We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place Is Perfect! Great Location, Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Place Is Perfect! Great Location, Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Hotel is perfect, and located just a few steps from Fifth Ave, and from Beach. Rooms are great, nice sized and well decorated. Pool is beautiful. The use of various Beach Clubs that are all a block or 2 from the Hotel makes it even more fun. The Staff is very friendly and helpful as well. The Hotel even has a "discount card' for a few $ off on local restaurants and the like. I would go back any time.

Room Tip: Our Penthouse Room had a private Hot Tub and Deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed. The Penthouses are for sure a favorite. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
183
364
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful boutique hotel with charm, then you will love Acanto. It has a great location just off of 5th avenue (the pedestrian only street) so it's quiet yet has easy access to lots of shops and restaurants. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedR0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I believe these guests bought this trip in an auction for a charity.. We are always happy to contribute our success to help others and even more happy when those had a great experience at our hotel..

Thank you and well see you again soon

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay River, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February in a two-bedroom suite (villa #9, I believe) on the second floor, overlooking the street. First off, we knew we would be arriving before the 3:00 check-in, so they had advised we could store our bags until the room was ready. The gentleman on the front desk (I believe his name was Joel???) was so nice and made sure we were taken care of. He offered us a room to change in if we needed, and towels, so we decided to drop our bags and head for a bite to eat and meet our wedding planner while we waited for my husbands parents to arrive. A couple of hours later we came back just as my in-law's were arriving, and we were now able to check into the room.

The small lobby overlooks the breathtaking pool area, and there are stairs and a small elevator to get to the second floor. Our suite was very well appointed, with full-size modern kitchen (with everything you need), dining table, and comfortable living room. There was a small balcony off the living room that overlooked the street, with a table and chairs. We had chosen a two-bedroom suite, each bedroom had it's own bathroom as well. My husband & I took the back bedroom that had a small patio located in the interior of the building (no view), with a comfy hammock. I would say it was mostly private, though the rooms above us (and opposite) could potentially look down upon you, but we never had any issue. Beds were very comfy, and room was large and well-appointed. Large dressing area with closets connected to the bathroom with huge walk-in shower. Our only issue with the shower was that even with the glass door closed, water would leak out onto the floor, so you would have to use lots of towels to mop it up...this seems to be very common in Mexican hotels for some reason...but not a huge issue. There is a small safety deposit box in the closet that can fit passports, wallets, etc., but not big enough for a laptop.
We also went up to the rooftop patio one evening for drinks and to look at the lights over Cozumel.

Overall we had a very comfortable stay and the staff was awesome. They offered us suggestions for restaurants & tours, and even gave us discount coupons for various places to eat as well, such as Plank and Imprevist, which we tried and LOVED as well. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the middle of it all, but just away from the hustle and bustle of 5th. We didn't have any noise from the street even though we overlooked 16th. Always felt secure. We would absolutely stay here again when in Playa!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newfiegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
WOW ! these are the reviews that we work so hard to get.. Thank you so much for recognizing all of these positive attributes about our hotel..

We are so glad you had such a positive experience

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I had stayed in Acanto last week. This hotel offered much romantic charm and is a quiet oasis off the bustling 5th Ave of shops, eateries, and other tourist attractions and one block from the beach. We could see the vibrant blues of the ocean off the roof-top situated with barbecues and hot-tubs to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. Our villa was very clean and comfortable and offered a kitchenette, dining table, small living room, bathroom with warm water, and a bedroom with a great night of sleep every night. We also had an outdoor sitting area with table off of our room to read, eat your meals or whatever. The pool was a little chilly water temperature-wise and shaded part of the day so if you want to lay out at the pool most of the day and sun yourself this is not the place for it. Also this is not a place to offer noisy parties----big resorts would be a better option. Acanto had a true relaxing spa feel which was greatly needed. There is a spa/salon right next door to Acanto if you need a massage or whatever. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Hacienda style resort hotel is small and private. It is so clean and comfortable. The roof top view is fabulous and has hot tubs and grills up there. Very romantic. Staff can't do enough for you. This hotel is just a few steps off of 5th Ave., the heart of Playa del Carmen, but yet very quiet inside the gated resort. Loved the location.

Room Tip: They all seem to be very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Behind our beautiful gates is as real as it gets. The beautiful ambiance and style seems to please and sooth all of our guests.. Thanks for the comments and we hope to have you back again

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Acanto Boutique Hotel in Playa del Carmen is in an excellent location, just a few steps from 5th Avenue which is the main pedestrian walk. Walk up to 5th Avenue and turning either left or right you can take a leisurely walk to locate great places to eat or shop. They say you are 1 1/2 blocks to the water and that is true. From there you may want to find a beach club and that may take some more walking in either direction. Once you select a beach club you likely will not want to go back to your room for lunch or other provisions until the end of the day. Beach clubs will cost $7-$15 a day. This provides you with two lounges and an umbrella, bathrooms and showers, and food service. The cost of the beach club does not reflect the quality of any of the services. The hotel does have relationships with two beach clubs providing discounts to hotel guests. We did not care for the accommodations at these clubs so we went elsewhere. There are many beach club options.

It is only for the lack of a conveniently located beach club that we are not rating this hotel 5 stars. Our one bedroom condo type accommodations was excellent. The cleaning service superb. The front desk excellent. You can not count on coffee until 8 am so bring your own coffee for your room. Fruit is put out but get there early. Internet service is excellent in the room and likely elsewhere.

The hotel recommends a shuttle service from/to the airport. This was $70/140 oneway/rt. We were arriving late so we reserved a one way. A taxi is expensive from the airport. There is an airport bus which is inexpensive. From Playa to the airport you can take the bus but we hired a taxi for $400 pesos which is a good price. Earlier in the week we inquired at the taxi stand and were quoted $50. On our departure day we walked two blocks to the taxi stand, turn right on 5th, and were told it would be $400 pesos and they would pick us up. They were 15 minutes early. A taxi run to the airport is desirable for a taxi driver so the service is good.

There is a spa right next door to the hotel. More expensive than those on 5th but you do get a good discount for staying at the hotel and I recommend them highly. This is an ultra clean, almost sterile, spa. If you have concerns about the local massage places, this is the place to go. What I like is that they have a nice shower for pre/post massage. Both my wife and I used this spa and were very pleased.

There is no food service at the hotel to my knowledge so I can not comment on the breakfast package.

Not having the beach club closer was not a major issue for us because we do not mind walking but it could be a concern for some people. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the input.. and most important your comments about your stay and advise regarding the beach clubs.. as you discovered there are so so many different clubs all over ply. some where you can pay for chairs beds etc and others where they provide them complimentary as long as you consume some food or drink.. ll of them have unique features. We suggest the beach clubs that are conveniently located to the hotel.. However all of the beach clubs welcome our hotel guests

MAtt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Acanto Hotel again, we have been going there for the last 3 years for the Super Bowl weekend and we are always so impressed. The staff is very efficient and the rooms and property are amazing. We always enjoy our time there as it is so close to the beach and extremely close to Fifth Ave.
As always we had a great vacation and enjoyed spending time on our balcony at the Acanto.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
It was great to have you back to Acanto and we appreciate all your positive comments.. We look forward to your many returns

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing