We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I got married last year and honeymooned in Playa at the Royal! It was AMAZING! They had exceptional food, great nightlife, relaxing atmosphere. The Royal has everything you could want and more! They have a variety of restaraunts from high end to pop in and grab a snack to everything in the middle. The staff is entertaining and welcoming! We where there during construction and they accomidated our request to change rooms the 2nd day we where there. There where two frustrations we had. 1) Upon check in they ask you what slot times you want room service and bar service (to stock the mini bar in your fridge) the staff NEVER came during that slot. They either came super early or right before we where going to sleep. We complained numerous times and finally by the 6th day they fixed the issue (we where there a total of 10 days) Also, the 'Do Not Distrube' signs where constantly getting stolen off our door because they were not restocking them in other rooms. The second issue was every morning we would get woken up by what sounded like a train heading towards our room! It was the tires from the service carts being wheeled down the hallway! Please someone fix those! Our complaints our minimal compared to the experience you will have at The Royal! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VacaGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Also we really apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned, be sure we will sharing your comments with our Manager in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service.
Once again please accept our most sincere apologies and Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,418 - 6,424 of 16,640 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The best food, service, quality, vacation you will ever get at an all inclusive!! The food alone is everything!! I'm talking about real deal quality. 2 minutes away from 5th avenue, night life shopping and walks. Stay here!!! Yes there is construction next door it may loud in some rooms but in our room you can't hear anything and others tell me the same. You will never find another all inclusive like this. Also I'm still here but I love it so much that I had to leave my review now!! Can't wait to come back and I didn't leave yet!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you, Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a wonderful time here. Location is the best part about this hotel. Food was amazing!!! Great bartenders especially Luis from Trade Wind bar at the pool! He was super friendly and professionAl! MAde the best drinks there! Going back here!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilukajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate this review. Thank you for give us the opportunity to host you and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff at The Royal were incredibly welcoming and cheerful. We loved the hand on the heart greetings! The hotel is super clean and the rooms are beautifully decorated. We paid extra for an "ocean view" although we couldn't see much of the ocean as it was a first floor room. It was a convenient location though - close to the pool, which by the way is very nice. There are lounge chairs on a ledge in the pool and it was great to grab a couple of those for the day. The beach is not the best as much of it is taken by lounge chairs, and it is a bit short anyway. The dock just to the right of the hotel is not an attractive feature. I don't want to sound too negative though as it is possible to take long walks along the water which we enjoyed, and the beach opened up along the way. The Royal's restaurants are very good and there are more than enough of them as you are able to use the sister hotel's restaurants as well. The sister hotel is directly across the street. The buffet is not open air, which is smart as there are no problems with insects. The Royal isn't one of the mega resorts but we liked the somewhat smaller scale - we still had everything we needed or wanted without having to walk far to the restaurants, beach, pool or lobby. There isn't a lot of foliage on the grounds, but what is there is beautiful and well maintained. The nightly entertainment was average when we visited but the entertainment staff were lovely, particularly Josi who has personality plus. The Royal's location is terrific. The Cozumel ferry is in walking distance, and there are a mall and at least a mile of shops, restaurants and bars basically just outside the hotel doors. Typically, I don't go to the same hotel/resort twice because I like to try different ones, but I absolutely would return to The Royal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn about your pleasant stay at our resort and sincerely grateful for the generous post on Trip Advisor. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Is the most rewarding feeling to know that the everyday effort worth a thousand times when our guests can treasure an unforgettable experience.
We will certainly forward your kind words to all our staff, and we look forward to host you again at your Mexican Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal at the end of April 2014 for a week. Overall we had a great time. We upgraded to a Master Suite Room because we wanted a large room to gather with friends and family. The room was beautiful. We did have problems with the water getting hot. I had to call for help and the beginning, middle, and end of our stay for the issue of not having hot water, and they fixed the problem at the beginning, and end, but the majority of the time the water was warm, and not hot making the hot tub hard to enjoy. Complaining at check out did nothing, and no compensation was offered. Also, our travel agency told us that because of the construction we would be provided with vouchers for hotel credits for anime ties before we went, but the hotel acted like they did not know what we were talking about, and offered us nothing. The hotel was beautiful, service good, food and drinks great.

We also had major issues with Lomas Travel who does transport and excursions and has an office in the hotel. We were refunded for their services once home as they were poor at resolving any issues there.

It is a beautiful place, and I want to be there now. There are so many places to go and stay. For what we paid there are many other places that are more reasonable. I should have stayed where my travel agent suggested, but we chose this one because of an event.

The construction really wasn't an issue, and we were near it.

I would probably stay somewhere else next time primarily because of the value of the cost.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank StevenD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding the discomfort to your stay at The Royal Playa del Carmen, we are sincerely sorry that everything was not up to the standard that you would have liked. We cordially invite you to visit us in the near future and give us the opportunity to change your perception from our resort. Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is our second time at the Real Royal and it didn't disappoint. We are a water loving family and spent everyday poolside. The Sports and Entertainment crew: Victor, Mosche, Franco, Jossy, Danny (Boy), Pepe (look for Pepe in the shows too!) go out of their way to make your experience fun. We were lucky to be selected for a private lunch with Franco at the Chef's Table where Chef's Felix and Vincente prepared our special luncheon in front of us (incredible gastronomical experience!). Pedro and Michel, Mukul and Montsenat made the experience superb!
The rooms are expertly cleaned each day and if you want something in your refrigerator in your room, just ask for it and magically it appears. On each floor there is a person concierge to help you make dinner reservations (some restaurants require) or to assist you with anything you need. I love this perk. I didn't get our concierge's name but he was outside of room 155.
Many many restaurants to choose from with a great assortment of items to choose from.
We highly recommend this resort - they make it so you don't THINK to go out of the resort for anything. ENJOY!
This is an all adult resort, must be 16 or older - they will check ID. Go to the Gran Porto with children...it's across the street.

Room Tip: We had our room on the first floor with easy access to the pool. It was really nice to use our own b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review! Is really important for us to know you really enjoyed your stay with us and you were treated like royalty as you deserve. Thank you from your feedback about our staff, one of the most important part in our resort. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were there to celebrate our wedding on august 9th.
We were treated like King and Queen !
Room, Restaurant, spa, shows...name it.....the best all inclusive i've been so far !
Special thanks to the manager Victor who took care of us, to Zulma who made sure everything was perfect for our wedding, Fernando the Mediteraneo's chef who did amazing special food for us.
We will have great memories for ever !
thank you

Eugénie et Daniel Therrien

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Royal Guests,
First of all, thank you for choosing us to spend this special date, your wedding! We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home! And will be our pleasure to host you in your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,484 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,265 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £242 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing