We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great space, nice courtyard, very helpful staff. Went with our 11 & 9 year old kids. They loved it wanted the penthouse with jacuzzi but jacuzzi didn't work while we were there.
Location is right in downtown playa so perfect if your a late night party person. Music goes on till 3am. Lots of choices for good food. Plank is excellent and it's across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you Sandy. Its was great to see you guys enjoying the hotel.

For use of the jacuzzis, we need notice to prepare and heat up approx 1 hour in advance of use, from time to time the jacuzzis take a bit longer to prepare especially during holiday times.

Luckily we are on a quiet side street and the parties in Playa are not near the hotel, so the 3 am stuff does not affect us. But yes one can party the night away.

The restaurant in town are Bar-none and Plank is one of the favorites.

We have over 20 restaurants that participate on our VIP Privilege card program that offer pour guests between 10 and 20 % on food and drinks..

Sandy we look forward to your return. When the kids are older they will love the scene or just hanging around the courtyard and pool area at Acanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
186
366
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went to this hotel in April and stayed for 3 nights, it is a very nice hotel, very nice service, it has a little pool that will suit you well, it's 1 block from 5th street (the main street). Due to this it can get a little bit noisy at night but they do all they can for you to have a nice sleep so it's not big deal. Breakfast is not very big, a little buffet with cereal, bread, milk and juice. the rooms are big and nice, clean and well decorated and nice. They help you with everything they can, like arranging tours and giving you directions and tips. Some of the suites have a private jacuzzi and barbecue spots for some nice saturday afternoon. everything was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Its great that you were able to enjoy our roof top BBQ and Jacuzzi.. and appreciated our accommodations and guest service.

Thank you for you comments and well see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here April 4, 2104. Great little hotel, very personal service at check-in. Rooms was lovely and well appointed. Has cute little pool inside interior courtyard. Very close to 5th avenue restaurants and short walk to beach. It's nice not being at an all inclusive and finding your own spots to eat. Would stay here again if we went back.

Room Tip: Upper floors are good. But if have early loud guests in pool, can hear it everywhere. Some people ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelsofVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Charming, Quaint, clean, personal service... Thats what we pride ourselves on. Thank you for recognizing this and we are so happy you enjoyed your time.. Well look forward to seeing you again, one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have been to Mexico numerous times. For diving, we love Cozumel. However, for great restaurants, beautiful beaches, and a fun place for our family, we love Playa Del Carmen and the Acanto Hotel in the Riviera Maya. This year we went over Christmas break. Absolutely great stay. The town has tons of restaurants including a great one at very reasonable prices right across from the Acanto Hotel. Frankly, I forget the name of the restaurant but you can't miss it. As far as the hotel, the Acanto is a great little boutique hotel. We have stayed in some boutique hotels as well as some of the super large ones and enjoyed both. However, if one would like to stay in an immaculate hotel right off happening 5th Avenue, this is a great choice. There are numerous restaurants, shopping, and other activities all within walking distance. The rooms are great and just off the Main strip so not loud at all. Seconds to beautiful beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamptontennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks so much for the comments.. Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to your returns..
next time well set you up with great diving in Cozumel

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We recently stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the end of March and again in early April. We were very pleased with our selection of the Acanto Boutique Apartments.
The apartments are spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed. I found the bed very comfortable, which can be hard to find! The position is excellent, walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left and a few steps you are in 5th Avenue, the heart of Playa Del Carmen, restaurants, junk shops, night life etc. When you are at the hotel no noise from 5th Avenue reaches you, and is generally very quiet. The staff at reception were very helpful. There are many restaurants that offer discounts for guests staying at Acanto, which always helps!

Well worth a visit

Paul & Robyn ( Australia)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulrosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time at Acanto..

Coming from so far away its always great to have a second time and now Acanto is it. so we are waiting for and look forward to your return

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My Sister and I stayed here. This place has a unique boutique feel to it. I loved the layout of the place and how close it was to everything. The staff is AMAZING. I have never had such wonderful experience anywhere. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Eduardo (Front office Manager) was extremely helpful and very genuine. The staff new all the local places and gave great suggestions. I am already planning my next vacation with family and would stay here again. Great place to stay in Playa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeAnju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi i heard you and your sister had a great time... and we look forward to hosting your family..

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We love this place. It is our go to hotel for Play Del Carmen. The rooms surround a beautiful courtyard, which is a perfect place to relax after spending the day at the beach. All the staff are incredibly helpful and truly care about your experience at the hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for visiting us again. We look forward to many more returns and as always you will be treated like family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing