We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Property for a Romantic although Pricey Vacation”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The property is lovely but the add on costs for food, internet, parking etc all make for a pricey vacation. The grounds are spectacular and the rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. But when I wanted a 1/2 can of ginger ale, I did not expect it to cost $6 US. The restaurants are very nice but again pricey. I really liked the "El Puerto" restaurant and the La Laguna area pool. The front desk should have a separate place to pay for valet parking since each time I wanted to leave, I had to wait for them to check in people when I just wanted to pay for parking. Parking was $7 per day...

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hola PacificLotsCostaRica:

Thank you for your feedback and for your good comments about the hotel’s facilities and service. As a luxury resort, we carefully select the best produce in town as to offer the refined culinary experience our guests expect from a resort such as ours. . Thank you also for sharing your impressions regarding our pricing which helps us as we put together our packages for the upcoming seasons.

Thank you again for your comments and look forward to your return in the future.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,339 - 2,345 of 4,279 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel has all the amenities and services you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
The disadvantage of the hotel is it's size. You have to walk everywhere miles. There are golf carts that run 24/7 and they take you anywhere you want but you have to wait for it. They should offer a cart per room (like casa de campo does). Then, you wouldn't have to wait for a cart.
It never was longer than 5 minutes, but once you wait in the heat it's not nice at all.
There were also 2 situations that showed a bit of lack of organization from the staff.
1st was when valet boy told me I took the car keys and he doesn't have them. I spent over an hour looking for the keys, which in the end were on the parking lot with the valet boy.
2nd when I asked every single day for late check out (as I was with a 4 month old baby) and I was assured that it won't be a problem. In the day of my check out, when I called them just to confirm, that my late check out is OK, they were quite surprised and told me it wasn't possible. After several phone calls they let us stay, but it created unnecessary stress.
But in general hotel is really nice. Cleaning service is spectacular. Also restaurant Las Brisas was very good. And breakfast buffet in Laguna was excellent.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more and staying in "casitas".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear HannaN4,
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It is nice to read that overall your experience was a good one, however I do apologize for the inconveniences you experiences. Please note I have stressed our process with the bell staff and the front desk so that this kind of miscommunication is eradicated.
On the same note, your compliments on the cleanliness of the rooms and menu at Las Brisas, has been shared with the appropriated departments as to extend your appreciation.
We hope to welcome you back to the “Venice of Mexico” on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at one of the casitas and it was wonderful. I was very impressed with the service - I travelled with an older person with limited mobility and they went out of their way to help us move around the big property. The rooms are spacious and really nice, very comfortable. They have bikes that can be picked up in stations and dropped off anywhere.
We had the breakfast buffet every day and it was good; my only bad experience was with lunch at the restaurant by the pool: the service was just simply non-existent (wait staff was MIA).

The hotel is close to Playa del Carmen (15 min car ride) and 40-45 minutes away from the water parks.
I'd come back to have a relaxing long weekend; it was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A word to describe this hotel is grandiose...I was astonished at the lavish floors, furniture, ceilings, and decoration. And it really gave me a sense of "I'm in Mexico and nowhere else." The property is quite expansive featuring small roads throughout the hotel. Transportation in the hotel is by golf cart and bikes. The golf carts pass every 10-15 minutes, but sometimes a little longer depending on the time. The bikes are offered free to guests and can be picked up at several stations around the hotel and dropped off just as easily. The beach left much to be desired, the tide was high, it's rocky, and swimming was considered to be very risky and dangerous. The beach didn't give me the feel of the crystal blue waters in the Yucatan Peninsula.

The restaurant La Laguna features quite an array of dishes for breakfast. This was the only time I ate there. It was very good. The Las Brisas restaurant was also very good. Many regional dishes all with a touch of identity by each chef.

The room was big. Bigger than I would have liked to pay for. I would have opted for something smaller if they had it. The bathroom was bigger than most I've seen in a long time. It offers a great deal of amenities and there is little that you're left wanting.

I didn't like that the balcony was small due to the fact that I am a smoker. It was windy, and the only spot one could watch the television from was the door so smoke and ashes were blowing into my room making it smell bad. I also did not like the prices of everything. These resorts really take advantage of their customers. There isn't even an ATM on the property and all ATMs along the road suffer from bad internet service. So getting cash is a real big problem at this resort. It also makes one feel like the experience is being forced onto you. Taxi's are cash only, and no ATM on the property? Somebody isn't doing their job right.

Overall I give this resort a good rating, the service is good and the hotel is very luxurious. The prices are high, and moving around the hotel can get annoying, but overall a very pretty place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to take enough essentials to last the trip because the stores on property are absurdly hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexfganem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear alexfganem1,

Thank you for describing Fairmont Mayakoba as grandiose and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the cuisine offered at La Laguna and Las Brisas restaurants, our chefs work diligently to offer menus with the true flavors of Mexico and the Yucatan.
We look forward to welcome you back to Riviera Maya.

Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we went to El Puerto on May 2013, we were 4 people. arriving to this luxury hotel/restaurant we've seen the surrounding park, everything was s beautiful, you really feel the luxury f the place.
we spent a wonderful dinner in El Puerto. the New Chef Diego Stefan suggested us "the chef special"... delicious!!!! I absolutely and strngly suggest t have a dinner/lunch here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank giramondo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Our family had stayed at this resort for 4 nights in Casista, overall we loved the resort. I would recommend who are traveling with kids.

My son 3 years old loved the cart shuttle and rode on it every single time we had to move within the resort (there is a golf cart shuttles around the property) and we did not have to wait for it for more than 5 minutes. They seem to be available from very early in the morning to late in the night. We had many great staff who drove us throughtout the property, especially Christopher, he went an extra step to explain about the resort and even told us great spots to take pictures.

Prior to arriving at the resort I read one reviewer who wrote that you never feel the resort is filled with people and I had to agree very much about it. When I am in the restaurant / pool / beach area you never feel you are overwhelmed with people. My wife and I were sometimes asking ourselves where are every one.

We had tried all three restaurants and our favorite was La Laguna, it is right next to the main pool so we could just walk up to it after swimming and our server was Ivan everytime we went there. We really appreciated his service he would remember our name and direct us with the name. One thing that we loved at the Fairmont is kids eat and drink for free. There is a kids menu available in all restaurants same menu there are about 10 different items to chose from (pizza, quesadillas, steaks, chicken fingers etc).

Before arriving to the hotel, even I read the reviews and surf around the website I could not really picture myself with the resorts and the amenities but during our check in Abdali made it very easy for us to understand all different areas of the resort and the amenities. We asked many questions and he answered all.

On the last day of our stay we walked around the Mayakoba natural trail which was vey beautiful and awesome but there were strong mosquitos who would not stop biting us make sure you wear proper dress when walking the trail.

Overall our vacation was awesome and would love to comeback to this hotel.
Thank you Fairmont Mayakoba and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimhd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear kimhd02,
Thank you for your wonderful comments; it is with a big smile that I read your stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba was a pleasant one and that Christopher, Ivan and Amauri were of much assistance during your vacations.

We look forward to welcome you back!
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4nights at Casita room. The overall experience was great, especially the staff.

We tried all restaurants in the resort. In our opinion, the best one is the one by the beach. It looks good & taste good.
Buffet Breakfast by the pool is also amazing. There are huge selections of food, juices, fruits. And the price is around 25$ (cheaper than inroom dining).

What we liked the most was the complimentary boat tour around Mayakoba property. The guide explained about how the resort was built and the ecology in this area. We saw many wildlives (crocodile, birds, fishes, local raccoon, iguana), fossils, and underwater river. The tour is free, but the seat is limited, so you should reserve the tour asap.

One tip for the traveller: Do not exchange the money at Cancun airport. The rate is very bad. We got 9.5peso/1$ at the airport, while Fairmont rate is 12.3peso/1$. You can also use US dollar everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamu_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,325 reviews
9.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,439 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £189 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing