We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here April 4, 2104. Great little hotel, very personal service at check-in. Rooms was lovely and well appointed. Has cute little pool inside interior courtyard. Very close to 5th avenue restaurants and short walk to beach. It's nice not being at an all inclusive and finding your own spots to eat. Would stay here again if we went back.

Room Tip: Upper floors are good. But if have early loud guests in pool, can hear it everywhere. Some people ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelsofVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Charming, Quaint, clean, personal service... Thats what we pride ourselves on. Thank you for recognizing this and we are so happy you enjoyed your time.. Well look forward to seeing you again, one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    166
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
198
371
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have been to Mexico numerous times. For diving, we love Cozumel. However, for great restaurants, beautiful beaches, and a fun place for our family, we love Playa Del Carmen and the Acanto Hotel in the Riviera Maya. This year we went over Christmas break. Absolutely great stay. The town has tons of restaurants including a great one at very reasonable prices right across from the Acanto Hotel. Frankly, I forget the name of the restaurant but you can't miss it. As far as the hotel, the Acanto is a great little boutique hotel. We have stayed in some boutique hotels as well as some of the super large ones and enjoyed both. However, if one would like to stay in an immaculate hotel right off happening 5th Avenue, this is a great choice. There are numerous restaurants, shopping, and other activities all within walking distance. The rooms are great and just off the Main strip so not loud at all. Seconds to beautiful beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamptontennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks so much for the comments.. Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to your returns..
next time well set you up with great diving in Cozumel

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We recently stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the end of March and again in early April. We were very pleased with our selection of the Acanto Boutique Apartments.
The apartments are spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed. I found the bed very comfortable, which can be hard to find! The position is excellent, walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left and a few steps you are in 5th Avenue, the heart of Playa Del Carmen, restaurants, junk shops, night life etc. When you are at the hotel no noise from 5th Avenue reaches you, and is generally very quiet. The staff at reception were very helpful. There are many restaurants that offer discounts for guests staying at Acanto, which always helps!

Well worth a visit

Paul & Robyn ( Australia)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulrosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time at Acanto..

Coming from so far away its always great to have a second time and now Acanto is it. so we are waiting for and look forward to your return

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My Sister and I stayed here. This place has a unique boutique feel to it. I loved the layout of the place and how close it was to everything. The staff is AMAZING. I have never had such wonderful experience anywhere. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Eduardo (Front office Manager) was extremely helpful and very genuine. The staff new all the local places and gave great suggestions. I am already planning my next vacation with family and would stay here again. Great place to stay in Playa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeAnju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi i heard you and your sister had a great time... and we look forward to hosting your family..

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We love this place. It is our go to hotel for Play Del Carmen. The rooms surround a beautiful courtyard, which is a perfect place to relax after spending the day at the beach. All the staff are incredibly helpful and truly care about your experience at the hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for visiting us again. We look forward to many more returns and as always you will be treated like family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Rather than write a review, I am attaching a letter I write to the owner.
"Hello Matt,
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at the beautiful Acanto. We LOVED our stay here. Perfect location. Great rooms. Lovely clean pool.
But what stood out to us was your staff. You should be very proud of each and every one of them. They are all very kind, happy, polite and give great suggestions for local restaurants.
Eduardo was wonderful with us. I cannot speak highly enough of him. Seriously, we travel all over the world and he is a fantastic asset to Acanto. My fiancé has a disability and he went out of his way to accommodate us and make us feel comfortable and safe.
Thanks again for a wonderful time. I will definitely be recommending Acanto to anybody I know who travels to Playa Del Carmen.
Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Raelene

It was a pleasure to have you and your fiance at the hotel.

We do our very, very best to accommodate and make everyone feel safe and secure, just as if they were at home.

Eduardo and the rest of the staff are the best there is, And at Acanto we would not have anything other than a smiling and happy staff.

Well see you again and thank you again for your kind remarks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hello this hotel was exactly as described. Lovely, quiet and very clean. We especially enjoyed the cool quiet after a day on the beach or after a walk down 5th avenue which is fun but can be noisy. Spent some time by the small but lovely hotel pool. Best thing may be the contacts the hotel has with several restaurants and the nearby beach club.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room ask for one. Ours was on second floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
One of the unique parts of Acanto is the quaint pool, grounds, the staff and rooms. Waiting for you to return from your day on the town or beach.. and Ending the day at one of our favorite restaurants and being treated like a VIP

Glad you enjoyed and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing