We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not an Illusion, it's that close to the sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #51 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Illusion Boutique Hotel. Its location is seconds from the beach and the view from the roof terrace out to sea is great. The staff honestly made our time as they were always looking to help and the breakfasts were the best we had in Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Ambassador (as we name our guests),

Thank you very much for your 5 points review on TripAdvisor! These types of comments make our team very proud of the work they do and is a real motivator us! Furthermore, it is fantastic to know that your stay was a good moment.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel, for another great Mexican Xperience.

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This place was great and very affordable. Customer service was beyond amazing, we had terribly noisy partygoers next to us who would stay up late and come home at 5am and continue outside our room, when the breakfast waiter asked how our sleep was we explained wasn't good, he immediately asked which room we were in and said he would talk to the people as to make our stay more pleasant. Marta who greeted us at the front desk was so thorough and provided an extra special personal touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked this hotel since I bought a groupon which was a very good deal. When my boyfriend and I first arrived we were greeted at the front desk with two warm cocktail (they tried to refresh us lol). They lady at the service desk I can't recall her name but she always had a ponytail, blonde and was such a sweetheart! I enjoyed my stay there, everyone was very nice and great customer service! The bedroom was great,top level where the pool was, it even included fridge, microwave and sink. The only problems we encounter was the a/c and the problems with the faucet but they fixed it right away! Was very impress, thanks again! Breakfast was included which was two pieces of bread, fruit, yogurt and coffe or natural juice which were good specially carrot juice. Great way to start the day, oh btw the waiters were very friendly as well! Oh and they do have an elevator but it is sooo slow, they need to fix it, I was afraid of getting stuck there! Also they printed our flight tickets and you could use the computer in the lobby which was good! Lastly, the only thing I did not like was that when we checked out they mentioned about some donation of 50-80 pesos a day which we weren't aware, we would of definitely done it but the short hair lady who asked seemed to pressure us and did not seem happy we did not agree to it. We would of done it but we weren't aware of it and were short on money. Other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Public Relations Manager at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Ambassador(as we kindly name our guests),

Thank you for the 5 star comment!!,we are very grateful for your recent visit ,your valuable feedback motivates us to continue making our best every day in order to succeed our guest’s expectations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive and professional service of our staff, we will be glad to share this effort with all of them. We consider important to inform you that the opportunities pointed out in your feedback have been forwarded to the concerned departments. As per the donation and service charge, the must have been a misunderstanding with communication since it is suggested as optional at the checkout and does not represent an inconvenience whether our ambassadors agree or not to it, we are very sorry for this situation. Please rest assured that we will constantly strive to improve the services we provide.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We Spend 4 nights in april, very happy with our choice, hotel and services was exactly what they offered, The location is perfect, half a block from the beach and half a block from Quinta Avenida and all its restaurants. The rooms where very spacious, and clean, the patio its nice and relaxing after a day at the beach we used to sit there and enjoy a cold refreshing cocktail, Marta at the front Desk and the rest of the staff did an amazing job welcoming us accomodate our needs and requestes through out the stay. I totally recommend this hotel if you want to be near the city centre of playa del carmen at reasonable price and in a great hotel! AG

Stayed: April 2013
Thank AntonioG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Have to agree with all of the previous positive comments. My wife and I spent 8 nights and had a great time. We were amazed with the personal service and attention to detail of the staff. Every single employee at the hotel was extremely accomodating and polite. My wife hurt her foot running up stairs in her flip flops and staff took great notice and wanted to help in any way possible. Given the chance we will most definately stay at antoher Xperience property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabwjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

At arrival we were greeted by Marta who was attending the front desk that morning..Cinthia also was the front desk clerk when Marta was unavailable.. . both of these ladies were wonderful and so friendly working the front desk of the hotel. We felt welcomed and like family from the moment walked in. I looked forward to talking to them each morning and evening, they were always very friendly and had good ideas and suggestions of things to do at the hotel and also in the area of Playa. Illusion proved to be everything we could have asked for in a hotel. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated with seating available, coffee service and water are available 24 hours which is wonderful. Very close to the beach, and a close walk to dining, bars and shops. We enjoyed walking to the restraunts which were located a couple blocks down 8th street between the 15th and 20th street area. Burro Burritos and tacos,-just a small stand soon became a favorite with our group. Altogether we had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our stay at the Illusion Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice hotel, recommend the 4th floor rooms. A bit higher but great views & close to little pool. When I say little pool I mean not only outside diameter but depth. Depth is about 2.5ft. But good place to lounge. We stayed on 3d floor, would definitely stay again. All associated with hotel helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 402 on top same price as 3d floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing