We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week at the Royal Playa del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Week at the Royal Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The activity staff was great. Enjoyed talking to Moeshe, Victor, Pepe, etc. Service in all the restaurants was top-notch. Never had to wait for a thing. And Claudia Cordova had our room done. Isabel gives great foot massages. :) We enjoyed the spa also. Spent most of the days at the pool outside our room, where drink service was always available. The staff was great and we never lacked a drink. Ate at six different restaurants and food was great. And really enjoyed the ice cream and chai tea latte at The Coffee Shop. Check-in/Check-out was simple, and we were immediately made to feel at home. Love the all-inclusive.

Room Tip: Had "Ocean View" room but we couldn't see the ocean. Not complaining though because w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your fabulous review. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your vacation.
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,494
    2,217
    679
    306
    224
See reviews for
1,841
9,592
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at this all-inclusive resort. Room was beautifully kept, housekeeping staff was pleasant and accommodating. Waitress, Prudi, at the beach was wonderful. Great access to excursions, nearby shopping accessible by just stepping out the front door. Restaurant cuisine was delicious and room service was speedy. Within a short taxi ride to the ferry to Cozumel. Hope to go again!

Room Tip: Rooms on corners have smaller balconies, but better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is our 4th all-inclusive trip as a couple to the Cancun area.

Location: better on-the-town experience then other resorts. Can explore the city of Playa del Carmen by foot right outside the hotel.

Beach: The Royal was different for us from past resorts where the beach was secluded. This beach is small with public traffic. Roped off swimming area.

Food: High quality ingredients, many options, great service. (Asiana was our favorite)

Room: We loved the room (we had basic room). Cleaned daily, spacious, greco-roman themed, The construction of nearby hotel is noisy throughout the day. If you like to sleep in, request a room away from construction. This did not effect us as we weren't in our room during the day. (we woke up at 7:30a daily)

Activities: You can do as much or as little as you like. Free activities include kayak, snorkel, Zumba, Pilates, tequila tasting, wine tasting, walking around town, visiting The Royal's sister-resort next door and more..

Staff: Upon leaving the resort we made note of staff members that had made our vacation more enjoyable and stood out above the rest...

Moshe (entertainment staff): Dynamic, personable, and friendly, Moshe had the special gift of being able to talk with anyone and make you feel comfortable and welcome. Very down-to-earth guy who cares about people.

Alfonso Helston (Asiana waiter): Kind, remembered our names and beverages each time we would visit and order. Accommodated us when we needed to catch our flight on the last day and always smiled. A great representation of the excellent service standard held by The Royal.

Selma (restaurant greeter): A hard working, friendly face to see every time we went to eat.

Carlos (sommelier): A genuinely nice, intelligent man who knows his stuff regarding libations. We attended his tastings and were impressed at the quality of the presentation, the passion he exuded and his professionalism.

Elizabeth (beach bartender): Always smiling amidst running around in the heat taking orders. She is a very hard worker and was happy.

Chi (main lobby bartender): Not only did he make good drinks, but he was quick, knowledgeable, and built relationship with us throughout the week. We looked forward to seeing Chi for our cocktail every evening

Tony (main lobby bartender): Friendly, praised other coworkers, would ask us how we were enjoying our stay, a friendly face we enjoyed seeing every day.

Room Tip: - Bring tip money to tip the workers that work hard to make your vacation relaxing and enjoyable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me and some friends came to The Royal because my parents recommended it for a good get away. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms very spacious. We had very few issues overall. The additional bed was mediocre at best and room service failed to bring our requested items one evening. Not a big deal really. The only negative aspect really was the massive rocks in the water at the beach. My one friend broke one of his toes while another sliced his foot open. But a little further down from the hotel there aren't as many rocks. The service was just shy of impeccable. Some of the best I've had in a long time. We frequented the lobby bar because on our first night one of the bartenders, Tony, along with the rest of the staff was excellent. Perfect service. Uplifting attitude. Knowledgable and professional. Tony was definitely one of the friendliest bartenders I've come across in a while, which says a lot bc I myself am a professional bartender and frequent bars and restaurants in Austin, TX where I live. Tony and the staff left such an impression on us we gifted them a bottle of Clase Azul Tequila. Definitely recommend for a relaxing week.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv4vzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 7 that paid a lot of money to rent 4 rooms at this hotel (2 oceanfront and 2 ocean views). The hotel would not let us rest on the beach where there was vacancy. We were told ON OUR LAST DAY OF VISITING that we had to leave the available cabanas and rest in our rooms because the cabana numbers were not reserved for us (regardless of rows of availability). We were also told that the kayak rentals were first come first serve....they're not. It seems as though the employees of the hotel ARE NOT INFORMED OF THE HOTELS OWN RULES! Be very careful if you book here as they seem to make up rules of what their guests are "allowed" to do on a daily basis. Good luck with your stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of you’re The Royal Playa stay. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received, as providing excellent service is our utmost priority. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely reception by Roberto; very welcoming; pillow and room scent option were nice touch though the pillows were disappointing-- need more firm options; we were assigned to a ground level room that was lovely but not the Ocean view option we paid for that was listed on the voucher; would be good to inform guests that bikes and kayaks are available for use outside of the tour times.

Great housekeeping by Luisa

Very nice and kind greeting by staff in walkways

Great introduction to Pilates by Regina; so much so I'm going to start Pilates back home; great instruction and attentiveness to needs of class participants

Pepe gave a good bike tour with some description of the Bahia and Mayan ruins but seemed distracted during kayak tour with little engagement during the tour

Classes and tours were a little shorter than expected at 40 minutes

Really disappointed in the spa experience; the stewards in the hydroarea were helpful offering coffee; but my therapist tried to upsell me as soon as we got into the spa room (would have been more open to other options when I signed up initially). I agreed to upgrade to deep tissue but was later informed I would lose the facial that was part of the package; I then declined, but she kept pushing; I declined again; all of this took time away from the massage, which was the worst I have had; there was very little pressure used until she worked on my upper arms. The facial that was part of the package wasn't at all was I was expecting-- a toner and cold cream and cucumber slices. To be honest, the relaxation massage on the beach was a much better massage in a glorious location for a third of the price.

Room service steward forgot to bring silverware and the food was not good at all -- hamburgers tasted frozen rather than fresh.

Restaurants were okay; food wasn't the greatest--best were Asiana and Maria Marie. Kind of disappointed we couldn't order food on the beach or take food out of 24-hour lounge.

Beach was nice though cramped with construction going on next door.

Conditioner and shampoo were low quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-V77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
Also, we would like to mention that we take our guests´ comments very seriously this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. I've stayed all inclusive before but this is the nicest. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. Moshe was hilarious and have great tips about the city. Lots places to shop in town and very safe. Prude was the best waitress on the beach. She'd have a fresh drink before you asked! The food was delicious. We ate at all the restaurants and didn't have a bad experience at one! The pool and beach are great too. Reserve a chair in the water early at the pool. We are already hoping to come back and stay for an anniversary. Best trip ever!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdlindse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear newlyweds,
First of all, thank you for choosing us to spend this special date, your Honeymoon! We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service. Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home! And will be our pleasure to host you once again in your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing