We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We cannot fault this excellent hotel/resort. The staff were extremely friendly, obliging and courteous. Our room was magnificent in every sense of the word. We were really impressed with the selection of restaurants within the hotel, and can't say enough about the friendly waiters at each.

Aidan, Jeronimo and the other waiters inside Spice made us feel so welcome each morning for breakfast. They're Tequila jokes never got old, and they remembered, from day to day, our food/beverage preferences without fail.

The Royal is in a great position, right on the beach, and also within a 2 minute walk of the fabulous and colourful Fifth Avenue markets/shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJYounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
Once again thank you for staying with us it will be our pleasure to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,494
    2,217
    679
    306
    224
See reviews for
1,841
9,592
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The best experience, the food in "mediteraneo" the desserts were delicious, and luxury service throughout the hotel, the pilates reformer class were very professional whit regina, and my favorite show "elements" pepe did a good job in the performance aerial, the maitres in the pool Eva was very friendly, definitely I come back soon

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RonV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your fabulous review. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your vacation.
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My boyfriend and I had such an amazing time at The Royal. Playa del Carmen is 40 min away from Cancun but in my opinion who have gone to Cancun many times, Playa del Carmen is more beautiful, exclusive, more fun things to do there. The ferry to Cozmel is 5 min walk from this resort.

All the shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs strip is 1 min walk. You don't have to take taxi to do all that! We went out every night to walk around, for shopping or clubbing till late night but it's safe to walk back to the resort at 3 AM. How cool is that? The room was huge with ocean view and jacuzzi.

All-inclusive deal was excellent; food was great at any restaurant but especially at Asiana. Breakfast selection was pretty good, I had no complains. There was a communal room with table tennis, billiard, delicious complimentary snack & sweets & drinks 24hrs. The staff is extremely friendly and always smiling :-) We met so many time-share guests and I could see why.

We went for morning bike tour to bike around the area (free) which was really fun, we got the area map in our head in one morning! Also the tour guide was very helpful where to go for certain things like restaurants, bars and clubs. We really really enjoyed this resort. You won't regret choosing this resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueskylover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have 8 grown children / spouses ranging in age 19-35. We came to celebrate my husbands birthday and our daughters remission from Leukemia. The Royal more than met our expectations and was a fabulous vacation for all. The staff is so welcoming and warm. Ana Christina was delightful at check in. We enjoyed breakfast at Pelicanos with Rodolfo and Bob most mornings. Our rooms were wonderful, the food delicious, service outstanding.....The location provided activities for all and we all agreed this was our favorite of any resort we have visited. We plan to be frequent guests and recommend the Royal Playa del Carmen without hesitation.
Megan Whalen at Honeymoons Inc helped with our arrangements and was great to work with! megan@honeymoonsinc.com
Thank you everyone for a fabulous vacation!!
Terry and Family

Room Tip: The Royal Junior Suites were roomy and had all the extras!! 3rd floor ocean view was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and fabulous review. We are glad to read that you and your family really enjoyed your vacation.
I am also copying our management team so that they can also share your positive feedback with the rest our staff.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We returned for our 4th stay at The Royal and everything was brilliant once again. Every member of staff goes out of their way to provide you with the best stay possible. We would particularly like to thank the staff in Pelicanos and the Asian for always going above and beyond for us - the food in both these restaurants were our favourite! The entertainment staff was also fab - always making sure that everyone was having a good time during the day. The most amazing entertainment for us, however, were the nightly shows. The dancers are all great but Ricardo is especially brilliant and clearly really loves what he does! Thank you - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,
On behalf of all the staff at The Royal Playa del Carmen, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you. We are extremely pleased to know that you really enjoyed once again your recent stay at our resort.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in TA. Is the most rewarding feeling to know that the every day effort worth a thousand times when our guests can treasure an unforgettable experience. We will certainly forward your kind review to all staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
league city
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

July 19 thru the 24th was 7th stay at this incredible resort. Thank you Erika Estrada ( chief concierge ) for room location. It was really a pleasure meeting you in person while at the resort. Rooms are kept immaculate. Feliciana Zavala and Marbella Ku did some amazing towel and flower art on the big, comfortable bed. Avi, thanks for keeping frig stocked each day. By the way, the frig had the contents ice cold! We hit all the restaurants and they never dissappointed. Great service from Jaime at Pescatore at sister hotel as well as Jose Garcia and his staff at Spice. Lalo, Nancy and the waiters at EL Mediterraneo went out of their way to make our stay special. Thanks Adrian for the great omlettes! Pelicano's was our favorite lunch spot. Sitting outside with the view and great sea breeze can't be beat. Mario and his hostesses, Nancy de Dios and Selma always greeted you with a smile. Rodolfo, Manuel, Geronimo and Bob are great waiters. If you wanted something that wasn't on the menu, no problem. Fish tacos are really good. Spazul is clean and modern and our massages by Levinia and Issac were excellent. Hydrotherapy area is great, cold plunge is a must! Bartenders are spot on. I want to give a shout out to Reyes, Mario, Tony and Louis Roberto. Thanks guys. Vi, great to see you back. Missed you last 4 years. Hector, Rigo, William ( bellman), great to see you guys and we'll see you again soon. There is something for everyone at The Royal. Main pool is active. Pool in back more subdued. One think is always the same. The people who work at The Royal go out of their way to make sure you are having a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms well appointed. Not all have ocean views. Huge resort being built next door. Choose your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your 7th visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home. It will be our pleasure to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at The Royal Playa Del Carmen multiple times, and its always been a wonderful experience. This is my favorite resort. The location is walking distance to 5th Avenue for shopping. The staff is always friendly and courteous. You never have to ask for anything. The beds are comfy, and rooms always clean. Will most definitely return again. Hopefully soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,
It is such a delight to hear from you and to read your amazingly kind words.
As you should know by now, our motto is to do our jobs from the heart and it is absolutely true, especially when it is for incredibly nice people as you are. I think I can speak from the staff in general when I say that we sincerely care about you and we are greatly thankful for your preference and support.
We look forward to welcome you once more very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing