We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTALLY AMAZING! LOVED EVERY MOMENT & EVERYONE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Absolutely Beatiuful!!! Fabulous food, the presentation of the meals is breath taking!
There is something for everyone, the Chefs are amazing! Hugo,we loved you! Thanks Jorge, for the awesome privlege to dine with you at the Kitchen's Plate! We were thrilled and very thankful. The rooms are fabulous! Thanks Andrea!!! Service is top notch from the bell boys, concierge & the Royal staff! Nancy, in member services took amazing care of us! Elizabeth & Iris, thank you for everything, you three are special Ladies! The Spa, Excellente'!!! Antonio, words can not express, you are one talented Massuse! Martha, one of the best!!! My husband couldn't stop the praises! Brenda at the Chef's Plate! Sweet, took great care of us! The entertainement waz magnificant! Javier!!! You rock! Roberto, just fab! It was great meeting you, can't wait to see you again! The amenities were 5 Diamond! What you see on the website, it what you get in person, only better! Take a few excursions, well worth the money & time! Please remember to let the hotel staff book them for you, not the folks in the airport!!! Just keep walking ! There is prenty of shopping to do in town! Lots of stuff, prepare to bargin alot!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelJudiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,929 - 11,935 of 17,036 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I loved it from the moment we arrived, Elvira and Jennifer checked us in,they were incredibly helpfull, evryone there from Paco,Vital, to Cheff Oscar at the Mediterranean Restaurant, to Daisy at the pool side giving us drinks that were soooo good!!! To Jonathan at the cafe who made our capuccinos every morning to perfection, to the whole entertaiment staff, soo fun and up beat!!!
The only thing I found that needed attention was a couple of the restaurants, Mari Marie,and Spice, the aircondition was not runing properly and our waitors were so hot, and so were we, there is nothing more uncomfortable than sitting down and having dinner in a hot room, hopefully they resolve this problem before we go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Royal,is the most amazing resort.The staff,service,cleanliness the food it was all excellent,We have stayed at a Sandals resort,which was really nice.But this resort was by far better.We recommend this to anyone,you would be crazy if you found something wrong at the Royal.The shows were great.,Adan and the others put on great entertainment.I wish I could remeber all there names the staff was awesome.If you go to Maria Marias,hope you have Mateo he is an awesome serer.We went back to have him serve us.It was a pleasure to meet him.The beach and pool are beautifull.I could go on and on but you just have to go try it,You will love it:)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaidBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

it was amazing. the staff were friendly and accommodating to the highest degree. the food was of a high standard and the hotel was clean, and the rooms cleaned impeccably. the best part - the pool staff. They made every day at the pool fun and Adamo and Javier did an amazing job getting the guests involved and making the days great fun. I would recommend it and cannot wait to go back! Happy and Safe Travels!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgi_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We went for our honeymoon this September 2010. Everything was great! The resort is amazing. The rooms were beautiful! We LOVED the sports and entertainment team. Especially Javier and Roberto!!! They were so friendly and made the days and nights a blast! We thoroughly enjoyed the food and drinks at each place. Not a bad meal anywhere!

We are already planning our next trip to the Royal and have told all our friends!

Thank you for an amazing honeymoon!!! THANK YOU Javier, Roberto, Regina, Rosario, and Adan!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggyweg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

the staff is all incredibly friendly, ensuring your stay is the best is can be. the hotle provides great services from the spa to the beach butlers etc. the event team is amazing and made my stay a lot of fun, in particular Javier Ramierez was a great member of the hotels team who was enjoyable to talk to, always got us involved and really made my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My husband and I went The Royal in September 2009 for our honeymoon and we were blow away with this hotel. Everything from the room, the food, the staff etc... We recently just got back from our second trip to The Royal in Aug 2010. We will absolutely go back for our 3rd trip.

The restaurants are amazing. Some of the food is different that what we are used to but my husband and I love to try anything. We have never had a bad meal or service at a restaurant at The Royal.

The pool service and entertainment is great! They always making sure you are ok and have a drink!

The location is awesome. Its walking distance from the downtown 5th avenue PDC. So many places to shop and eat!!

The hotel staff is AMAZING!! Both times we were here the staff has exceeded our expectations. Our romance conceiges Veronique Fincken & Anna Schriemer were outstanding!!! They called us just to make sure everything was ok in the room and with our trip. They sent us desserts, champagne, and choc covered strawberries. They answered all questions we had with pleasure. They really care our the quests and treat you with respect. Veronique even remembered us from our first trip which made us feel special in a way.

The bartenders at the lobby bar were our favorites! Que and Matt were so much fun.

If you are looking for a wonderful vacation where you are treated like royality.. THE ROYAL is just the place. It's more beautiful then the pictures!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKleijnjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,975 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,706 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,511 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £234 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing