We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine home for my month in Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fine home for my month in Playa”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I researched condo rentals in planning a month-long stay in Playa and Acanto stood out with regard to location, amenities, value and efficient management. Everything turned out exactly as I had hoped with no unpleasant surprises. I enjoyed interactions with Matt and the front office staff, both Rafaela and Karen were extremely pleasant and helpful and the housekeeping/maintenance people were very efficient. My interior 1 bedroom unit on the third floor was very comfortable, quiet and well furnished with ample storage space and a kitchenette for preparing simple meals. The building is about 1 block from the beach and close to numerous restaurants (don’t miss La Cueva del Chango in a jungle-like setting with great mole), an excellent supermarket, and two Spanish language schools. I particularly enjoyed the rooftop patio with ocean view, hot tub and grill, an excellent area for relaxing and meeting other guests. Acanto became a very comfortable home and leaving was painful! I highly recommend Acanto for short or extended stays in Playa

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you John it was a pleasure meeting you and having you at Acanto. We look forward to your many returns.

Mattt and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
188
367
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Acanto hotel. As a group of 6 of us the Accommodations were great. Our penthouse was beautiful and spacious. Plenty of room for all to hang together And plenty of room for privacy too. The staff at this hotel was great. Friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Karen who really made our stay a pleasure. The location was perfect within close walking distance to the stores,bars,and beaches. This place is perfect for couples and families. Highly recommend this hotel. I already miss the hot tub on the rooftop overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Thanks Matt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgp666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
I havent responded or commented on all the positive review recently as we have been swamped with reservations and happy guests at the hotel. But i want to take this opportunity to thank all the guests that have stayed at Acanto and have posted positive reviews for us and our staff, who work so hard to receive such reviews. So a big thank you to all and happy holidays and happy new year.
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

We just got back from Acanto and Playa and are already planning to return. The hotel and staff were great. It is centrally located within walking distance of everything, great restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this small hotel. It reminded us of a recent small hotel in Madrid! You can't go wrong here!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Run, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We recently stayed at Acanto and had a fantastic time. Matt, you have a staff that goes above and beyond in making sure our time there was the most enjoyable experience while we were in Playa. Karen was a joy to be around, she was very helpful in making sure we didn't have a want for anything.All your staff was gracious and always had a smile when were met. We definetly will be back again. The hotel has the best accomadations bar none. Thanks for the excellant time there

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otisville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Accanto Hotel. What a charming place. This is a first class place from the top to the bottom. Matt treated us well, they felt like family. The staff spoke very good English so translation is no problem. The location is steps away from 5th Ave. and only 1.5 away from the beach. Many days we enjoyed the sun from the rooftop, the ocean view is great. I will definitely return to the Accanto.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We just got back from our four nights five day trip... My expectations weren't high and I was sorta left with a feeling of 'look elsewhere for our next trip'. I would leave early morning and come back late at night... I would constantly wait every night for the security guard to show up or for a taxi blocking the entrance to move. The beds are rock hard and hot water will only run for five to seven minutes. I actually came across this hotel through a living social deal (price was around 288 plus tax). Initially, I was very upset on how an employee there insisted on getting my credit card information in order to check if my desired dates were available - I spoke with the owner and all was resolved. However, I was clear with my reason of choosing this hotel... I am getting married next year and looking to book at least 20 to 30 rooms. If this hotel turned out to be great, I would have all my guests book this hotel. When I arrived, the hotel was like 80 to 85 percent empty yet I received no upgrade or tour of the area. Towards the end of my trip, I received an email asking me about my transportation to the hotel from the airport (too late buddy). On the other hand, the location is really good, the rooms and public area are clean, and the two ladies in the front are nice. The amenities are somewhat cheap and housekeeping is very prompt with their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan_Vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
I would like to respond to this review in no particular order.
The guest claims that the hotel was 85% percent vacant ,
1. The guest would have no way of knowing our occupancy however it is the opposite, we were over 80% full otherwise we would have accommodated the guests request for a free upgrade, even though they came in on a discounted special
2. Our security Guard is on duty all night long and rarely not at the gates when a guest returns , however we have a bell to ring for the guard to come in case this does happen. it is not likely that this happened every night.
3. Taxis blocking our entrance? not sure i understand this the from of the hotel is a no parking zone and taxis unless dropping someone off do not block our entrance
4. the guest was offered a tour of the property and other room types more than once and declined each time, we have many guests who claim they want to have a wedding or reunion at the hotel and that they are doing a site visit, however we have found it is a way to get free upgrades from us, so when they decline tours or demand upgrades its usually not true
5. Amenities are Marble floors, granite counters, solid Mahogany furnishings, Plasma tvs, central air conditioning. Beautiful pool, Jacuzzi, gas bbq and much more.. we do not have cheap amenities
6. our beds are all posture pedic pillow top beds, We have never had a complaint that the beds are hard.
7. transportation emails go out automatically from our system when the reservation confirmation is sent, it is very unlikely it was sent after the trip
8. Lat every hotel requires a credit card upon making a reservation. In the future we will beware for those who refuse to give us the card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Acanto for 4 nights in early December 2012. This is a great alternative to a large hotel. It is quiet, easy to enter and exit, yet you sacrifice nothing in terms of comfort and amenities. The room was top notch, tastefully furnished, modern, air conditioned and comfortable. The hotel is ideally located a half block from the the famed 5th avenue for strolling, a block and a half from the beach, and yet about two blocks from the nightclubs and noise. The staff is friendly and there to help. The owner Matt got personally involved and made sure all was satisfactory. We highly recommend this boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjs-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing