We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #50 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Have to agree with all of the previous positive comments. My wife and I spent 8 nights and had a great time. We were amazed with the personal service and attention to detail of the staff. Every single employee at the hotel was extremely accomodating and polite. My wife hurt her foot running up stairs in her flip flops and staff took great notice and wanted to help in any way possible. Given the chance we will most definately stay at antoher Xperience property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabwjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

At arrival we were greeted by Marta who was attending the front desk that morning..Cinthia also was the front desk clerk when Marta was unavailable.. . both of these ladies were wonderful and so friendly working the front desk of the hotel. We felt welcomed and like family from the moment walked in. I looked forward to talking to them each morning and evening, they were always very friendly and had good ideas and suggestions of things to do at the hotel and also in the area of Playa. Illusion proved to be everything we could have asked for in a hotel. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated with seating available, coffee service and water are available 24 hours which is wonderful. Very close to the beach, and a close walk to dining, bars and shops. We enjoyed walking to the restraunts which were located a couple blocks down 8th street between the 15th and 20th street area. Burro Burritos and tacos,-just a small stand soon became a favorite with our group. Altogether we had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our stay at the Illusion Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice hotel, recommend the 4th floor rooms. A bit higher but great views & close to little pool. When I say little pool I mean not only outside diameter but depth. Depth is about 2.5ft. But good place to lounge. We stayed on 3d floor, would definitely stay again. All associated with hotel helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 402 on top same price as 3d floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After booking with Illusion I had my doubts (having read several reviews about the "bait and switch" as mentioned earlier). So I e-mailed the hotel a week before arrival to make sure we were in their system. All e-mail correspondence was quick and thorough.

Upon arrival we were greeted by sweet Marta and Cynthia. You could not ask for two better people to be working the front desk of a hotel. We felt kindly welcomed and like family from the moment walking in. Talk to them each morning and evening was one of the highlights of our day. They were always very friendly and had good ideas and suggestions. We were very sad at the end of our stay to say goodbye to them. They remembered our names, hotel room, and our plans for the day. Super impressed with these two lovely girls!

After check in we were shown our room. In my e-mail correspondence I had mentioned that we were coming to Playa to celebrate our ten year anniversary, we were happily surprised when we entered our room to find that they had decorated the room very beautifully with towel art and rose petals. It was lovely! So beautiful and thoughtful.

The room was great and clean, and was cleaned to perfection every day. The air conditioning worked well, the water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water.

The hotel was beautiful, we went up to the top to see the view and it wasn't as spectacular as I had envisioned but it was nice, and the pool really is as tiny as people say, ha ha, just big enough to go up to your thighs at most. The hotel was booked to capacity the days we were there and the deck was crowded, but we only just went up the one time so it wasn't a big deal.

I thought the breakfast was amazing! For being a complimentary breakfast it was just so great. A big variety of yogurt and toppings, and different breakfast drinks. Then the sweet bread and salty bread with fruit. They were so nice when we had an early excursion to pack us a little breakfast to go, and also we told them my husband didn't like fruit so they brought him extra bread. Very thoughtful. The guys working the breakfast place were SO FRIENDLY and nice. I can't remember all of their names but Jorge was particularly friendly and just made our mornings great!

The location was convenient to the beach, fifth avenue and the bus station. We didn't really spend our days in Playa, we did lots of day trips, so being a short walk from the bus station was nice. Be sure if you ride the bus in to town that you know where the hotel is, we made the dumb mistake of taking the most expensive taxi ride of our lives the four short blocks to the hotel (d'oh!). It's an easy walk.

Oh and for how close it was to fifth we didn't have any noise issues at all - which I thought was pretty amazing! I even took ear plugs but never used them. That was a pleasant surprise.

Yeah the beds were pretty hard, but that seems to be just the way it is in Mexico :) I wished there had been an extra blanket in the room too, the blanket was really thin, almost just like another sheet. No big deal, just a thought.

So, the hotel is beautiful great and clean and fabulously located, but all that aside I would rate this hotel as excellent based simply on the customer service alone! They've got amazing employees. So the whole package is just great.

Oh and just a tip :) I wasn't a huge fan of the crowds and prices on fifth avenue, and we discovered a great little restaurant/bar practically next door to the hotel, it's called Muza and the prices are really reasonable and the food was splendid. The owner was nice and I wish I had known about that restaurant and we would have eaten there every night and saved some serious cash. Oh well :)

Thanks Illusion!

Room Tip: A top room would have been nice but we are budget travelers, we were on the second floor with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a nice 6 night getaway in January 2013, and finally decided to go with Illusion Boutique Hotel. We were enticed for a couple reasons... great reviews, excellent location, beachfront hotel w/ pool and price. We don't like doing All- Inclusives as we like to get out and explore more than anything (and this was the perfect location- right in the hub of Avenida Quinta). We booked our trip via Orbitz in November 2012, and had all our necessary confirmations for the trip. Our first day in Playa was January 23rd, and we planned our flight from New York to get to the hotel right about check-in time. When we arrived at the hotel (we were so excited because just walking up to the entrance, we ocean right in front of us!), I was greeted by the concierge with a warm smile and handed over my papers for our reservation. It was taking a bit of time, so we sat down in their entry-way and waited. After about 15 mins, we were greeted by another hotel worker, and they said that, sorry, they were actually all booked up, and that somehow their computer system did NOT book us at this hotel, but their sister-hotel 'right down the road'. I was quite taken aback and confirmed with them again, that, no they did not have any rooms at all- the entire hotel was booked up. Needless to say, we were not too happy about this, but then again, what could we do? They had one of their hotel attendants accompany us to the next hotel. She took us up the street hailed a dirty cab with the back seats falling apart. The new hotel was Hacienda Paradise which was 12 blocks away from the original hotel (away from the center of the beachfront area) as well as was another 3 blocks away from the beach. Upon arrival, we then had to wait another TWO HOURS for a room to be ready for us. Needless to say, I would not recommend booking with this hotel, but if you do, PLEASE be sure to send then an email prior to your travel in order to confirm that you will actually have a room when you arrive.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Lynnerin320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear ambassador (as we kindly name our guests),

On behalf of the Xperience Family we would like to thank you for your preference. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, for us it was an honor to host you and even though at your arrival we had a challenging situation with our reservation system, we offered you a better option at our sister hotel Hacienda Paradise along with the transfer to the other hotel, VIP amenities and breakfast for the rest of your stay that we included to you in order to compensate this inconvenience. We are very sorry to know from what you have currently expressed in your review , that even though you mentioned positive comments about our services in our quality survey, our effort was not enough to make it up to you. We are very sorry for not having noticed this before your departure, we are confident that we could have done whatever it was in our hands to change your perspective.
However this feedback along with yours in our quality survey, complement your opinion of your overall stay with us helping us to detect opportunities, finding out the best improvement measures as well as striving to provide a better quality service every day.

We remain at your disposal and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future.

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Booked illusion hotel for April 26-30,2013. Sent an email prior to our arrival asking for room with best view possible and mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary. The staff quickly responded. Upon check in front desk staff was very friendly, informative, and welcoming. We stayed in room 312. Balcony overlooked 8th st and had view of the beach as well as view of 5th ave. rooms were clean and spacious. Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked great. Water was hot and had good pressure. Bed was hard but that's standard in Mexico so was not surprised by that. Room had hair dryer, iron, and safe. The only thing we felt was missing was a clock/radio so you could see the time. Can't say enough about the front desk staff. They remembered our names, which room we were in and really made you feel very comfortable and at home. The pool is small but we used it in the afternoons after coming in from the beach. The view from the pool terrace is awesome! We had breakfast included in our stay and it consisted of fresh fruit and breads along with yogurt and fresh juices, coffees, water, milk. Restaurant staff was very friendly as well. We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear ambassadors (as we kindly name our guests),

On behalf of the Xperience Family, we would like to thank you for choosing us to celebrate such an important occasion in your lives and for the 5 star comment!! Your comments about our facilities, food and attentive service are very important for us and are our main motivation to give our best every day. We will be gland to sare the result of this effort with our team. Thank you again for sharing your impressions and for your wonderful recommendations to future travelers about our services.

We look forward to hosting you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here on our honeymoon. We could not have been more happy with our stay here and recommend it for everyone. Some pros: our room was decorated for us, we received a complimentary bottle of wine, the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and are extremly helpful(Marta and Cinthya are the best!), half a block from the beach and 5th ave, breakfast is included, they provided purified water which was a major plus!, everything was very clean, they held our luggage for us before check in and after check out to accomodate for our transportation schedule. The pool and lounge area was very small but it was very peaceful and relaxing up there. Definitely worth the money. The only negative was that there was no clock in the room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danandallye1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#76 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £40 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing