We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, Beyond Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Beyond Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We've been to several resorts in Mexico and we were very pleased with our 8 day stay! On-line check in is a wonderful feature and we were NOT accosted by time share sellers. The staff was very professional and could not have been more helpful.

The food in all of the restaurants was excellent and we were especially fond of Pelicanos, Spice and Asiana. The Chef's Plate was a 'fine dining' experience which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Yes, the pool is cold but it felt so refreshing after lying in the sun. The ocean was warm and inviting! We never had a problem finding loungers but then we were up at the crack of dawn.

The evening shows were not outstanding but we weren't there for the shows.

The amenities included: towel art on the beds, the turn down service in the evenings, robes and slippers, room service was very prompt and the food was always good.

I paid $60 extra for the week to use the steam room and the sauna - well worth the price!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DakotaMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,867
    2,124
    654
    294
    215
See reviews for
1,710
9,130
184
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,002)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

My mother, two sisters, and myself just returned from 7 nights at the The Royal-Playa Del Carmen. We very much enjoyed the wide range of activities that were offered throughout the day by the sports/entertainment team. The activities ranged from lazy events that you didn't even need to get out of your lounge chair for to bike tours of the city. Fernando and Adan, who were staff members of the activities team helped make our entire trip enjoyable. These two individuals are a great addition to the resort. They had very outgoing and friendly personalities, which encouraged guests to become involved in the activities offered by the resort. Fernando and Adan always remained professional and we never felt burdened to become involved in the activities. I can only imagine how many other guests of The Royal-Playa Del Carmen have had their vacations impacted in a hugely positive way by Fernando and Adan, as well as the rest of the entertainment team. Thanks Again!
-The Watson Girls

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank betsy0135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

Just returned from an eight day stay at the Royal. Everything was above and beyond our expectations, which were high to begin with. We've stayed at two other high end resorts on the Riviera Maya, but this was the best. The on-line check-in was easy and we were able to get the room we wanted, room 385, with a great view. I mentioned on-line that it was our aniversary, so when we arrived we were wisked away from the front desk to a private office. There we met with Veronique Fincken who was our personal "Romance Concierge". She handled everthing, made our reservations for the Chef's Plate, explained about the hotel ammenities, explained where everything was and gave us a map of the grounds, and ensured that we got extra special treatment throughout our stay. When we got to our room, it was beautifully decorated with towel art and flowers and there was a cold bottle of spumante along with fresh fruit and a small cake.

The restaurants were all excellent. We especially liked the buffet at Spice and the menu at Asiana. Chef's Plate and Maria Marie's were also fabulous. Pelicanos was being expanded, so we only ate there twice. Service at each of these ranged from excellant to outstanding. We had dinner one night at IL Pescatores across the street at the sister resort. The food there was good, but not up to par with the Royal. However, the service was also outstanding.

I'm an early riser, so we never had a problem finding a spot on the beach. Yes, you have to play the towel game to get a good spot, but there is always room regardless of how late in the day you arrive. We much preferred the beach because it is quiter and more scenic. The bar service on the beach is fantastic. If you prefer more activity, then go to the pool. Organized events are always happening there.

We shopped a few times on 5th Avenue. That's where we got the souveniers for the grandkids. Do some bargaining. You can usually get 60% to 70% off the marked price. If you forget something you need for your trip, go to the Mega store four blocks down from the hotel. It's got everything you might need, and at better prices than the Wal Mart which is a few blocks further down.

On a really high note: we were never approached by the time share people. Why? We don't know. But maybe it's because we're out of their demographic, age wise. Or maybe because we had a private check-in with Veronique. The white shirted time share people seem to hover around the front desk, so beware. Just be sure to deal with a concierge, not "Guest Services". That is code for "Time Share"! However, we didn't hear anyone complain that they were too pushy .

We met a lot of interesting and friendly people: Tom and Betty from outside of Toronto; J.R. and Lisa from Maine; John, Kathy, and friends from Rochester, NY; five couples from Calgary; and many more nice people from throughout the US and Canada.

To sum up: this was a great trip and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, especially Veronique. Please tip the waiter/waitress and housekeeping staff. They work hard, are always pleasant, and they deserve to be rewarded. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The beach was wonderful. The food was terrific. I'm runing out of adjectives, so I'll end with that.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Larlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

I took my wife on a trip to playa as i went through the town years ago when i was getting on the ferry to go to Cozumel. When i went through the town i told myself i need to come back as it looked like a beautiful place to visit. 6 years later, i had the opportunity to go back and choose the Royal because of 1)location 2) having both a pool and beach access 3) Five star ratings. Most of all the reviews on tripadvisor were very positives.
When we got them my wife said she didn't want to leave and we enjoyed every aspect of our stay except that we both love swimming in a pool and were stunned to find out that the hotel did not heat their pools. The ocean water was warmer than the water in the pool. We have been to a lot of other hotels in Mexico and all major hotels do heat their pools. We decided to take a day trip (costing me $100 for taxi) go to The Royal in Cancun just to jump into their pool which was in fact very warm. The site in Cancun was not as clean, food was not that great and the service was not comparative to the Royal in Playa. We were relieved to be back at the Playa hotel that night as we learned to applicate the royal in Playa. I would go back in a heart beat and have recommended the hotel to other people. I just wanted to share with everyone if they have high expectations of using the pool at the hotel - to just be made aware that the pool is not heated and cold enough for you to think twice before jumping in.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brentjolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

My husband and I arrived at the The Royal Playa Del Carmen after spending a few days at Excellence Playa Mujeres. As soon as we arrived to the front entrance, we immediatedly wanted to return to the previous resort, so my review may seem slightly biased. This place felt congested as the front entrance/lobby was very hectic and busy compared to other places we have stayed. We actually spent more time in the town of Playa Mujeres than we spent on the resort during the days and evenings. I felt like we must have missed something because there didn't seem to be too much to do here in the evenings, other than drinks in the lobby. Overall we made the best it, but probably wouldn't return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brigets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

We spent two weeks here and it is a fabulous hotel. The location is 3 mins walk to 5th Ave and has a great beach location. The restaurants are just as good quality as any you will find on 5th av (unless you venture out to El Fogon on 30th which is excellent and very authentic). The pool is very very cold which is why no one was ever in it also you do need to get up early if you want a spot by the pool but the beach is usually fine. We managed to ignore the timeshare people for our holiday as i did not want to spend an hour of my time being talked at.

The room we were in could be quite noisey at night as we were close to the 24th bar and when other guests left their room they seemed to keep shouting in the corridor forgetting that they were standing outside people's rooms. But it was nothing too serious.

In terms of trips we went to xel-ha with the tour rep which was expensive but good. Tulum on the collectivo- great fun and hired a car found the jungle place (the monkey sancturary) and coba which was our best day.

All in all it was probably one of the best holidays we have been on and we were very sad to come home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

See my other reviews of this trip, we stayed at the Royal here and Cancun.
Likes: People, staff, Food, Great Beach (unlike Cancun), and did I mention location?
You are 2 blocks from 5th avenue. A Mile long stroll without cars with shopping, food, entertainment. I liked the Mojo Zone for live blues, no cover! Aqua bar served their drinks on their heads, no kidding. You stay here for one reason, all inclusive, and location. The pool was overwhelming when we arrived. Most lounges were taken by towels but few people. The beach was packed, like Miami. Great relaxation and people watching. Definitly tip your staff, they bust their humps. Ask for Don Julio if you want it, they have whatever you want. I liked the Royal in Cancun better (see review) but the similarities are uncanny.
I did not like the sheer size of this place. No Time sharks, awesome staff, and Playa is a real Gem.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fremontbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,296 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Constituyentes Avenue #2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing