We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service. Perfect Cost/Benefit Balance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent service. Perfect Cost/Benefit Balance”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to the beach and the 5th Av. It was a nice surprise to find the room very clean, the staff is very polite and keen to help you.
The room was always clean and there is a safe in the room so you shouldnt have to worry for you belongings. I have to say the hotel is not new but they do look after it, I cant complain.
I travel all the time for living and never left a comment but this hotel was part of a great vacation on my first get away with my GF, they earned it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear ambassador(as we respectfully name our guests),

Thank you for your 5 point review! we are glad to know you and your partner were delighted by our attentive service and cleanliness and beauty of our facilities made from your stay a pleasant one. We are also grateful for your recent visit to our central hotel: Illusion Hotel Boutique.
It is our main goal to deliver our Infinite Hospitality in every of our services and having the outcome in your positive comment, for us it is very rewarding.

Thank you again for taking the time to send your comments and for sharing your Xperience to other future travelers.

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    421
    96
    38
    20
See reviews for
150
820
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just returned from 4 weeks in Playa del Carmen at the Illusion Boutique Hotel by Experience.The hotel is in an excellent location near the beach and the 5th Avenue shops. I will always have fond memories of my stay due to the wonderful service and attentiveness of every member of the staff,especially Carolina ,Jorge,Orreliano,Elea,and Cynthia ! Had the good fortune to be upgraded to the best room,which was fantastic- spacious ,great view and cooking facilities ! The breakfast was more than adequate and I was never short of fresh fruit! I thoroughly recommend the Illusion Boutique and would definitely stay there again! Annamaria o'Doherty

Room Tip: Book a room on the 4th floor where the pool is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear ambassador,

It was an honour to host you and pamper you during your stay at one of our central hotels in Playa del Carmen, Illusion Boutique Hotel. We enjoyed very much your company and interesting chats and we are very glad to know that you had the relaxation you were looking for with us. Your comments are our main motivation and we will be glad to recognize to the members of our team you have mentioned.
Thank you for taking the time to write these wonderful comments.

We will be glad to welcome you back in a future, hopefully.

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Illusion Boutique Hotel. Its location is seconds from the beach and the view from the roof terrace out to sea is great. The staff honestly made our time as they were always looking to help and the breakfasts were the best we had in Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Ambassador (as we name our guests),

Thank you very much for your 5 points review on TripAdvisor! These types of comments make our team very proud of the work they do and is a real motivator us! Furthermore, it is fantastic to know that your stay was a good moment.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel, for another great Mexican Xperience.

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This place was great and very affordable. Customer service was beyond amazing, we had terribly noisy partygoers next to us who would stay up late and come home at 5am and continue outside our room, when the breakfast waiter asked how our sleep was we explained wasn't good, he immediately asked which room we were in and said he would talk to the people as to make our stay more pleasant. Marta who greeted us at the front desk was so thorough and provided an extra special personal touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked this hotel since I bought a groupon which was a very good deal. When my boyfriend and I first arrived we were greeted at the front desk with two warm cocktail (they tried to refresh us lol). They lady at the service desk I can't recall her name but she always had a ponytail, blonde and was such a sweetheart! I enjoyed my stay there, everyone was very nice and great customer service! The bedroom was great,top level where the pool was, it even included fridge, microwave and sink. The only problems we encounter was the a/c and the problems with the faucet but they fixed it right away! Was very impress, thanks again! Breakfast was included which was two pieces of bread, fruit, yogurt and coffe or natural juice which were good specially carrot juice. Great way to start the day, oh btw the waiters were very friendly as well! Oh and they do have an elevator but it is sooo slow, they need to fix it, I was afraid of getting stuck there! Also they printed our flight tickets and you could use the computer in the lobby which was good! Lastly, the only thing I did not like was that when we checked out they mentioned about some donation of 50-80 pesos a day which we weren't aware, we would of definitely done it but the short hair lady who asked seemed to pressure us and did not seem happy we did not agree to it. We would of done it but we weren't aware of it and were short on money. Other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Public Relations Manager at Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Ambassador(as we kindly name our guests),

Thank you for the 5 star comment!!,we are very grateful for your recent visit ,your valuable feedback motivates us to continue making our best every day in order to succeed our guest’s expectations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive and professional service of our staff, we will be glad to share this effort with all of them. We consider important to inform you that the opportunities pointed out in your feedback have been forwarded to the concerned departments. As per the donation and service charge, the must have been a misunderstanding with communication since it is suggested as optional at the checkout and does not represent an inconvenience whether our ambassadors agree or not to it, we are very sorry for this situation. Please rest assured that we will constantly strive to improve the services we provide.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We Spend 4 nights in april, very happy with our choice, hotel and services was exactly what they offered, The location is perfect, half a block from the beach and half a block from Quinta Avenida and all its restaurants. The rooms where very spacious, and clean, the patio its nice and relaxing after a day at the beach we used to sit there and enjoy a cold refreshing cocktail, Marta at the front Desk and the rest of the staff did an amazing job welcoming us accomodate our needs and requestes through out the stay. I totally recommend this hotel if you want to be near the city centre of playa del carmen at reasonable price and in a great hotel! AG

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntonioG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Have to agree with all of the previous positive comments. My wife and I spent 8 nights and had a great time. We were amazed with the personal service and attention to detail of the staff. Every single employee at the hotel was extremely accomodating and polite. My wife hurt her foot running up stairs in her flip flops and staff took great notice and wanted to help in any way possible. Given the chance we will most definately stay at antoher Xperience property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabwjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing