We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #43 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 9 nights at Hotel Illusion in May 2014. The staff was very helpful and professional. The breakfast provided in the room stay was very fresh and adequate, it included coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt and breads. You could also order off of the menu that included breakfast meats, eggs, etc. for a very reasonable price. There was some construction going on near the hotel but I never heard anything while in the room. The rooftop deck and small pool was nice to visit after a day on the beach and we had a few improptu parties up there on a few nights. The room, #309 was on the end/corner and was large, with a king bed and fouton. The A/C worked like a dream and plenty of hot water. The balcony overlooked 8th and a construction area which we fondly referred to as the archaeolgical dig....not a great view but the beach was so close that it didn't matter. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and hope to return next May!

Room Tip: I had several friends that stayed in some of the rooftop rooms right by the pool. They commented th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestTraveler1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    418
    95
    37
    20
See reviews for
147
810
90
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a week, based on many good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel stuff was great. Room clean and nice. Location is excellent. Price was great too. Lots of small touches which makes you stay very comfortable(free drinking water, coffee in the lobby etc.).
Lots of possibilities(coupons etc.) for near by beach clubs.

We definitely be back.

Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genady D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed here for one night, but we didn't want to leave! We had just arrived in Playa after a long flight and bus ride, and this hotel was just what we needed. It's conveniently located in central Playa, right down the street from great beaches, bars and restaurants. The ferry to Cozumel and ADO bus station are both less than a ten minute walk away. Everything in the hotel is beautifully decorated, and the top floor even has a pool overlooking the ocean. The staff was extremely welcoming and had great recommendations for where to eat. I can't imagine a better place to stay, especially at this price!

Room Tip: We really liked our room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Cant say enough about this hotel. How about it's quiet, relaxing and has a great ocean view. Very affordable, but a beautiful quiet relaxing place. This the hotel if you want absolute quiet. Resorts are too busy. The Hospitality was fantastic, Thank you Mario and Eleason! They work the front and they went above and beyond. Another plus, there was no kids in the hotel! Priceless!! I recommend the prestige double room, its the top floor with the best view of the ocean. Another bonus, right out front, literally 2 feet from the hotel entrance. Mi Madrez Cafe, highly recommend you try it. Simply, yet so freaking good and very affordable. Perfect lil hole in the wall spot, but so dam good. Owner is from the US, cool guy. Chat him up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mobbn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green River, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My son and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in Playa Del Carmen. The room was clean and beautiful. We had a sitting area just outside our door where we had breakfast in the morning. It was mere feet from the beach. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. This hotel most definitely is the place to stay when visiting Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa Best S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Amazing Amazing Amazing. This hotel is about 10 steps away from the beach and about 10 steps from 5 avenue. We spent a great honeymoon and this hotel was a great base to explore all the different tourist attraction near by. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast very yummy.

Also as I love my yoga there is a lovely yoga studio about 2 blocks away called Yoga Loft def check it out :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaGera1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my partner have stayed in the hotel at the end of April. The hotel is steps away from the beach - and even though it does not have its dedicated part of the beach - you can use a nearby beach club - Zenzi - or any other - with a discount from the hotel for the food and drinks - which are all pretty cheap anyways.The room was a bit on a smaller side and didn't have the sea view - just the internal yard - but we didn't spend much time inside anyways - so not a problem. The price was a bit high but it was a vacation week for Mexico - close to Easter - so every place was packed to capacity. Staff was truly amazing - from the concierge Carlos who was super helpful with info on the local attractions to see - to the cafe staff - to the cleaning personnel. Thank you guys so much for making our vacation awsome ! Would definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are only on the top floor - so if you're willing ot pay a bit extra - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing