo, you just have to go! It's really amazing and well worth the price. Just get up close to the railings as soon as you get there so you don't miss any of it.

Pros:
- amazing, friendly and hard working staff (we tipped a lot as we really appreciated everything the staff did)
- really yummy resort food (try as much as you can! we loved so much of it)
- convenient location (easy to get to the beach, walk to 5th Avenue, to be picked up for adventures off the resort)
- lovely rooms (very romantic and comfortable)
- the resort really has everything you need to be comfortable and if you need anything, just ask the concierge, they're very helpful and nice
- although it seems expensive, the all inclusive aspect is well worth the cost and made for an excellent trip

Cons:
- we only experienced a few issues with morning Room Service but no complaints otherwise
- costly to book additional activities through the resort (try going to 5th Ave. first to find the same trips but at a cheaper price, chances are you can also haggle prices lower which some of our group did later into our time there)
- two of our group found a cockroach in their rooms (just one) but still, it made me a bit weary

We really loved Playa. It's so beautiful with some very lovely and good people. We felt very safe and had no issues while on or off the resort. My boyfriend lost his phone on the boat for the whale shark adventure but the tour guide had it back to him by the next evening (we honestly thought it was gone for good!). Everyone goes beyond your expectations which makes us want to come back again! We really loved the resort and people and were glad to tip whenever possible.

We went in July so it's super humid and hot but bearable. We experience similar days in Toronto but not as ongoing. Just be prepared with lots of sunscreen, hats and change of light clothes/undergarments and you'll be set ;-)

Room Tip: There seem to be Room Service issues with the suites in the 300s and these are slightly further from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff and beautiful property!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Also we would like to mention that we are sincerely sorry with the inconveniences you mentioned your feedback has been shared to the correct staffs and actions will be taken in order to improve for our future guests. Thank you again and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muldow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were greeted with champagne when we checked in and for the rest of our stay were treated like royalty. William took our bags to our fantastic pool side room and was very helpful with what restaurants needed reservations and any other questions we had. Menderos kept our room exceptionally clean and made a wash cloth animal for our bed everyday surrounded by rose petals. We also had nightly sheet turn down that included chocolate and pillow preference.
The food was fabulous including 24 hour room service and 24 hour game and snack room located down the hall from the gift shop. The Spice has a something for everyone food bar or you can order from their menu. Tapas and Pelicanos are excellent. Try Chef Rudy's enchiladas by request they are amazing! The Asiana is another excellent choice located across the street from the resort, needs no reservations and yes, it's part of the all inclusive except the lobster. The italian restaurant which is part of the adjacent resort is excellent but does require reservations.
The entertainers are very talented and I enjoyed the poolside live band.
I did not see anyone falling down drunk or any wild pool parties. The pool is closed at night so the employees can clean for the next day.
We went with my brother and sister-in-law and had a nice relaxing time. Everyone just floating around the pool or relaxing in their lounger.
I would give this resort 10's if I could including cleanliness which is not typical for me. When you can keep a poolside bathroom clean that says a lot!
I'm trying to get my husband to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suznkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate this review. We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and attentive, this will motivate us to keep doing our best job! Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in your second home, “the Royal Playa del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

For two first timers to Mexico what a wonderful place to stay, such a stunning resort. The overall look and feel of the resort was truly amazing, one of the most stunning resorts my partner and I have ever stayed at. The staff were always accommodating and incredibly friendly. The nightly shows were wonderful and provided enough entertainment within the complex if you didn't want to go out. We had a couple massage in Spazul which was a wonderful environment and also had a romantic dinner for two on the beach of the hotel which was stunning, a must for any couples. Could not fault the resort and it's staff on anything. Has definitely opened my eyes and heart to Mexico and I will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleenmc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you again for your great review and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we went here for honeymoon and thought the grounds are lovely the decoration is lovely the people are so friendly and work so hard the food was great but there were a few problems. there was a funny musky smell in our room that we complained about 4 times they tried to get rid of it but failed.people get up early to reserve loungers ive seen this before but not on this scale one day we were next to 3 beds with towels and books on from 8.00am til the people returned at 16.00pm!! which they lay on the beds for half an hr then left to go back to there room people were left walking round with no where to sit and there was these selfish people that had gone out for the day then come back to a perfect spot in the sun.we witnessed people tipping round the pool to reserve the best loungers for the next day this is very unfair.the beach is far from brilliant but if you can look pass these things you'll be fine marie marie is definately worth a try.but avoid 5th avenue and coco bongo

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear newlyweds,

We appreciate this review. We are sorry that you did not have the best service as we are used to give, we really apologize and be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service.
We apologize if in some way we did not exceed your expectations and we sincerely hope you consider to give us another opportunity host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Royal

My husband and I are flying home from the most amazing trip to The Royal Hotel and Suites in Playa del Carmen! I have to share with you our experience so anyone reading this can benefit like we did by reading others suggestions.
First of all our vacation was booked from Enchanted Honeymoons by Andy. He is the best advice giver when it comes to travel! Thank you Andy! We traveled from Monday to Sunday. When we arrived we went straight to the Romance Office where Willamena checked us in and told us about the resort. This took about 20 minutes because we kept asking her questions. After that we were starving so we went to grab an early dinner at Spice restaurant. I don't know if we were that hungry but everything we tasted from the buffet was over the top! The service there was so attentive! We got up to our room (321) and there we found we had the perfect location. We were facing the inside courtyard so the view was magnificent and the walks to the pool, ocean and restaurants was very short. Would highly recommend this! The room was well stocked with beer, liquor and wine. I guess if I was to complain about anything within the room it would be that the refrigerator did not keep anything more than cool. But, I guess it just forced us to go out or order in room service if we needed to eat or drink in our room. When you read your itinerary you will find it says requests will try to be honored. Well, that meant instead of our request for a king size bed we got two double beds that the management pushed together and topped with a solid piece. The bed was HUGE and because of the view and proximity of the room we chose to make the best of it even though we felt the other one was far away while sleeping (not a deal breaker)!
The first full day on the resort consisted of the main pool. We were lucky that we got two chairs that morning closest to the pool and these are the ones that are submerged in the water. We learned from that day on to wake up and put a towel and a personal belonging over the chair of our choice so we could be in that same spot all day. We were always served by the pool with a smile. Lily was usually our waitress and if you tip a little at the beginning of the day any of the waitress/waiters will always come by often and return with your beverage. One of the things we have learned from other travels is to pack our own Buba Keg that you can purchase from Walmart this way your drink will stay very cold. All our friends like ours so much that they bought theirs at the little stand along side the pool, but the mugs there are not as big. We also like to travel with them in our suitcase to hold anything that might break during travel. We also participated in pool activities and I need say a big "thank you" to Mosha the activities director for all fun that we had at the pool and at the tastings that begin at 6:30 under his guidance.
The ocean was fabulous, but you had to walk just a few steps away from the pier to avoid the smell. I am sure it is just the moss and such that makes the odor, but it doesn't linger when you walk one way or the other. Also, the sand there is perfect and feels like flour between your toes!
The restaurants were great! We had read about the different options, so we made a plan each day where and what kind of food we would eat. Our favorite place for breakfast was Spice, lunch was fish tacos at Tapas, and then we ate Asian, Mediterranean, French/Mexican and Italian. All of these good and some need reservations so you might want to do that the day before you plan on eating there. Oh, don't forget the Coffee House! They will make you anything you want for your daily jolt of caffeine.
We had rain one day and found ourselves enjoying the entertainment in the Lobby. A gentleman showed us how to make an authentic cup of Mexican Coffee with tequilla. Amazing! It tasted like a campfire marshmallow!
The nightly entertainment was always good. Decades is the theme of one night and you won't want to miss it.
Now as far as leaving the resort feel free to do so. We went to 5th Avenue several times and always felt safe. It is clean and of course there will be vendors who will try and get you into their store, but just say no and walk on.
The spa was so beautiful and well managed. I had a massage and facial that Gilda gave me. She was very sweet and professional. My husband walked down the beach while I was there and found a beach massage for a third of the price and came back very relaxed. We also went back to 5th Avenue to Be's and had a couples massage (very cheap) and loved it! So, if you want to stay on property for your spa treatments you won't be disappointed, but if you want to have several spa treatments during your stay for less cost then cons.comsadider outside of the resort. Once again we felt very safe during all our experiences.\'
One other thing before I finish this long explanatio of our trip I would like to give advice about tipping. I know some do and some don't. My suggestion is to carry small amounts of money with you such as $1's and $5's. The service there is over the top and for everything that the staff does to make our trip memorable a little gratitude will be greatly appreciated.
Last said, we can't wait to go back!!! We will be booking another trip as soon as we have a break in our schedule. Great vacation!!

Room Tip: We were in room 321 (south side facing north)with a nice view, close to all the restaurants and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jfrazier45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
This is a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service, food, resort areas, Spa treatments, the beach and our hard working staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,977 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,597 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing