We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Acanto is a wonderful boutique hotel with very nice staff. Very spacious clean rooms and living area. Sits between 1st Ave. and 5th Ave on 16th st....one of the best spots to be in Playa. Short walk to any beach or beach club. Discount cards are given for some nearby restaurants and beach clubs from the concierge...ask each day. There was coffee and snacks out in a lovely garden every morning. Our room was very quiet. We were in the 3rd floor 3 bedroom suite with roof top. It sat on the shady side so not much light in rooms but after coming off sunny beach each day we did not care. Ask to have the hot tub filled. They keep it very clean. Pricing is great for what you get. Very nice people stayed here. One of the best restaurants is right around the corner from Acanto at a place called Imprevist. Discounts are given here if you stay in hotel. The food is awesome and it is very charming especially the 4 outside tables if you can get one. There are so many great restaurants in Playa and at the beach Clubs you will always eat well. Acanto is the perfect hotel to stay at to be right in the middle of it all. We loved this spot...will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Everyone loves the large suites/condominiums at Acanto especially the penthouse units with the Jacuzzi tubs.... Bt even if you do not have a penthouse unit we have a Jacuzzi and BBQ for everyones use..

Our favorite restaurants give special attention to our guests and honor the VIP Privilege cards that we give.

Yes every guest gets a special Privilege card that entitles them to special discounts at several area restaurants, beach clubs etc . Our Concierge will direct you to the best restaurants and beach clubs as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for five night last week and the Acanto couldn't have been nicer. The staff were great and helpful at guiding us to our many destinations. The room/apartment was awesome. Spacious, quiet, elegant, yet inexpensive. My teenaged son loved having his own room almost as much as he loved the beach. The location was great. Literally steps to the hustle and bustle of "Fifth Ave." but still felt secluded. Sure the beach is a block away, but we didn't spend much time in Playa, opting to venture out to the quieter shores of Akumal, and the Blue Venado Beach Club. Overall a great experience, and a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Although we are known as one of the most Romantic and charming hotels in Playa del carmen, we still cater to families. Actually most of our guests are families, some large families, some smaller families, some with adult children and some with small children.

Acanto caters to all types and ages. all groups all sizes we are ready for anything. We have been successful with all types of different combinations of people.

Our restaurants and beach clubs are great for all as well.

Thank you Tod for the kind remarks and im glad you enjoyed your time here at Acanto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There are many options in Playa Del Carmen as domestic and international investment in hotels and businesses appears to be at its peak. The Acanto is in a terrific location and I prefer the boutique hotel experience here to a large all-inclusive resort. There is so much to see and do in the town, with lots of restaurants, stores, bars and beach clubs to choose from. The Acanto staff is very friendly and attentive, and the rooms are top notch for a short or extended stay with beautiful furnishings, granite countertops, quality appliances and fixtures throughout. We shared one of the larger suites with another couple and never felt like we were living on top of each other. Everything is close to the ferry that takes you to Cozumel which is a great day trip. We will definitely go back to Playa del Carmen and definitely back to the Acanto.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

In Playa del Carmen the only real way to go is to a Boutique Hotel.
As this reviewer describes there is so much to do and see so staying right in town yet steps to the beach is a great option.

The staff also helps the guests pick the best tours or excursions as well

Thank you for the positive comments

Mattt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at Acanto Boutique Hotel. We had wonderful time. The location is a 2 minute walk to the beach (100 yards or so) and is right around the corner from bustling 5th avenue. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Building grounds were immaculate and our room was spotless. The hotel offers free calls to the US, which is great. While we were there we visited several beach clubs. Our favorite is Canibal Royal, located on the far northern part of the beach. It is a long walk from the hotel but well worth the trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

On behalf of the entire Acanto staff to you and all the positive reviews below.

We are so pleased to be receiving reviews like these.

It is an honor to be rated one of the top hotels in Playa del Carmen.

We will continue to do everything and anything to always be able to give our guests the best experience possible.

We are always open to any requests or suggestions on how to continue our service.

So fell free to email us at reservations@acantohotels.com

Sincerely

Matt and the Acanto Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Acanto hotel is beautiful! I took my boyfriend for his birthday and so we could get out of this crazy east coast winter. it is just 1 quick block from the beach and right in the middle of everything. The staff are so nice and very accommodating. We had trouble getting in touch with our cab service to confirm our return ride to the airport, so I decided to ask the front desk for help, and they just took care of everything! When you check in, they give you a privilege card that is good for discounts at many different restaurants and a great beach bar. We asked the front desk for food recommendations and they gave us great advice on some really great places. They have spa right next to the hotel. My boyfriend got a massage there and said it was wonderful and very relaxing. The rooms are SO NICE! and the pool is great. There is little common area where you can grab coffees and little snacks and an upstairs BBQ area! All in all, it is worth the money and a great experience. We will DEFINITELY be going back. I'm even trying to convince my boyfriend to buy one of the condos :) THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: you will probably be happy anywhere! its a quiet, relaxing place. not crazy party central but you de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Wow wow wow ... Thank you!!

All of our hard work and training pays off when we see reviews like this..

We do anything to please our guests and we are so happy that you had the best vacation ever..

Happy Bday and Happy spring well see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I decided to book a trip to Mexico in January, 2 Adults and 2 children. When planning the trip we had to make a decision all-inclusive resort or condo full kitchen right in Playa Del Carmen. This was our first family vacation all together, so there were a lot of unknowns at play. In the end we chose space, and comfort over pools and all you can eat food!! This ended up being the best decision! Acanto is a very clean, unique boutique hotel located just off of 5th Avenue. When we arrived at the hotel the staff and management was very pleasant and helpful, they gave us a tour and got us settle quickly in our condo. The condo itself was spacious, clean and very comfortable; I knew immediately that we had made the right decision. Throughout our stay everyone was concerned with our comfort and happiness; it was nice to feel important and taken care of. The location was amazing, I was initially concerned that it wouldn’t be a very child friendly environment being located right off 5th avenue, but the children loved all the restaurants, shopping, ice cream and action. At times it was a little loud at night, but that is to be expected with the location. The building was surprisingly sound proof, but what really impressed me was that the manager was aware of some functions that were going on across the street and instructed the staff to ensure that we had noise suppression machines put in our rooms for that evening. From our perspective that is being proactive and great customer service. We didn’t really spend much time at the beach that is a couple blocks away, we opted to rent a car and travel to other beaches during the day. But we enjoyed the drives and we were able to see a lot more of the area because we were not tied to a resort. I used to be a resort person and it took a lot to convince me to book at Acanto, but I don’t think that I would never stay at another all-inclusive again. I love the freedom and living area that this hotel gives families!! I would recommend this boutique hotel to everyone I know. In the end we saved about 25% of the cost of staying at a resort, and I would classify this as one of my best vacations ever.

Thank you Acanto Management and Staff for a great week!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Many of our guests come from All inclusive hotels. They eventually realize that when at an all inclusive they are stuck there. Same food, same people for the entire stay.. Leaving the all inclusive resorts is expensive and time consuming. And staying is expensive even if the food and drink is included.

When staying at a Boutique hotel in Playa del carmen there are hundreds of restaurants, bars, dozens of beach clubs and so many cultural events, tours and excursions to go on.

Our suites all have kitchens and terraces to cook in eat on. We have BBQs as well. Room service from nearby restaurants and so much more..

Families love our hotel because of tees amenities. They go on day trips , the beach, shops and many restaurants..

And generally it is LESS expensive to do this rather than stay at an all inclusive.

We are so happy that you realized and experienced this and we know that you'll be back soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our first time staying at the Acanto Boutique Hotel and it was wonderful! The staff was amazing especially Eduardo and Joel who helped us with anything we needed. The room was spacious and modern and the rooftop view was spectacular. The location was fantastic, just minutes from the beaches and 5th Avenue which we walked every night with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The beach clubs were amazing. Also, a short walk to the Cozumel ferry where we spent the day sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Kimkatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Acanto as your home away from home.We look forward to you many returns back to paradise.

Have a great spring and Summer

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £90 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing