We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hernando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is situated away from any hustle and bustle. We were, therefore, able to completely relax in the facilities. A bit distant from a town...Playa del Carmen is a $23 taxi ride. But the Fairmont is magnificent and the staff exceptional. If you want a peaceful setting with great pools, beach, restaurants, spa this is the place. Didn't play golf, but the course looks great. The cart and boat shuttles are actually a lot of fun. The carts are always there for a ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,844
    576
    175
    96
    53
See reviews for
1,357
1,356
51
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best Choice I made this year for our family vacation. The staff was very attentive and service was spot on. Only one complaint and not that big of a deal was the sushi on my last night was quite bad but the rest of the food in the hotel was amazing. All in all the stay here was very good and makes me just want to plan another vacation here again in the near future

Room Tip: Get the river front siesta deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just got back from Fairmont Mayakoba. Our experience was outstanding. The customer service was excellent. Every employee went out of their way to accommodate our requests. The property is unique and very beautiful. We stayed in a beach area casita suite. The room was nice but the two decks made the room special. The back deck looked out over the lagoon, while the rooftop deck had its own pool and a view of the ocean. We didn't want to leave our room. The beach is nice and we didn't have a problem getting chairs. Some of the food was very good and some of it was average. Overall we had a great time at this unique property. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel and amazing staff. We will definitely be back. Great food. Boat tour was great. Beach was clean and beautiful and water was warm. Tennis courts were perfect and they have a paddle ball court too. Pools were awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family just returned from the Fairmont Mayakoba - the whole expedience was EXCELLENT! The entire resort is seamless with the surroundings. It is a beautiful combination of nature and luxury. When we arrived they had fruit juice tea and cool towels at check in. We were escorted to our beautiful casita room(s) that overlooked the lagoon. We had rooms 157/159 that were located between the lobby building, spa and the main pool. Terrific location! The neatest thing about the resort is the walking paths - but you do not have to walk - because they have shuttles that come by every few minutes. My children especially like the BMW bicycles that you can "borrow" and they even had smaller bikes that we could check out (for free) for our 9 year old. There are wonderful grass tennis courts and a world class golf course. Our family took advantage of the "sizzling summer special" that afforded us a $100 F&B credit per room. Please note that although the food is delicious (children, gluten free, diabetic, vegetarian and vegan menus available) it is pricey. Our favorite restaurant was the La Laguna, which was more casual - they even had big screen TVs set up to watch the Wold Cup games. The staff is AMAZING! My daughter brought no less than 20 stuffed animals on this trip - each night our housekeeper (Ana) artfully arranged them on the beds. By the way, the pillows are heavenly! Take advantage of the free boat ride around the resort - well worth the 30-40 minutes to see the environment and the wildlife. They also have kayaks and a catamaran that you can reserve. My teen-aged daughter said that this trip was better than NYC and Italy. We will make plans to go back!

Room Tip: Casitas overlooking the lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, Ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

So spread out/large they have small electric shuttles to take you around. Beautiful, but didn't like the hike (or waiting for the shuttle) to use facilities/reach the beach.
The main issue we had was that the pools and beach/pool bar close around 6pm which I find absurd.

The pillows were so big and hard I had to use my robe as a pillow vs waking up with a neck ache.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Tara K,

Thank you for your comments. On your next visit, we recommend you let us know about your preferences (for example, the type of pillow you like) so we can make ensure you are comfortable throughout your stay. Also, if you join our loyalty program Fairmont President’s Club, you can setup an online profile with all your preferences, so each and every time you visit one of our properties, you will receive an enhanced level of personalized service according to your specific preferences.

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 nights for a work conference. The entire resort was only my husband's company so I don't know how the resort would be otherwise. We found the grounds to be beautiful and very manicured. One negative was there was a lot of iguana poop on the sidewalks. The staff was so friendly and respectful. Our room was nice but quite dark- 1st floor standard room in building 4000. Also because of the climate everything is very damp feeling. We had a hard time regulating the temperature in our room- between too cold and sweating. The indoor areas are air conditioned but the halls are open-air. Don't bother doing your hair here- the minute you walk out of your room it's 90% humidity! And quite hot.
Pool areas are very nice, we didn't spend much time on the beach but it is beautiful and long (but not very wide). The hotel had buffets for breakfast and lunch at La Laguna and Las Brisas for our group and they were nicely done overall. Dinners were large organized events and seemed very well-executed. The front desk staff was super helpful. I don't know if we would return because we like to explore new places...but it is a beautiful resort with great service.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room near the lobby on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear nfowife,

Thank you for your feedback. We read all the comments our guests share in all public forums, we sincerely appreciate the positive comments and also those suggestions that allow us to continue offering services and facilities that surpass our guests’ expectations.

I have discussed with our Maintenance Manager your feedback regarding the paths.

We hope you visit us again in the future and hopefully then you will have time to enjoy the beach –and perhaps the complimentary watersports we offer at the hotel-

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,992 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,641 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,725 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing