We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nightmare !”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #9 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Tried to take a relaxing warm bath in the tub and got contaminated water !!!
Called front desk, they sent no one from maintenance, refused to give me another room ... Awful service, rude staff
Not even a 2 star hotel !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RobSada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, General Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Mr. RobSada,

I am sorry to read your comment and finding out that your stay with us was damaged by your experience with the bathtub and stained water in your room. We will review the situation internally with the hotel’s leadership team and take the corrective measures where appropriate to avoid the situation to repeat itself.
Please do not hesitate to contact my office to in advance to your next visit to the Riviera Maya in order to make your stay a more memorable one.

Best regards,

Sven-Erik Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,706 - 2,712 of 4,493 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our third family vacation spent at the Fairmont Mayakoba. This was the first time in the summer months, however. All of the best aspects of the property remained - raw natural beauty, excellent service, great food and a warm, inviting staff.

There were a couple of noticible differences from our experiences in our past winter vacations. I would estimate that 90% of the guests were domestic travellers enjoying Mexican summer vacation versus vacationers from Canada, the United States and Europe. The second change from our past experience was the addition of Jet Ski's being privately rented at the beach area. There were several occasions over the course of the week where riders were driving dangerously close to the swimmers and creating unwelcome noise.

Other than one special meal at Saffron, at the Fairmont's sister property Banyan Tree, we ate all of our meals at the beachside restaurant, Las Brisas. The food quality at Las Brisas has been elevated significantly since our last visit to the property.

My son and I enjoyed playing two rounds of golf at El Camaleon on the resort. It was in excellent shape and a real value for a PGA golf course.

Out of all the staff who made our vacation such a success, we would like to single out Claudia, Luis and Israel at Las Brisas and Isael, one of the bellmen. They are all exceptional ambassadors of the property and their country!

Room Tip: Casitas are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4u2sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What an amazing hotel is this, look no further. This hotel is truly a 5 star property, beautiful natural landscape, fantastic rooms, stunning beach and pools, excellent service. can you ask for more?
I would strongly suggest to stay by the beach casitas, this is a whole different experience, worth every penny.
Yes the food is not cheap, but the quality is outstanding, if you are on a tight budget maybe you'll be dissapointed, but you definetely get what you pay.
In short words one of the best hotels Ive ever stayed in my life, if not the best.

Room Tip: Room 909, right by the beach, only a few steps fron the sea. Only room in this location without a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

There are some many unpleasant things that I don’t even know where to start. I even ask myself if I was at the same hotel that other guests describe as excellent with great service and some other great complements that I never found.
1) Checking in: My wife and two kids ( 5 & 3 ) specifically planned to arrive to the premises at 3PM to avoid the possibility of our room not being available, but surprise when we were told that it was not ready and we needed to wait for at least 40 mins. Such response was unacceptable and after 15 mins hearing “let me check”, we asked for the manager. To our dismay, we were told that all hotels checking time is “between” 3 and 4 even though their own info clearly says 3PM, not a window of time. What made it even more frustrating is the clerk and manager’s attitude of almost take it or leave it. 40 mins passed and demanded some kind of compensation, and all we got was a set of drinks, chicken fingers for the kids and a ceviche. We made it to our room close to 5:30PM.
Let alone that they have a random or selective greeting method, because we were never offered refreshing towels or drinks upon arrival and waiting in line.

2) Service or better said, lack of it everywhere: A few examples, next day of our arrival, we went to the pool, asked for an umbrella and we were told none were available, a few minutes later another family arrived, asked someone else for an umbrella and guess what. They got it!!!!
Restaurant La Laguna: We head out for dinner and it took more than 30 mins to have a table assigned, even though it was close to 9PM and no other guests were waiting for a table.

3) Billing: I was keeping a copy of all the restaurant charges and at the time of checking out, we noticed that consistently all Breakfast charges ( Restaurant Las Brisas ) were higher that I signed for. When asked why, we were told that some additional tip was added to all bills without we even knowing about it. We demanded to take them out.
Resort fee does NOT include internet access.
Prices across the board are complete out of touch, I am aware that if you decide to go to a world class hotel, you may end paying for it, but this places does not fit that criteria at all.

4) The only three highlights regarding service, were Oziel who was our captain for the 40 mins boat trip around the Mayakoba lake area, Eloy who is the bartender at the pool by La Laguna and all the golf cart drivers.

In summary, we got in there with the left foot ( room not being available ) and ended with the left foot ( altered bills without our knowledge ), so evidently I will not consider this place to go back ever.

An aspect that concerns me a bit more is that when you look for a Fairmont property, you expect to received great service at a great place; so I wonder if this terrible management is only local to this property or Fairmont as a whole if now just living off the previously earned reputation worldwide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Ravives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Ravives,
Thank you for providing us with such a detailed review of your visit.. We apologize that your experience while visiting our resort was less than perfect. In an effort to address your feedback, we will be sharing your comments and refreshing all of our colleagues on our standards of service. If you would like to further discuss the details of your visit, please feel free to reach me directly.
Sincerely,
Sven-Erik Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked relatively last minute, got a great deal, and went with friends for an easy week of sun, sand and mayan ruins. But the holiday was so much more than that. Because the hotel was such an incredible, wonderful indulgence. Usually, we're never the people who stay in the hotel day in, day out. We like to get out and about, see where we are. But this hotel was so amazing that we barely left. It had something for us all to enjoy - the beach, the pools, the boat ride, the bikes, the food, the golf, the cocktails... but be careful your bar bill doesn't get out of hand!. A real treat. Completely relaxing. The only slight niggle was the kids club - the one time the kids did go, they didn't really enjoy the activities much - but the staff were sweet and it did give the children a break from the sun. So, no problem for us, afterall it was a family holiday so we wanted to spend time together on the beach and by the pool. We stayed in a casita which was perfect: very comfortable and we all slept brilliantly on the glorious beds. Short walk to the pool, or hopped on a bike or a golf buggy to the beach. Just loved this place. Thanks to all the great staff at Mayakoba for a week we will never forget.
(ps - and if you do manage to leave the hotel head for the dolphin experience next to Xcaret - and swim with the dolphins. Or get a guide and go bonefishing on the beautiful flats a couple of hours away - both much enjoyed by our family).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2adults2kids1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear 2adults2kids1dog,
Muchas gracias for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Reading about wonderful experiences such as yours inspires us to continue providing first class facilities and warmth service. It seems that you enjoyed our “100 Days of Summer” program, which has daily activities for adults and children alike, however I will be sure share your comments with our Kids Club supervisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I don't know how they do it, but they do everything right! We were amazed with their service, and we are very hard to please travelers. The cleaness and good quality of services and food. They wanted to please us in everything. If you want to go to a beautiful place, with natural surroundings, relax and be treated like royalty, you have to go there. We are very pleased.

Room Tip: Signatures casitas are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YRRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is an update to my previous review for Fairmont Mayakoba on summer ’11. The main problem I pointed out by that time was solved: rooms now feature WI-FI access. The other issue has been addressed and the public transport system has more carts and is more efficient. Bycicles are still hard to get but the improvement on cart transport makes them unnecessary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexicatessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Ma...
#16 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £185 - £674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing