We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay steps away from 5th Ave and the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I had stayed in Acanto last week. This hotel offered much romantic charm and is a quiet oasis off the bustling 5th Ave of shops, eateries, and other tourist attractions and one block from the beach. We could see the vibrant blues of the ocean off the roof-top situated with barbecues and hot-tubs to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. Our villa was very clean and comfortable and offered a kitchenette, dining table, small living room, bathroom with warm water, and a bedroom with a great night of sleep every night. We also had an outdoor sitting area with table off of our room to read, eat your meals or whatever. The pool was a little chilly water temperature-wise and shaded part of the day so if you want to lay out at the pool most of the day and sun yourself this is not the place for it. Also this is not a place to offer noisy parties----big resorts would be a better option. Acanto had a true relaxing spa feel which was greatly needed. There is a spa/salon right next door to Acanto if you need a massage or whatever. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Hacienda style resort hotel is small and private. It is so clean and comfortable. The roof top view is fabulous and has hot tubs and grills up there. Very romantic. Staff can't do enough for you. This hotel is just a few steps off of 5th Ave., the heart of Playa del Carmen, but yet very quiet inside the gated resort. Loved the location.

Room Tip: They all seem to be very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nepennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Behind our beautiful gates is as real as it gets. The beautiful ambiance and style seems to please and sooth all of our guests.. Thanks for the comments and we hope to have you back again

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Acanto Boutique Hotel in Playa del Carmen is in an excellent location, just a few steps from 5th Avenue which is the main pedestrian walk. Walk up to 5th Avenue and turning either left or right you can take a leisurely walk to locate great places to eat or shop. They say you are 1 1/2 blocks to the water and that is true. From there you may want to find a beach club and that may take some more walking in either direction. Once you select a beach club you likely will not want to go back to your room for lunch or other provisions until the end of the day. Beach clubs will cost $7-$15 a day. This provides you with two lounges and an umbrella, bathrooms and showers, and food service. The cost of the beach club does not reflect the quality of any of the services. The hotel does have relationships with two beach clubs providing discounts to hotel guests. We did not care for the accommodations at these clubs so we went elsewhere. There are many beach club options.

It is only for the lack of a conveniently located beach club that we are not rating this hotel 5 stars. Our one bedroom condo type accommodations was excellent. The cleaning service superb. The front desk excellent. You can not count on coffee until 8 am so bring your own coffee for your room. Fruit is put out but get there early. Internet service is excellent in the room and likely elsewhere.

The hotel recommends a shuttle service from/to the airport. This was $70/140 oneway/rt. We were arriving late so we reserved a one way. A taxi is expensive from the airport. There is an airport bus which is inexpensive. From Playa to the airport you can take the bus but we hired a taxi for $400 pesos which is a good price. Earlier in the week we inquired at the taxi stand and were quoted $50. On our departure day we walked two blocks to the taxi stand, turn right on 5th, and were told it would be $400 pesos and they would pick us up. They were 15 minutes early. A taxi run to the airport is desirable for a taxi driver so the service is good.

There is a spa right next door to the hotel. More expensive than those on 5th but you do get a good discount for staying at the hotel and I recommend them highly. This is an ultra clean, almost sterile, spa. If you have concerns about the local massage places, this is the place to go. What I like is that they have a nice shower for pre/post massage. Both my wife and I used this spa and were very pleased.

There is no food service at the hotel to my knowledge so I can not comment on the breakfast package.

Not having the beach club closer was not a major issue for us because we do not mind walking but it could be a concern for some people. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the input.. and most important your comments about your stay and advise regarding the beach clubs.. as you discovered there are so so many different clubs all over ply. some where you can pay for chairs beds etc and others where they provide them complimentary as long as you consume some food or drink.. ll of them have unique features. We suggest the beach clubs that are conveniently located to the hotel.. However all of the beach clubs welcome our hotel guests

MAtt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Acanto Hotel again, we have been going there for the last 3 years for the Super Bowl weekend and we are always so impressed. The staff is very efficient and the rooms and property are amazing. We always enjoy our time there as it is so close to the beach and extremely close to Fifth Ave.
As always we had a great vacation and enjoyed spending time on our balcony at the Acanto.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It was great to have you back to Acanto and we appreciate all your positive comments.. We look forward to your many returns

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In the middle of the wettest winter which London has experienced for hundreds of years, we were trying to decide whether to use our annual leave for decorating or to have a holiday. A little web browsing brought us to the Trip Advisor reviews for Acanto in Play Del Carmen, Mexico and we were reeled in! How wonderful it sounded and just what we needed to get some rest from our busy lives and some warm sunshine on our very pale complexions. Having booked just days ahead of travelling – we really had been very indecisive – we e-mailed the Hotel about beach towels and booking spa treatments in advance and received prompt, kind and helpful responses from Matt. We almost felt we had met before we even arrived!
Acanto is exactly what it says it is, a fantastic boutique hotel, bang in the centre of town, just minutes from a fabulous beach, but beautifully calm and peaceful inside. Although apparently fully booked during our visit in mid February you would never have known it. We frequently had the rooftop area entirely to ourselves to enjoy our early evening G n T watching the sun go down (where you can also make use of the bbq and jacuzzi) and Joel on reception was incredibly helpful in answering all our enquiries. Our apartment was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the wonderful staff kept it pristine for us. Our week flew by as we relaxed on the beach during the day and sampled just some of the vast numbers of bars and restaurants along 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, which are just steps away from the front door, in the evenings. We loved the live music and had an amazing evening in one local beach bar, Zenzi, where the barman was celebrating his birthday and everyone from the owner down gave us a very warm welcome! The complimentary discount for beach facilities and free access at Wicky’s.beach club came in handy with excellent beach lounger, bar and lunch services provided with a big smile. So many fabulous memories….Thank you to all at Acanto!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OfficemanagerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Yes, i do my best to respond to emails and inquiries as fast as possible. I know that it is not always an easy decision on where to stay especially when traveling out of the country.

We are always sure to post the most recent pictures on our website and here on Tripadvisor and to respond to reviews as well so our future guests will have lots of knowledge before deciding on where to stay.

We designed the hotel so as every room/guest will have privacy so even of we are full, you would not know it.


The roof top is set up so if there are multiple people or families up there it would not seem so.

The beach clubs and restaurants always look out for our guests and treat them as the vips they are.

It was our pleasure to have you and look forward to your return

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This was a great quiet and clean hotel with a nice ambiance. The staff was very helpful. At first I thought we might be disappointed because we weren't right on the beach but we really enjoyed the beach clubs the hotel recommended and didn't find it to be an issue to walk a few blocks to the beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thanks Beth. Glad you had a nice time and it was fun having you guys..

Appreciate your comments and we look forward to your return

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We chose a two bedroom suite with kitchen as we hoped to have family join us. That worked out well when our oldest son and his wife were able to spend a few days there. The rooms were excellent- two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living area, terrace, and a full kitchen. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The location is very excellent and even though you are not on the beach, we were closer to the water than at many resorts that are on the beach. At night the rooms were quiet and shut out most of the outside noise. The only item keeping this from a 5 is that the kitchen could have been better stocked with pans and utensils for the price. There is a grill on the roof but there were no grilling instruments which made grilling it's own adventure. We did not use the hot tub as it was hot outside already. When we go back we will stay there again. Special thanks to Joel and Vanessa and the sweet lady who cleaned our room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you Peter.. when you return we will for sure have the kitchens stocked even more than they are now,

Acanto is a great place for families to reunite, vacation together and the 2 and 3 bedrooms offer the most privacy. The town of Playa del Carmen is great for all people of all ages, whether teens or adults, even the little ones love it. The excursions, tours and beach are a great time for everyone..

As a return guest you will benefit from or VIP program so be sure to contact us directly before your next trip..

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £80 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing