We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This boutique hotel was amazing. My family of 4 had a 2 room suite. The accommodations were beautiful, clean and very convenient to everything. The entire staff was there to make your stay the best possible. Trip arrangements were made through the front desk, hot tub preparations....you name it, they did it for you. I loved this place and will be there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libbyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you,, it was a pleasure .. your family was so nice as well .. see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
183
364
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at the Acanto Boutique hotel this past week july 12-16, it was amazing!!! beautiful property ...apartments were perfect.....clean....felt brand new....staff was very nice...and was just steps away from dinning shopping..bars...excellent location...have no complaints....cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We can't ask for anything more than perfect. Thank you for that score!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Acanto Boutique Hotel is a little private oasis off of a busy street full of activities day and night. It was an absolute fabulous stay. My stay was for four nights which simply wasn't enough. The location is nearly 10 steps off La Quinta Avenida which is a beautiful long strip of restaurants, shops, cafe's anything you could need. The hotel is extremely accommodating if you need help to book a day trip, call a car service or make a reservation, ask for Eduardo's help. Minutes away from white sand and crystal clear beaches, the Acanto offer's discounts for the surrounding restaurants and beach clubs, as well as the restaurants. All of the people visiting La Playa del Carmen are extremely nice and have one goal in mind, to enjoy their stay and have fun. I will definitely be visiting again.
Do go see the baby tigers and lion cubs you can hold right off the strip!

Room Tip: All are accommodating and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi we are so glad you loved the hotel and the town.. Yes those tigers are so cute.. Have a great summer and well see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved our stay at Acanto Boutique hotel. The location was excellent! Just a few feet away from the 5th Ave Strip where all of the great bars, and restaurants are. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Any request that we had, they went out of their way to accommodate us.

The first day we arrived we ate at a restaurant on the strip and the food was terrible. We immediately thought "This is going to be a long trip"! However, when we returned to our room
we found a book that was provided by the hotel. In that book they has a list of all of the restaurants they they recommend for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Along with the menus for each establishment, and a 10% discount card if you choose to eat at any of them. This was a fantastic tool for us to have because after listening to the recommendations, we never had a bad meal again!

The rooms were very nice. Great size for the two of us, larger then any hotel room we've had. The furnishings and appliances were nice and modern. The pool was open to guests 24/7 and was never crowded! It was almost like we had the pool to ourselves. The hot tub on the roof was also very nice. The hotel also provided free Wifi and free international calling which was excellent!

The only Con about the hotel was the beach on 16th street was not very nice. They dock boats along the shore and there seemed to be a lot of algae in the water when we went. But this wasn't a major concern for us because if you walk a few blocks north near Mamita's beach club, the beach is beautiful! The Ocean is much nicer up that way. Trust me It wasn't a big deal or a reason not to stay at Acanto. It's literally a 5 minute walk up the strip and you will arrive in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We have compiled a list of the top rated and best restaurants, beach clubs and attractions in town and all of our guests benefit from discounts or specials at each one of them..We generally do not recommend restaurants that are not on out preferred list..

The beach down the road is really just an access point. to the right and left of the access point are our recommended beach clubs.. So I'm glad you found those. Our playa map guide has each beach club and restaurant listed and easy to find..

We are glad you enjoyed the room, pool and facilities and although the hotel was full when you were there, you would never know it.. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My GF and I stayed four nights last week at the Acanto and were blown away by the location, room, and service. Eduardo, Jenny, Joel, and Diego were incredibly helpful with food and entertainment recommendations. We will definitely stay again! Do yourself a favor and stay at Acanto!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxreinbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Max it was a pleasure having you. We work very hard to make exert guests experience exquisite and social
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our stay here was amazing. It was a short walk to the beach and conveniently located within a block of lots of restaurants and shopping. The staffs responsiveness and attentiveness to our needs combined with beautiful rooms and the Eden- like facility transformed our time in Cancun into a true relaxing paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldcitizen2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
As some of our reviews state that the experience starts with the very first inquiry about a reservation. The staff always responds immediately and clearly and is attentive to all our guests needs.

Our central location make a stay in Playa del Carmen make for the perfect stay and enjoyable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel checks all the boxes and exceeds, by far, expectations! Located a short stroll from Playa's beaches and a few steps (literally) away from 5th avenue, you are just where you want to be in Playa--on a quiet street with super quick access to both the relaxation of the beach and the excitement of 5th avenue's restaurants and nightlife. The staff was friendly and accomodting, the rooms clean, spacious, comfortable and filled will all the amenities you need. For those staying for longer periods (or with families), the full kitchen (refrigerator, burners, etc.) is a big plus, and for those traveling in the dead of sumer, the cold air conditioning is superb. As far as the hotel grounds, the courtyard is beautiful and relaxing, the pool is the perfect cool escape after an afternoon in the sand and sun, and the rooftop deck has a great view and a hot tub (if you can stand the heat). In summary, a wonderful place to enjoy the beauty of PDC!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Our fully equipped units are a huge convenience for all of our guests. well even stock the refrigerators for our guests before or during arrival , offer private chef services and more.. the 2 and 3 bedroom units are perfect for families..

All units have central air-conditioning for cold comfort..,Glad you enjoyed.. see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
599 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing