We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing place steps from the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly amazing place steps from the beach.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my partner have stayed in the hotel at the end of April. The hotel is steps away from the beach - and even though it does not have its dedicated part of the beach - you can use a nearby beach club - Zenzi - or any other - with a discount from the hotel for the food and drinks - which are all pretty cheap anyways.The room was a bit on a smaller side and didn't have the sea view - just the internal yard - but we didn't spend much time inside anyways - so not a problem. The price was a bit high but it was a vacation week for Mexico - close to Easter - so every place was packed to capacity. Staff was truly amazing - from the concierge Carlos who was super helpful with info on the local attractions to see - to the cafe staff - to the cleaning personnel. Thank you guys so much for making our vacation awsome ! Would definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are only on the top floor - so if you're willing ot pay a bit extra - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    421
    96
    38
    20
See reviews for
150
821
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For me and my girlfriend could not be a better place to stay in Playa del Carmen. 50 meters to 5th Avenue and to the beach, and strategically located far enough to not be bothered by the busy night life of the place. Very close to ADO bus terminal, car rentals, Walmart and the Cozumel ferry.

The rooms are very clean and spacious. Confortable beds and nice sheets. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We found the breakfast a bit poor. They offer a kind of buffet with granola, raisins and yogurt. After they bring you a tray with two breads and a fruit salad. I had to eat the breads with nothing. I think it could be nice if the hotel offer a variety of cheese, ham, butter and jam to eat with the breads.

The internet was other thing that needs to improve. Too slow and didn't work inside the room I was in.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is close enough to the front desk in order to get internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreglemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week in April. Lovely hotel with a great location. 5 minute walk from bus station (took ADO bus from Cancun airport), hotel is between the beach and the 5th avenue.

We stayed in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor with balcony facing Calle 8. My only complaint would be noise level. There are 2 construction sites on the same street. During day time, the noise is very loud and so if you like to sleep in late or take a siesta in the room, it won't be very relaxing. This noise is from Monday to Saturday. From the looks of it, the construction will take a long time to complete several months or probably a year or two. So, keep this in mind when booking the rooms. The upper level rooms or rooms with garden view may be better option. Also, there is some night time noise from bars/clubs on 5th ave and Calle 12. We slept with A/C on, so it wasn't too bad.

Despite the noise level, I really liked the hotel and would definitely return. We barely saw other guests other than during breakfast. Mostly couples. Breakfast was served every day on the main level-nothing special: fruit, croissant/bun with butter and marmalade, yogurt, juices, tea and coffee. We shopped at local Mega-grocery store and bought some food for the fridge in the room.

The staff was friendly, our room was decorated with heart balloons when we arrived. Apart from construction noise, this hotel was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PonchoNachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Clean, fairly quiet (despite being in from of a construction site!). Breakfast is nice: fruits and home-made pastries & breads. Staff is very kind and attentive.
Down sides: the pool is minuscule (like 4m x 3m) and shallow (50 cm), a bit pricy for what it is worth.

Room Tip: Top floor has a view on a tiny pool, a big terrace and rooms there seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
375 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been staying at Illusion for years and still recommend it - primarily because it is VERY CLEAN. The service is good, too, but cleanliness is most important. Location, if you enjoy playing on 5th Avenue, is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The staff at the hotel are most helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Illusion is in a great location, close to beach and shopping. I would stay the Illusion again. We stayed on the 4th floor by the pool which was really nice.

Room Tip: I liked the 4th floor by the pool. I would stay in a kitchenette next time and have the option of pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We would like to extend our thanks to The Illusion for a wonderful experience. The venue was perfect and the staff wonderful. My room was beautifully decorated with balloons and rose petals all over the bed as it was my birthday. This was completely unexpected. The room was kept immaculate by Magdalyl who was a delight, A kind thanks to Yessica who was always polite and cheerful. Luis was adorable always aiming to please and Carlos, Hector, Saul and Mario were all very helpful, accomodating and professional.. Although we did not use the services but rather did our own thing Dianna was happy to answer any questions that we had in regard to tours and taxis etc., The view of the ocean was beautiful from the roof top and we had a two minute walk to the beach or 5th ave being right in between. The beaches are beautiful. With being so close to all the action sometimes the noise from the night clubs went late but we expected that and we would recommend this Hotel to anyone. I much preferred this to the all inclusives but be prepared to spend a fair amount on food if you choose to eat on 5th. There are some restaurants off 5th with excellent food less the cost. I would like to bring my adult children next time. Again thanks for a great trip!

Room Tip: The rooms at the 4th and 5th level give you ocean views and are newly renovated. Avoid the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing