We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place & deal”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here 4 nights with my son in a 2 bedroom condo. We loved the location near 5th with all of its restaurants and how close it was to the beach. Condo was new construction and well built and comparable to luxury hotels. Tech was great with flat screens in every room with a lot of cable channels, and lots of highspeed wifi hotspots that worked well. The staff was very nice and helped us with restaurant and scuba recommendations and let us have a 2 hour late checkout. Only thing we didn't like was that the couches in the living room were too hard. And the guests before us stole the batteries out of 2 of the TV remote controls. Doh! Next time I would pay the extra for a penthouse per the other reviews here on TripAdvisor, it is not that much more and would have been nice to have a bit more light and views of the ocean. Tip: the beach is nicer if you walk a block to the left past the pier. Acanto definitely met my expectations of a luxury condo rental.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    166
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
198
371
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have watched them build the Acanto Hotel for the last year or so as it sits directly across from the condo that I have been renting for the last five years (Puerto Playa Condo's). If you are familiar with that property then you know the location is hard to beat. The design and layout of the Acanto is very cool and since the property is new, everthing is in good working order. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Wireless worked good in the room and the one bedrooms have kitchens that are equiped with most things you need. Overall it is a great location for not being directly on the beach ( one block over) and right off of 5th Avenue and a good location also on 5th. With all of the issues you hear about Mexico, Playa is one of the safest. There are tons of people there from all over the world having a great time and as one who travels to Mexico about seven + times per year, this is still one of the best places for the beach and great food, etc.

Room Tip: I would get one of the rooms with a terrace on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platinum4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We are a middle aged couple who travel extensively and just spent 2 weeks at the Acanto. This has to be one of the hardest reviews I’ve written as the hotel grew on me over these 2 weeks but we had too many disappointments and problems the first week. The first week warranted a 2 and the last week a 4 so settled on a 3 (Average).

First major shock was that you cannot smoke ANYWHERE on this property not even on your own balcony. I’ve never experienced this before ANYWHERE and was so upset to have to leave the condo and go onto the street. After a few days of emailing the owner, the hotel put a table and chair in front of the condo so I wouldn’t feel like a hooker, lol but having to get fully dressed every morning and evening to go out for a smoke was not fun and at times, a bit scary at night.
Next, I had a very romantic image of this hotel and although the courtyard is charming, our room had huge glass doors that directly faced the hotel lobby as did the shared patio area… so much for romance, lol. The Jacuzzi we were excited about was cold and it took several days of whining to get it fixed. I can’t tell you how many times they said it was fixed, we would get all ready to find that it wasn’t. They finally got it fixed and then the elevator broke for several days ( this happened a few times).. it’s 4 flights to the roof. You need to reserve and give 45 min notice to use the hot tub.. NO ONE was ever on the roof at night except us which was a shame as it is very nice up there. We enjoyed both the BBQ and the hot tub.

ROOM: 3 ½- to Mexico 4*.. the kitchen /living room was pretty tight with very limited kitchen supplies if you wanted to cook. We bought some supplies ourselves ( veggie peeler, mugs, bowl, etc) and staff found us another pot as they only supply 1 pot and small fry pan. No dishwasher or oven, an iron but no ironingboard, no dishrack nor a sink plug.. lots of small stuff like that. It was nicely decorated.
There was a strong sewage smell in the room once in a while.

A guest had a dog, so I assume its pet friendly

Bedroom with separate doors was nice, very limited closet and cupboard space but was roomy with a hardish (but been on worse) bed. The bathroom had a shower only, ample hot water (salty) and lots of small shelves. They supplied good quality soap, shampoo and conditioner. Ladies, the spray in the shower is so soft I found it easier to rinse my hair under the kitchen tap.
No issues with the maid service. We left our safe open one day and they promptly informed Joel who closed it and left a note for us. There is an area rug in the livingroom which was appreciated but rarely vacuumed.
Internet Service: 10.00 a day for Internet in your room. It was reliable. I was told that the 10.00 was also for a discount card but the staff didn’t know anything about the card.

Phones: there are no phones in the rooms which also meant no wakeup call on our departure day. There was an alarm clock.

BOTTLED WATER: The water is not purified so you need to get your own which is a pain without a car. They will buy the water for you and charge a 20% delivery charge but for the price of these condos, it should have been available.

No washer and dryer on site even though we were told they had one… they gave us 1 complimentary cleaning because of this and all the other issues we were having.

The restaurant next door was only open for breakfast due to waiting for permits. Very nice guys, please try them out once they open.

The tiny pool was hardly used as it was cold and always full of leaves and seeds from the tree beside it (staff cleaned regularly but couldn’t keep up).

There was construction still going on the first week (hammering, drilling, painting) but seemed quieter the second week

Location: excellent! Very close to the beach and 5th Ave which could get noisy but not too bad. About 4 evenings a week, there was a saxophone player that played until around 12:30am.

Beach Clubs were another unpleasant surprise. The website stated beach access and I double checked that before we booked. Indigo’s, you can use their chairs but if they are busy, you can’t until 11:00. All the boats are docked in front so not a good place to swim. They no longer serve fruit or the other niceties mentioned on the Acanto website. Zenzi was the other beach club, as we quickly found out; anyone has access as long as you spend 200 pesos ea for drinks and food a day (approx. 35.00).

Staff: all very nice. Luis really kept on top of things and would bend over backwards to try to help you. Joel and Rafella often did not know answers to our questions and needed time to look them up. I think with more experience, they will be more efficient in that regard. Ie, did not know where we would catch collectivos. But they all tried very hard and were very pleasant. The fellow who works from 8pm -8am did not speak English although tried to help.

The hotel is pretty quiet, we got to know some of the other guests (Hi Shirley and Joe!). The rooms are all different so your experience may differ. The website is rather optimistic, a thought that was shared by alot of the guests. All in all, it grew on us and we enjoyed our stay but this is not a 5* condo as the website leads us to believe. I hope some of the information in this report is helpful to you so you won't have as many surprises as we encountered. If I quit smoking and the price was right, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mbliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Yes we are a smoke free hotel are are many others , we provide a nice comfortable sitting area in front for the guests to smoke and have never had a complaint about this .

Pool is cleaned daily and is generally sparkling, although smaller than some it is always used and enjoyed by the guests. Its great fr a morning or later afternoon swim .

All units are large with closets with draws and hanging space, kitchens are roomy with cabinets above and below the counters. Every window and door is covered with curtains

We do allow small pets on occasion but do not encourage it.

We give complimentary water on check in but do not provide unlimited

We ask the guests to advise us 1 hour prior to using the jacuzzi so we can prepare for them

We do not have washer and dryer however we have a valet laundry service

Construction is now 100 percent complete

Beach clubs provide free chairs beds and umbrellas but it is expected that the guest buys some food or drink

If there are any questions or concerns from potential guests please contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Perfect location close to all of the shopping and dining. Staff were very friendly and helpful, with a special mention to Joel, who seemed to be there 24 hours a day. The rooms were great, highly recommend getting one of the penthouses with the private jacuzzi on the roof. Can't say enough good things about our stay, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side near the restaurant next door. We were able to hear the live music from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our family of 4, including sons 20 & 24, was very pleased and comfortable during our 6 night stay at the Acanto Boutique Hotel. It was our first trip to the area. We decided on Playa del Carmen vs Cancun and debated as to staying in an all-inclusive but opted for the condo instead. This was a good decision as we saw more of each other, enjoyed a few meals in the condo (food shopping at nearby Mega Store was convenient), and delighted in choosing from the endless availability of fine restaurants nearby. The Acanto is steps to 5th Av and proximity to the beach made our holiday (without a car) perfect! The street is quiet, though we occasionally heard music late at night (from 5th Ave)... but it was a high peak time after Christmas and through New Year's Day.

I would recommend the Acanto Hotel because it was clean, convenient and mostly for the amazing service of the staff. They were responsive and accommodating. (especially Joel & Luis) We hired the driver affiliated with the hotel and Antonio made our trip exceptional (see attached picture). Antonio (business is Cancun-Shuttle-DIrect) transported us to and from Cancun airport as well as a private full day trip to Tulum, lunch at Oscar & Lalo's Restaurant and to the quiet, idyllic Ecopark Kantun-Chi where we enjoyed swimming in the cenotes (5)! Antonio knew where to go and would show anyone a good time, regardless of their interests.

The condo unit was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable, though the hot water supply in our shower was insufficient. We also felt that the kitchen could have been supplied with a few basics, (paper towels, dishwasher soap, ice cube trays, coffee filters, dish towels, steak knives, salt & pepper). As The Acanto has recently reopened (after complete renovations), perhaps these have been remedied. Maid service was exceptional, too.

The cost was a bit high though opting for a private bedroom and bath for the boys made it special and luxurious for all. I would definitely stay here again, though with another couple or two to share the cost. Thanks, Acanto, for making our family holiday one we'll never forget!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Hi thank you for your kind words.. yes we have worked out the last remaining kinks.. see you again soon for sure,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My partner and I decided to return to Playa for a 10 day holiday at the end of January. We have vacationed several times in Jamaica, and will continue to do so, however we wanted to try something different than an all inclusive holiday. The Acanto was the perfect choice. Not more that 20 steps to 5th Avenue, the location was central both to to the beach (highly recommend Kool Beach Club) and to great dining and shopping options on 5th avenue.
We had requested a one bedroom penthouse, however, one was not available at the time the reservation was made. Joel and Rafaela "worked their magic" and by day 3 we were ensconced in a penthouse suite - rooftop private jacuzzi, private dining area and BBQ with the water of Playa as a backdrop!
The beauty of the Acanto is you can decide whether you wish to dine in using kitchen/BBQ or head out to one of the many great restaurants close by. If you opt to prepare meals, the Mega store is close by and is well stocked with anything you might require.
Our condo unit was well laid out, nicely furnished with ample towels and hot water. As mentioned previously Joel and Rafaela work very hard to ensure great guest experience. We will be returning to Playa ...and to the Acanto!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAR0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a great time at the Acanto Hotel. With a group of five, we stayed in two rooms: a 2BR penthouse condo and a 1BR penthouse condo, both in the main building (apparently there's another condo location a few blocks away). It was a good configuration, because we were able to cook and really had some space to spread out.

Our group had some very specific needs, so I communicated with the Acanto staff several times in advance about details. They responded right away, and were super accommodating about things like making sure both bedrooms in the 2br penthouse had queen or king beds (not twins), and answering questions about local resources.

The penthouse roof terraces were especially lovely -- each one included a four-person hot tub, table/chairs and loungers, and an outdoor kitchen area with gas grill, sink, and counter space. (The railing-free spiral stairs to the roof are a little scary, though!) The hotel is one longish block from the ocean, and the setting feels more "town" than "beachfront," but our view was pretty nice from up there! The beach itself has the kind of fine, light, powdery sand that dreams are made of. You can walk all the way up either the beach or the main pedestrian drag (Avenida 5) from near the hotel to the Cozumel ferry building, and there are endless resources for entertainment, dining/drinking, etc. along either route.

We bought groceries at Walmart and later at Mega Mart (which is much better and closer), but you can also preorder groceries from the hotel and they'll deliver them to your room for a 20% surcharge, which seems like a pretty good deal. At our request, Acanto also made reservations for us one night at Yaxche, a great Mayan restaurant a few blocks away. Yum!

The Acanto Hotel is very newly redone, so there were occasional glitches, like the elevator not working for a few days (it also doesn't go to all upper-floor areas), and no phones in the rooms to call downstairs or to other rooms. There were also a few byzantine little quirks to the facility -- for example, they have to turn on the hot tubs and the rooftop grills for you in advance (you can't just do it yourself, and you have to plan ahead). And because the hotel is at the edge of Avenida 5, there was a bit of wee-hours noise from carousing tourists returning drunk to wherever they were staying (this only happened a couple times over the weekend).

But overall it was pretty quiet, and felt very private and relaxed. The vibe was great, the decor nice (especially the wall art), the location excellent, the beds very comfortable, the Wi-Fi ($10/day) reliable, and the onsite staff were some of the nicest, most accommodating people I've encountered at any hotel worldwide. Joel deserves a medal for all his hard work -- it seemed like he was ALWAYS there to help!

Room Tip: Recommend the penthouse units, as they effectively double your square footage, give you semi-private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing