We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

They are so accommodating! We had difficulties with booking one of our trips and Rafaela took care if it for us and arranged multiple trips which we asked. She was amazing and so kind. We had a hotel in the middle of the villa, so no view of the outside but we still had a little porch with a hammock. The hotel is also very environmentally conscious as you used your hotel key to turn on the lights, meaning all power went out as you left your room. Nice place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Rafaela and Joel are well trained and informed about all the tours, trips and restaurants in town which ensures that any guest will be satisfied with the experience ..

When designing and constructing the hotel we used all the latest methods to ensure that we are environmentally conscious. From using environmentally friendly materials to installing systems that control the consumption of water and electric, while not compromising the comfort of our guests.

Every unit has its own terrace or patio and some have their own hammocks. No matter which the guests love it. So we are glad you did as well..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    166
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
198
371
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

recently spent some days at Acanto: it was a very good hotel in the heart of Playa but the most important thing is that it is owned by serious and attentive people,

I recommend Acanto !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matteo_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank u! We take our customers and guests very seriously. Answering every email,question and go an extra mile for everyone. This is after years of training and experience in customer service our guests are made to feel at home and pampered in every way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have not yet completed my stay here at Acanto, but would like to say that my experience with the Groupon reservation was excellent despite other reviews. The response to my questions posted on the Groupon site was immediate, and when I purchased the groupon and went to make my actual reservation, the response was equally efficient. There was no attempt to sell me an upgrade, and I was never told that the Groupon rooms were all taken. I think many people were trying to make reservations on short notice and during holiday times, and perhaps aren't used to being told that something isn't available! I also had several questions after I made my reservation and they were all answered promptly and with a great deal of patience. I am looking forward to my upcoming stay and then updating this review to include a great stay!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonD495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you .We are very customer service oriented. We pride ourselves on excellent service from the very first contact with our guests . We look forward to having you at our beautiful hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I purchased two 3 night reservation stays through Groupon for Acanto for a total of 6 nights. At first there were some miss-communications with the dates i would be staying there for my honeymoon. I was told they were available and so i purchased the groupon and flights and then was told they weren't. In the end the staff was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure they fixed the problem and seemed to care about making it right. I haven't been there yet but from talking to the staff they seem super friendly and the pictures i've seen of the place look really nice. I will write a review about my stay when i return in August

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hi yes we try to fix any issues or mishaps, of course with hundreds of reservations its not easy but one way or another we do. We recommend reserving the dates before buying the airline tickets especially a a smaller hotel like our where there is high demand and limited availability.

We cannot hold rooms without payment, but we are flexible if you need to change dates..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I purchased the Groupon for the Acanto hotel in Playa del Carmen (great deal). When I was trying to book I was told that I need to send my information via email to make the reservation. Naturally I was nervous to do that, so I was told to contact the manager, Matthew. Matthew responded right away to my email and my concerns were accommodated immediately. They were very flexible and attentive. Even after getting a confirmation for the dates we requested, I got a personal email from Matthew a few days later to follow up and check if everything worked out to my liking. So far, the service has been A+!

I will follow up with a review on everything else once we go to Mexico - but in the mean time don't be concerned about purchasing the Groupon or contacting the staff because they are very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
From the moment one inquires about our property our Concierge almost immediately responds via email or telephone which clear and precise answers to all questions a guest may have. We try to accommodate room requests, tours , excursions etc.
We work with our guests as best as posible so the positive experience begins even before they arrive at Acanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This will be my first time at this property. I went through Groupon, and must say the deal was outstanding. Prior to purchasing the Groupon, I contacted the property directly, and they advised of the reservation process through the Groupon. I also ensured that there was availability for the 5 days I wanted to travel in November. I emailed all of my requests directly to the hotel, and received confirmation shortly thereafter. I also received a personal phone call from Matthew advising that they have been busier than normal because of the promotion, and just wanted to identify and communicate this to me. I was very appreciative of this gesture, and the overall level of personal communication via email. I am very much looking forward to my first trip to Playa del Carmen!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you . We look forward to having you at our beautiful hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I do not ever, ever write reviews, I enjoy reading them however I had to write this one. I purchased a Groupon deal for Acanto and will be using it for my birthday. I have read many positive reviews on this hotel and on Matthew not only online but via news sources. I am pleased to say that when dealing with a mix up in my reservation, Matthew as well as Joel worked diligently to correct all issues. They were pleasant and very timely in their responses via email, I have yet to work with any other hotel management in such a comfortable, relaxed fashion. I am now eagerly anticipating my trip at the end of September and counting down the days. I am not sure if I will meet Matthew or Joel but I would like to publicly thank them for being amazing at their job and ensuring that I will have a great birthday ahead of me. After visiting the hotel I will definitely write another review which I know will be positive.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you .We are very customer service oriented. WE pride ourselves on excellent service from the very first contact with our guests . We look forward to having you at our beautiful hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing