We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba in Cozumel”
Review of Aqua Excursions

Aqua Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Underwater Maya Snorkeling Tour
More Info
US$209.00*
and up
2 Tank Dive at a Mayan Cenote
More Info
US$229.00*
and up
2 Tank Dive in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer snorkeling and scuba diving activities for all levels, from beginners to very well experienced divers. We are located at several resorts along the Riviera Maya, among which: Palladium and Grand Sirenis, Viva Maya & Azteca in Playacar, hotel zone in Playa del Carmen, and The Royal and Gran Porto resorts, right in the heart of downtown Playa. Come and join us! We are already looking forward to introducing you to our nice and friendly mexican team!!
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got back from an amazing holiday at Grand Sirenis and the highlight was our trip with you guys. From start to finish it was an amazing day spent with my 14 year old son that we will never forget.
Fernando did an amazing job of putting us at ease as new divers. Both dives were unbelievably awesome. We saw stingray, toadfish, angels, parrot and barracuda my son and I had the most wonderful day.
Lunch at the Blue Angel was lovely and as the dives were done gave plenty of time to have a couple of beers with a view.
A big thank you to Federico the photographer who captured some outstanding images at what I considered to be a very reasonable price compared to what the try to change for dolphin experience photos in resort.
I was very pleased with the whole experience. Also a big thank you to Jorge for talking us into it.

Thank 5walkersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaEx, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aqua Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hola 5walkersabroad!
We are very happy that as new divers you decided to give diving a go here in the Riviera! And we are so glad that you liked it so much and were able to take good memories home with the good eye of Federico!
We will definitely be very happy to see you back again ver soon. Thank you for coming to dive with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would like to thank the staff at the beach (Jose and friends ) they set me up for a great fishing trip.We got to the boat at 9 and were fishing by 9:15 hooked up with 2 barracuda right away and a fish that looked like a mackeral.Things slowed down so the mate tried everything and bam black fin tuna on,good fight.Then it got real slow for about an hour and a half and then fish on,this time a sail fish and then another about 10 min. later and we are fighting two fish at the same time.The captain and mate doing everything they could to land these fish for us and they did.Great time these guys work hard so don't forget to tip!!!

Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaEx, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aqua Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hola Ron!
We are very happy that you had so much fun and that you caught so many fish! Im sure it was a good fight! Our captains and crew certainly have a 6th sense that helps them find where to catch the good ones! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We did the under water excursion with swimming with turtles and in the cenotes. Manny was our tour guide for the day and he was AWESOME. One of the best I've ever had in my life. He speaks fluent English and Spanish which was perfect!

He picked us right up at our hotel in the morning, then we went to snorkel with the fish and the turtles. It was an amazing experience and I wouldn't have traded it for the world. We got to see 4 different turtles and all kinds of fish. We did this for about an hour.

After snorkeling, we took about a 20 minute drive to swim in the caverns. It was so cool! The water is freezing so just jump right in, don't bother walking. You'll be swimming with catfish which was fun. You have all your snorkel gear on so it's fun to explore everything. This was also about an hour.

Then we went to have lunch and on our walk there we were able to see rescued animals like spider monkeys, deer, alligators an birds.

The lunch was really good. They can easily accommodate pescatarians with fish and vegetarians with cheese quesadillas. Sorry if you're vegan, not sure what they could make!

Then Manny took us right back to our hotel. He really was phenomenal and we had a great time with him!!

There is a professional photographer who takes pictures as you go, which is awesome($60 if you want the pictures), although I highly recommend buying a high quality under water camera.

Buy biodegradable sunscreen that you can wear in the water. Regular sunscreen is harmful to the fish and you're not allowed to wear it. Or, you can just put your sunscreen on before you leave your hotel and that should be enough time for your skin to absorb it.

This tour is not recommended for adults who cannot swim well or small children. We had a woman in our group who said she had basic swimming skills but actually couldn't swim and she had two small children. It was hard for them to partake in the activities like the rest of the people but Manny accommodated them well!

-Jillian

Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaEx, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aqua Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hola Jillian!
You are right! you have to jump in without hesitation into the cavern waters! But that's with everything in life, you have the best ime and fun when you just jump in!
We are very happy to read that you had such a great time and that you were in really good hands with Emmanuel! He is very good indeed!
Thank you very much for coming and for writing the review. We really appreciate it! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter and I booked a trip through the Aqua Excursions staff at the Gran Porto Real, thank you Victor for your assistance throughout the week. We booked the excursion to Akumal to snorkel and view the sea turtles. Our guide Emmanuel was very informative, sensitive to the environment and to all the individuals on the tour. Emmanuel's knowledge of the area and passion for what his does is very evident and it leads to a remarkable experience for the guest. Snorkeling with the turtles, rays, fish, squid and corral reef was stunning and a fond memory my daughter and I will always share. At the conclusion of snorkeling to Akumal we then went to Akten Chen to snorkel in the cenote, another stunning natural phenomenon. The crystal clear water within this cave was refreshing as we snorkeled through the waters. We concluded with a great lunch at Akten Chen's restaurant, the fish was excellent! I want to personally thank you for a great day and for the priceless experience and memories. We would highly recommend Emmanual and Aqua Excursions and will absolutely utilize both when we return.

Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaEx, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aqua Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hola Ken!
We are very happy that we met your expectations and that you and your daughter left with really good memories. Emmanuel puts a great effort on what he does, yet being nice and sharing what he knows with the rest of the group comes up naturally for him! We are glad you enjoyed every minute of the tour.
Thank you very much and we certainly be waiting for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just back from The Grand Sirenis and we used Aqua Excursions for the Turtle snorkel trip which was great. We were impressed by all of the team, their friendliness and enthusiasm, so despite a few nerves, my son daughter and I signed up for the dive experience. We were so glad we did. Everything ran smoothly, Carlos, Frederico and the team are just so professional and safety conscious, they really look after you and ensure you get it. We had 48 minutes under the ocean and it was fantastic. My son went on to complete the Scuba Certification. Now hooked on scuba, can't wait until Thailand in October.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo S, General Manager at Aqua Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review,we are very happy to hear you had a great time and it is woderfull to know that w have a new certified member in the PADI family,we hope to see you again soon for more diving adventures.
Greetings from all the AQUA EXCURSIONS family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Excursions also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aqua Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing