We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful complex - But beware of #2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Ranked #141 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful complex - But beware of #2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

This is an absolutely beautiful condo complex. The landscaping and pool are well maintained and create a very tranquil environment. The pool is small, but is great for lounging and is terrific for small children.

We originally booked Unit #9. The owner was terrific to deal with and her condo is truly first rate. It is decorated beautifully, has a great balcony, and contains many DVDs, books, beach toys, etc.

After our first day there, we met the couple who was staying in Unit 2. They had booked Unit 9 for their first week in Playa and had loved it. They had to move to Unit 2 for their second week because we had had already reserved Unit 9 for that period of time. Unit 9 is a one bedroom on the second floor and Unit 2 is a two bedroom on the first floor. The couple loved Unit 9 so much that they offered to trade rooms with us. Because we were traveling with small children, we agreed to the trade because Unit 2 is much more utilitarian in nature (although very nice) and because it would give us an additional bedroom for the kids instead of them sleeping on the huge sofa in Unit 9.

I can see why Unit 9 would be better for a couple. It is well decorated and has a romantic ambience to it. Unit 2 was great, but is not nearly as well appointed as Unit 9.

We enjoyed our stay tremendously and checked out at the same time as the other couple. The property manager inspected both rooms upon our leaving and found everything to be in order. When we returned home, the owner of Unit 9 promptly refunded our security deposit. I later learned from her that the owner of Unit 2 was refusing to refund the security deposit of the couple that we traded with. Not because of any problem with the condo or the rental terms, but merely because they had traded. Basically, he was banking on a technicality and refused to refund their deposit for that reason only. The owner of Unit 9 graciously returned the couple's deposit to them because she is an honest, responsible owner that understand the value of repeat business. The owner of Unit 2, however, appears not be as scrupulous. While Unit 2 was nice, I would not recommend that anyone who books it be very careful in dealing with this owner.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

My husband and I just returned from a week at Villas Sacbe. We stayed in Villa 1 and overall were happy with the condo. The location is perfect...a short walk to the beach and into Playa. The condo development itself was very quiet however, our unit was street side and quite noisy at night (motorcycles, horns, music). Some things the condo lacked were chairs on the "patio", an actual couch to sit on (it looked like a Viking ship and was not usable) and chairs in the kitchen to eat at the counter. The pool was not something we would sit by and in fact we never saw anyone there. Despite some complaints, we had a wonderful time. We would stay at Villas Sacbe again but in a different unit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Outside noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

My wife & I stayed here for 2 weeks in November 2006.
We had no problems booking on line, very friendly, helpful staff, always there if we needed anything. Close to everything, a block from the beach & the Parrot and then a block the other way from the clubs, shops & resturants of 5th Ave. Quiet, secure (keyed gate entrance from street), clean, beautiful as you see it in the pictures, that's the way it is. We stayed in 10, top unit full kitchen , stand-up shower, king bed, A/C, safe, private gated jaccuzi on the roof & beautiful deck to sit out and relax if you wanted to. I can't wait to go back again and stay there.

  • Liked — location & dining
  • Disliked — it was all good.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GTHPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

This property was such a gem to find. We stayed in Playa for one week in November and everything about the Villas was lovely. We stayed in Villa #9 and it was filled with all the amenties we could ask for. Full kitchen, patio, and the cleaning staff was great! The Front Desk Manager, Fernando, was the greatest host! Very friendly with lots of suggestions. He made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymanseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2007

My husband and I and another couple stayed at Villa Sacbe in February
for 10 days. From the moment we stepped out of the airport to our waiting shuttle it was a perfect trip. Fernando checked us in and gave us a map to the city with fantastic recommendations on food, water activities and nightlife. We couldn't have been more impressed with the service we received. I work in the Hospitality industry and I saw nothing less then true hospitality. Paulina was our maid and she did a wonderful job of cleaning the condo each morning. The outside patio was nice in the evening and our neighbors came to visit. We also enjoyed the fact that when we walked out of the front gate you were in the heart of all that Playa had to offer,1 block from 5th Ave and 1 block from the beach. I would highly recommend these accommodations to anyone traveling to Playa! We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — Clean!
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2007

My husband and I stayed in villa 12 the first week of January and had a great time. The villa was well equipped with everything we needed. We walked up the street to Super Walmart to get groceries one day. It was a long walk, but worth the money we saved. We were also able to purchase our tequila and wine there. It was nice be be able to make our own meals when we wanted to. The villas are centrally located to all the shops on 5th and easy access to the beaches. There is nightlife all around during the evening hours, but suprisingly the noise in minimal once you're inside your villa. We found the best beach to walk to was north on 1st ave, called Mamitas Beach Club. We hung out there a couple of days and rented a beach bed. It's a good beach location if you want to avoid the hotel tourists at Porto Real. Villa Sacbe is a great option if you like to be independent and live like the locals. You won't be surrounded by tourists or large families and your not sucked into an all inclusive deal where you have to eat gross hotel food. There are plenty of restaurants to try out on 5th avenue in all price ranges so be adventurous.

  • Liked — It's centrally located
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sljmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. pete fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2006

we stayed at villa sacbe for almost a week. the location is excellent being within a short walk to any place on fifth ave. villa one is decorated beautifully. again i mention this location being very convenient. we would certainly stay at villa sacbe again.

aug 19,2006-st. pete, fl

Helpful?
1 Thank fltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#148 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#25 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#149 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club

Property: Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Address: 1a. Avenida # 4, Entre 12 Y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sacbe Luxury Condo Hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen. 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condos and penthouses with rooftop ocean views and plunge pools. Tropical courtyard and Pool, underground parking and 1 block from the Playa del Carmen Beaches. Offering all the services of a hotel, including maid service and concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel And Beach Club Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing