We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #13 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I read most of the Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel. I thought this would be a good place for our family to stay. There were 7 of us who stayed at this hotel in August 2010 for 7 nights. The front desk reception was quite slow when we arrived. We were shown an upgraded room and my husband and I took it. My son and his wife were given a room that has 2 full size beds. The front desk person explained that someone would come to put the beds together. Well, 3 nights later their beds were still not put together! Whenever our son would call the front desk about the beds they would forward his calls to the housekeeping department. Whoever answered his call they would tell him "will be there in 5 minutes"! When I learned that their beds were still not together I went to personally talk with the manager. He said he knew about the problem and thought that someone already took care of it! No follow ups were made to insure that this was done! The excuse that was given to us was that they ran out of pads that joins the bed. My son and his wife were very patient! They finally moved them to a room with a king bed. We wasted half a day to get their stuff moved!

My other son in another room sent their laundry to get washed and did not receive it back until 4 days later! The laundry bill was over $70.00! So much for next day service! My son called everyday about their laundry but it still took them this long!

We were scheduled for a tour of the property the day after we arrived. The "tour guide" demanded that we commit 6 hours with them (for a "90 minute" presentation and tour) and was quite rude when we said we had other plans that day. We didn't think it would take that long to show us the place. Later on we found out that they were selling us time share!

I don't know what to think about this place. They were rated so high but somehow their service is not consistent.

The staff at the breakfast buffet were nice and accommodating. Mike and Tony were great! They work very hard. We left tips at our table at every place we ate at. My daughter-in-law and I enjoyed the spa while the boys went golfing. Betty was really great at the spa. I had her massage service twice! The room housekeepers were all nice and kept our rooms clean. We left them tips everyday. They worked very hard.

I'm not sure if I would recommend this place to anyone. They have some good people working for them but unfortunately they need to improve in delivering good consistent customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeSF654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,218)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,284 - 11,290 of 16,218 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

This September my wife and me have a second honey moon after 22 years, meaning no kids, no sisters or anybody going with us, very nice to have a vacation alone, we decide to go to Mexico, as friends talk to us about the Royal hotel in Playa del Carmen, now been already in defferent parts of the caribbean, lets go to a different place. I'm going to be very honest in this coments about the hotel. Lets start with the facilities, very clean, very well kept, the hotel was a 60% capacity, so it was not crowded or was not a lot of people, the room very nice with a flat screen tv, and bose stereo, jacuzzi inside the room, very nice accomodations, A/C that works, mini fridge and premium liquor, all part of the package, no extra charge.
Swiming pool, in the small side, get up early to get a chair by the pool side (gets crowded early), very clean, and can not get to the swimming side of the bar except from the east side of the pool.
The beach, (and here comes the disappointment), very small, is about 150 yards long and about 40 feet wide, now from here only you can use half of it, because is red flagged due to big rocks under water, so you can no get in the water in that section, in the width of the beach you have 3 rows of beach cabanas, what is left?, almost nothing, the cabanas are very close together with your next person inches away from you, the is not much of privacy, you can listen to the convesation of the person next to you. In top of this something that really I didn't know about the place, Royal hotel is located in a city, Playa del Carmen, so the beach is public, you going to see the locals going by all the time, in that small place of the beach, you have hotel security, going by you all the time, and advicen you of not to left your camera or your belongings in top of the chairs for "just in case", there is a lot of ATV traffic, police, municipal people, lifeguards, so be very carefull when you walking, not to happy about this.
The restaurants:
Spice: buffet all day, food is OK, only one problem with the place, it has no A/C, unless you like to eat and sweat at the same time is OK.
Pelicanos: by the beach side, something to eat light, before dinner.
Asiana: oriental food, I'm not going to Mexico to eat chinese food.
Tapas: not even try it, not worth it.
Maria Marie: best place, nice steak house, recomended.
Maria's: across the street, its OK, nothing great but no too bad either.
Il Pescadore: Italian reastauant, main dish, pasta.
Bars:
Tequileria: very crowded, get early to get a chair, some of the liquor there is an extra charge.
Lobby Bar: again crowded, the drinks a very light, have to ask to get more liquor in the drinks. (and I'm a very good tipper, lol)
The web site of the Royal hotel, have a online registration, to expedite your registration it says that upon arrival, your keys are gong to be waiting for you, not true, not even try it, it's not worth it, I did it, all my information and my CC number, upon arrival, have to do it all over again, I did have proof of pre-registration, the girl not even look at it.
If I mention a name I'm going to be not fair to the people there, all very nice and pleasant, very well educated, and well manner, everybody deserved a 5 stars, from the housekeeping girls to the concierge people.
Now maybe some people are going to dissagree with me, its all OK, this is only my point of view, not to argue, it is just a comment about the place, and my personal experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tornes213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Absolutely Beatiuful!!! Fabulous food, the presentation of the meals is breath taking!
There is something for everyone, the Chefs are amazing! Hugo,we loved you! Thanks Jorge, for the awesome privlege to dine with you at the Kitchen's Plate! We were thrilled and very thankful. The rooms are fabulous! Thanks Andrea!!! Service is top notch from the bell boys, concierge & the Royal staff! Nancy, in member services took amazing care of us! Elizabeth & Iris, thank you for everything, you three are special Ladies! The Spa, Excellente'!!! Antonio, words can not express, you are one talented Massuse! Martha, one of the best!!! My husband couldn't stop the praises! Brenda at the Chef's Plate! Sweet, took great care of us! The entertainement waz magnificant! Javier!!! You rock! Roberto, just fab! It was great meeting you, can't wait to see you again! The amenities were 5 Diamond! What you see on the website, it what you get in person, only better! Take a few excursions, well worth the money & time! Please remember to let the hotel staff book them for you, not the folks in the airport!!! Just keep walking ! There is prenty of shopping to do in town! Lots of stuff, prepare to bargin alot!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelJudiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I loved it from the moment we arrived, Elvira and Jennifer checked us in,they were incredibly helpfull, evryone there from Paco,Vital, to Cheff Oscar at the Mediterranean Restaurant, to Daisy at the pool side giving us drinks that were soooo good!!! To Jonathan at the cafe who made our capuccinos every morning to perfection, to the whole entertaiment staff, soo fun and up beat!!!
The only thing I found that needed attention was a couple of the restaurants, Mari Marie,and Spice, the aircondition was not runing properly and our waitors were so hot, and so were we, there is nothing more uncomfortable than sitting down and having dinner in a hot room, hopefully they resolve this problem before we go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Royal,is the most amazing resort.The staff,service,cleanliness the food it was all excellent,We have stayed at a Sandals resort,which was really nice.But this resort was by far better.We recommend this to anyone,you would be crazy if you found something wrong at the Royal.The shows were great.,Adan and the others put on great entertainment.I wish I could remeber all there names the staff was awesome.If you go to Maria Marias,hope you have Mateo he is an awesome serer.We went back to have him serve us.It was a pleasure to meet him.The beach and pool are beautifull.I could go on and on but you just have to go try it,You will love it:)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaidBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

it was amazing. the staff were friendly and accommodating to the highest degree. the food was of a high standard and the hotel was clean, and the rooms cleaned impeccably. the best part - the pool staff. They made every day at the pool fun and Adamo and Javier did an amazing job getting the guests involved and making the days great fun. I would recommend it and cannot wait to go back! Happy and Safe Travels!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgi_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We went for our honeymoon this September 2010. Everything was great! The resort is amazing. The rooms were beautiful! We LOVED the sports and entertainment team. Especially Javier and Roberto!!! They were so friendly and made the days and nights a blast! We thoroughly enjoyed the food and drinks at each place. Not a bad meal anywhere!

We are already planning our next trip to the Royal and have told all our friends!

Thank you for an amazing honeymoon!!! THANK YOU Javier, Roberto, Regina, Rosario, and Adan!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggyweg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,285 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £226 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing