We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, peaceful and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, peaceful and accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We love this place. It is our go to hotel for Play Del Carmen. The rooms surround a beautiful courtyard, which is a perfect place to relax after spending the day at the beach. All the staff are incredibly helpful and truly care about your experience at the hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for visiting us again. We look forward to many more returns and as always you will be treated like family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
183
364
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Rather than write a review, I am attaching a letter I write to the owner.
"Hello Matt,
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at the beautiful Acanto. We LOVED our stay here. Perfect location. Great rooms. Lovely clean pool.
But what stood out to us was your staff. You should be very proud of each and every one of them. They are all very kind, happy, polite and give great suggestions for local restaurants.
Eduardo was wonderful with us. I cannot speak highly enough of him. Seriously, we travel all over the world and he is a fantastic asset to Acanto. My fiancé has a disability and he went out of his way to accommodate us and make us feel comfortable and safe.
Thanks again for a wonderful time. I will definitely be recommending Acanto to anybody I know who travels to Playa Del Carmen.
Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Raelene

It was a pleasure to have you and your fiance at the hotel.

We do our very, very best to accommodate and make everyone feel safe and secure, just as if they were at home.

Eduardo and the rest of the staff are the best there is, And at Acanto we would not have anything other than a smiling and happy staff.

Well see you again and thank you again for your kind remarks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hello this hotel was exactly as described. Lovely, quiet and very clean. We especially enjoyed the cool quiet after a day on the beach or after a walk down 5th avenue which is fun but can be noisy. Spent some time by the small but lovely hotel pool. Best thing may be the contacts the hotel has with several restaurants and the nearby beach club.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room ask for one. Ours was on second floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
One of the unique parts of Acanto is the quaint pool, grounds, the staff and rooms. Waiting for you to return from your day on the town or beach.. and Ending the day at one of our favorite restaurants and being treated like a VIP

Glad you enjoyed and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We received a stay at the Acanto as a wedding gift. We are here now and don't leave for 2 more days. The staff, Joel & Eduardo are nothing short of amazing. So helpful and knowledgable, and friendly. I look forward to seeing them every time we come and go. The other guests are super nice too. The location is PERFECT. In the middle of everything. Shops, restaurants, nightclubs, and of course the beach. The rooms are modern, and clean. Never a dull moment and my husband and I are already discussing our next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMeans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Happy Honeymoon! it was great to have you and be part of your special celebration..

See you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Eddie and the rest of the staff at the Acanto are great. They will help you with whatever you need and even inform you when you are paying too much for something.

The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean. This crew takes pride in what they do. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room appears to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Even if you you do like all-inclusive resorts Acanto is the place...

Being that we are in the heart of Playa del Carmen with all the restaurants, clubs, beach clubs , bars, and shops it is better than being in an all-inclusive.

Even better you get to choose the types of food, drinks and activities you do rather than being confined to an all-inclusive lower quality food and drinks, the same people and beach and restaurants everyday.

Instead you have a choice of where to go and what to do.

More important our suites/condominiums are far superior , larger, cleaner and more equipped than any all inclusive in the area. Many of our guests have experienced all inclusive hotels and always prefer the Boutique hotel experience especially in Playa del Carmen.

Finally the cost and rates to stay at Acanto Hotel even after you buy food and drinks separately almost always costs less than all inclusive hotels

So we are glad you chose Acanto as your Boutique destination in Playa del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I very happily stayed at the acanto for 2 months.From the rooftop garden you can see the ocean
and the sky ,what a peaceful place.This hotel is clean with nice rooms and the staff are well trained to help in any way they can.The manager Joel always has the best smile that is contagious.Eduardo at the front desk is happy and ensures you have everything you need.
A beautiful young lady makes the best coffee in the morning.This is the best spot to stay in Playa,
A short walk to the beach or the grocery store everything is close by.The beautiful courtyard is filled with trees and awesome plants, you can smell the fresh air.I had a hard time leaving this place.I will return as soon as they will have me.Thanks to all for a life changing experience Miss you all and see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
It was so great to have you at our hotel. As you stated we have several long term guests and we always do our best to make them feel at home.

Many are repeat guests that winter in Playa del Carmen.

The best part is that you call this your new happy place. It makes all of our hard work and effort worth it. Thank you!!!! well see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Acanto is a wonderful boutique hotel with very nice staff. Very spacious clean rooms and living area. Sits between 1st Ave. and 5th Ave on 16th st....one of the best spots to be in Playa. Short walk to any beach or beach club. Discount cards are given for some nearby restaurants and beach clubs from the concierge...ask each day. There was coffee and snacks out in a lovely garden every morning. Our room was very quiet. We were in the 3rd floor 3 bedroom suite with roof top. It sat on the shady side so not much light in rooms but after coming off sunny beach each day we did not care. Ask to have the hot tub filled. They keep it very clean. Pricing is great for what you get. Very nice people stayed here. One of the best restaurants is right around the corner from Acanto at a place called Imprevist. Discounts are given here if you stay in hotel. The food is awesome and it is very charming especially the 4 outside tables if you can get one. There are so many great restaurants in Playa and at the beach Clubs you will always eat well. Acanto is the perfect hotel to stay at to be right in the middle of it all. We loved this spot...will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Everyone loves the large suites/condominiums at Acanto especially the penthouse units with the Jacuzzi tubs.... Bt even if you do not have a penthouse unit we have a Jacuzzi and BBQ for everyones use..

Our favorite restaurants give special attention to our guests and honor the VIP Privilege cards that we give.

Yes every guest gets a special Privilege card that entitles them to special discounts at several area restaurants, beach clubs etc . Our Concierge will direct you to the best restaurants and beach clubs as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing