We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us!”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #13 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We staid at Fairmont Mayakoba recently to attend a wedding hosted there. We are not the big resort/hotel type so we didn't have massive expectations for the place but I admit it was worse that I imagined.
It's a big resort, you walk for ages to get anywhere and if - like us - you have a child it means most of the time will be spent going around the resort. Most rooms are quite a long way from the beach so lots of people go down early in the morning to leave towel on first row of sunbeds and then come back later on. When we got to the beach on the first morning at 9.30 most beds were already gone. The sand is nice (the very soft white and fine type) but the beach is so dirty - we found cigarettes buds, dirty glasses and finished bottles, straw, plastic etc. The sunbeds have seen better days, they are so old, color is fading and feels like they haven't been changed since the 80s. The sea is not brilliant for young kids, gets deep immediately and it's very rough so we couldn't swim for the entire time we were there. And there are speed boats going up and down which means you can smell petrol while you relax - awful!
Our room was on the ground floor in the Bamboo building - the decor has seen better days and the all thing smelled badly. It was so humid all our clothes were slightly damp when we left. Door knobs were breaking, the room phone was so dated it made me laugh.
Restaurants have all options you might want but it's not real Mexican food as you can imagine. Prices are insane - $70 for a breakfast for 2. You get charged for everything - even getting baby bottle washed costed $5.
Yes, you have everything you might need but it makes no difference from being in any resort in Florida - there is no real Mexican feeling/food/environment. The resort operates like a big machine - any request that slightly differs from the standard request set them in panic. They couldn't accommodate our request of 1 additional hour for check out and then they didn't collect our cases from the room way past that additional hour. You have to pay for WIFI (really??? 5 stars resort? We staid in Tulum in a very basic place before and we had very good and FREE WIFI) and it doesn't work well anyway (and it;s available only in rooms and lobby). Definitely didn't do it for us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank spostatialondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear spostatialondra,

It is with disappointment that I read your experience with us was less than perfect and for that I apologize. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience to all of our guests. Please note that there is a plan in place to start remodeling the rooms, out of the 401 almost 200 have been renovated, it is unfortunate that you did not get to experience its new look & feel. I would be happy to review in more details the service opportunities that you feel are not properly answer by the staff as to take inmediate action, for that I ask you to please email me further communication at paulina.feltrin@fairmont.com. It is the feedback of our guests that we learn from and use to improve.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I would be happy to make your reservation personally and see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,084)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Mayakoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,216 - 2,222 of 4,087 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our sons wedding....the most perfect destination ever. The resort was impeccable, the staff friendly and very competent. Everyone seemed to genuinely care about their work, our comfort and happiness. I can't say enough about the orchestration of the wedding day, the location, flowers, food, music. It really was more than we ever expected. Thank you to everyone involved in making our trip so magical.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, but if you like a view choose a lagoon view or ocean view if money is no ob...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckendri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Muchas gracias mckendri for your wonderful comments about the hotel’s facilities and service; we are honored to have been chosen the location for your son’s wedding and being part of this special occasion for your family.
We look forward to welcome you all back at Fairmont Mayakoba.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba in April 2013. We found it to be very beautiful, and clean. The staff was very friendly! The concierge was most helpful with all of our requests. Transportation and tours were top notch. We highly recommend the boat tour of the property to everyone, as this was one of the highlights for the whole family (ages 4 - 69). Maritours (travel agency on premises) arranged a half day tour of Tulum with an outstanding private tour guide who was very knowledgeable, and accommodating to our family's needs.
We gave this resort a 4 instead of 5 because even considering typical resort food and drink prices, we found it to be excessively expensive. The restaurants catered to a variety of "diets" (diabetic, vegetarian, macrobiotic, etc), so it was surprising that we were unable to get a dessert for our son that did not include dairy or nuts (suggestions would be popsicles, sorbet, allergen free cookies).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyFun2012_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear FamilyFun2012_08,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba. Muchas gracias your compliments to the staff, particularly the concierge and our Tatich-ha who provide a memorable bout tour, we do believe everyone should experience it while on property, so thank you for recommending it. It is also nice to know that you took time to explore Riviera Maya and enjoyed an outstanding tour to Tulum.
On the other hand, your comments regarding the food and beverage prices and reduced selection of dessert options without nuts and dairy will be shared with the F&B division for a closer analysis as all comments of our guests are valued and considered.
We hope to welcome you back at Fairmont Mayakoba on your next visit to Mexico.

Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Resort is big and beautiful, with lush greenery and wildlife: iguanas, tropical birds, baby alligators, reptiles .There are several pools with enough chairs and space, The resort even if it is full it never felt crowded. The private beach is magnificent and very large. Very good for swimming.

We stayed not in casitas but in the building next to Reception. Excellent and spacious with nice oversized bathroom, tub and rain shower. Amenities like press coffee & refrigerator. The beach was 10 minutes walking thru de greenery and the lagoons or 5’ by car or bicycle
Service was excellent and every staff was nice. Ever staff greeted us with a "hola" and never walked by without a smile or greeting. The carts were convenient and fast. We never waited more than 5 minutes in one place. They always ask you if you need a ride and if they're going the opposite way, they call another cart for you. The drivers are very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main buiding don't have view, only the ones in the last floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fpoegea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We just returned from 6 days at the Fairmont Mayakoba. The resort is beautiful, the golf course well maintained but most of all the service was exceptional! We entertained 40 costumers and everyone said they would definitely return to this resort. Much of our relaxing time was spent around the pool at the swim up pool bar. Jaun and Jeronimo could not have done more to make sure we had a great time! Their service to all costumers was extraordinary, wanting to be sure everyone was having a great time. We will be returning to this resort again!

Room Tip: We had a casita suite and it was exceptional
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

love this hotel is an amazing property surrounded by natural lagoons, lots of trees and an amazing beach! food is excellent the breakfast buffet left me with my mouth wide open it is first class food, no need to go out to other restaurtants. prices are very very expensive. but love the fact that you can move around the premisses in bikes that are all along the property, by boat , by golf cart or just walking. love love the cleanness , the service and the variaty of pools. cons is that in the pool area there is no music, and it can feel a little lonely.

Room Tip: i purschased it through priceline for a significant lower price.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3ninas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear momof3ninas,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor, we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Thank you especially for your comments regarding the culinary offerings, we agree with you that there is no need to go out of the hotel and miss the opportunity to try our restaurants, particularly the sustainable menus with local flavor.
We look forward to welcome you again to the Venice of the Caribbean.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful golf course. A different hotel than you would expect for a beach hotel, since its more of a wild life eco. They only have a small beach club, but if you are not a beach bum, the hotel is very beautiful. The canal trip was wonderful as their staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosiomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Cosiomd,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed not only our eco chic ambiance, but you also got to play at El Camaleon. Thank you for your comments on the facilities, the service and the water canals.

Please visit us back soon.

Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,109 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,209 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £154 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing