We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service was the cherry on top!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #7 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The service was the cherry on top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

The Fairmont Mayakoba is a beautiful sprawling modern resort. It truly makes a great impression upon seeing it. It is really not as big as it seems at first. We found it very easy to get around. Lots of modern pools to go around and they all provided a nice ambiance. But what really stood above all was the wonderful service we encountered from everyone there.

We stayed in a Signature Casita in the 300 block and it was simply gorgeous. Our huge terrace overlooked the canals and it was so nice to go out there in the morning. The bedroom was great, so big and clean. The bed was super comfy as well as the pillows.

We ate at all the restaurants except El Puerto and we even had service at the pool and lounge (delicious sushi). The food was pretty good and the prices very reasonable. The service provided by everyone who served us was magnificent. There is nothing to complain about there.

We also rented a car at the Hertz on the property and drove down to Tulum. I would highly recommend it. You also do not pay overnight valet at the Fairmont if you rent from the Hertz on site.

There was nothing that was too big or too small for the staff to accommodate. They were great! Always with a smile, super polite and they remembered your name.

I would definitely stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba next time I visit the Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,627
    543
    166
    93
    51
See reviews for
1,239
1,269
48
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

My family and I just returned from a family vacation in Playa del Carmen, leaving the marvelous Fairmont Mayakoba far too early.

Overview: Consistent with other reviews, this is a large property both in rooms (400) and acreage. It appears about 1/2 the rooms are in a 4-story hotel building, and the other half in 2-story casita buildings occupying 4-6 rooms each. Although we booked a standard Fairmont Room, as a Fairmont President's Club member, we were given an upgrade to a deluxe Casita room which was on the 2nd floor of our Casita building.

Room: We had a room with 2 Queen beds which easily accomodated our party of 2 adults and 2 children (both under 10). It was a 5-star room in every way with luxury linens, feather pillows, dual closets, dual bathroom sinks, large soaking tub and large separate rain shower. The toilet also has its own privacy closure.

Housekeeping: As experienced travelers, we have gotten into the habit of calling for housekeeping service when we leave the room for the pool or out to dinner. Housekeeping was "PERFECT" in every regards, with our room always spotless upon returning, and a message on our phone from a Royal Service coordinator insuring that the request had been met. We even once had to have housekeeping change the linens at 2 am due to a sick child -- they were in our room within 10 minutes, quietly taking care of our problem. Special note: there is 24-hour urgent care available from a doctor at the property.

Pool/Beach: The main pool area in the "Laguna" section of the hotel is quite expansive. Multiple bar set-ups, a separate and heated children's pool, water slide (maybe about 30 meters long) . A separate "adults only" pool section was closed during our stay for maintenance -- it appears they were rebuilding a trellis shade structure. The weather during our stay was quite rainy, so we did not utilize the pool wait staff during our stay. The beach was clean with lots of beach lounge chairs, and palapa structures every 30 feet or so for those that wanted more shade. The surf was very calm on our arrival day, similar to the Kahala in Hawaii for readers who are familiar with that property, but for the rest of the stay, red flags were raised and the surf was quite strong -- 3-4 foot waves crashing a the shore. The lifeguards said that this was the exception, not the rule.

Dining: Breakfast buffet at "La Laguna" was everything you expect in a highly rated resort -- Chafing dishes of breakfast meats, pancakes, mexican specialties, a cold buffet of meats, cheeses, and smoked salmon, baskets of house-made pastries, and a cooked-to-order station for omelets, waffles, soppapillas, and eggs. Breakfast buffet was 290 pesos, so just over $20US while we were there. Children 6-12 are 200 pesos, but they only charged us for our one child who was 9.

We had dinner at La Laguna which is mostly Mexican Specialties and seafood -- nothing bad, just nothing too memorable. The other dinner we had on property was at El Puerto. This is the "steak/seafood" restaurant on the property, dinner only, and their 2nd best restaurant. Dinner was an unexpected surprise -- service was outstanding, special orders such as a split Caesar Salad (not on menu) was handled without fuss, as was a side of sauted Spinach (we didn't want the Creamed Spinach. The waiters were quite food knowledgeable, always addressed us by name, and created a terrific evening.

We did not have dinner at the 4-Star Las Brisas Restaurant, which is located by the ocean. On another note, we did have dinner at Casa del Lago at the neighboring Rosewood Property. This is very fine dining with a dress code, and the meal was again, fantastic and ran under $200 for the four of us, including wine.

Entertainment: Even though the property was maybe 30% full prior to the weekend, and maybe 60% full during the weekend, the Fairmont did not cut back any of the entertainment in the dining outlets. Evening entertainment in the lobby bar, and local guitar and precussion (marimba) in the La Laguna for breakfast. Music was everywhere and was a terrific surprise.

Gym: $10 per person usage fee (waived if Presidents Club member). Standard eliptical, treadmill, weigh machine set-up. Separate yoga/pilates room. Plenty of towels, bottled water, free use of head phones, and televisions on each of the aerobic equipment.

It is hard not to rate the Fairmont Mayakoba a 5-star property, Yes, it is geared towards a corporate crowd, but from a facilities and service standpoint, it hit on all cylinders for us during our stay and compares favorably to other beach resorts we have stayed at including the JW Marriott Cancun, Four Season Great Exuma, the Grand Wailea in Maui. I would still rate the Four Seasons Wailea as the top beach resort we have stayed at in the last 4-years. We would not hesitate in a second to return.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Henny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We just returned from the Fairmont Mayakoba after a wonderful stay with our four year old boy. Everything was great (except for weather) Service was exceptional. We stayed in a casita by the beach and it was a long hall back to the kids pool / lobby, etc.
The next time I go I will either stay in a fairmont room in the main building or a suite because the upgrade to a casita was not worth it. the food at la puerta in the lobby was excellent but the other restaraunts were average ( we did not eat at the fine dining restrnt Las Brisas). Ate at the neighboring Rosewood twice and it was excellent. I will stay at the Rosewood if I go back without my son, but for kids I think Fairmont much better option. Recomend renting a car and eating in Playa del Carmen a few nights. We ate at John Grays, ristorante di bruno, and divino and all three were great. Golf at El Cameleon was great so if you golf bring your clubs because rental charge is high and balls are very expensive. Only complaint I have is that I felt the staff should spend more time cleaning up beach and pool area.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — could have more people cleaning poo ares and beach
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sox05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

First time travelling to Mexico although have been all over the world at many 5 star hotels. Picked this location to relax and chill with family. Picked this hotel because of "5 star rating".

Positives:
Quick unremarkable check in process
"Upgraded" to Deluxe casita (same as regular except on lagoon)
Hotel room was nice and clean with better than average bathrooms.
Beautiful grounds
Nice gym and spa
Very good buffet breakfast
Uncrowded


Negatives:
Average food and drinks
Expensive food and drinks
All 3 restaurants NOT open at times which limits your choices as to where to eat
Pools are not heated and are very cold
Distance to ocean
Multiple incorrect items on bill at check out
Too much construction going on around pool area that limited our ability to relax
Staff is friendly but not trained to 5 star standards

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

I have mixed feelings about this resort. It's lovely and I felt relaxed after staying there, but I wouldn't stay there again unless I got a 4-night package including airfare for $1000---which is what I paid this time.

The hotel is luxurious and beautiful, but there are just too many little kinks to justify paying more. First, as many other reviewers have mentioned, the beach is far away from most rooms. The only rooms right on the beach are expensive villas/suites. The logistic of getting to the beach isn't too bad. There was always a golf cart driven by a friendly staff member to get you around. But it was just weird---my room was 1 kilometer from the beach. I couldn't even hear the ocean at night or in the morning, which is one of my favorite things about staying at a beach resort. And the restaurant on the beach didn't open until noon. The beachfront pool area was just so-so; nowhere near as nice as the main pool area that was not on the beach. I understand the non-beach pool has to be supernice to make up for not being on the beach, but I don't understand why the beach pool has to be mediocre--it was just a straightforward infinity pool with white mesh chairs.

Second, the food was just ok. Some of the room service was downright awful.

Third, I saw a few bugs in the room --- nothing that bothered me much, mainly tiny spiders and silverfish, but worth noting for more squeamish people.

Fourth, I was outraged that they charged $10 to use the gym. It just makes you feel like you're getting bamboozled.

The good news is that the resort is beautiful. The golf cart ride to the beach is very scenic and relaxing. You're a 15-minute cab ride from Playa del Carmen proper (cheesy nightclubs, bars, etc.). The beach never got crowded so I didn't have to worry about taking that 1-kilometer golf cart ride only to not be able to find a good spot, although that may have been because of the recession. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. And, while the place was crawling with kids, there are enough nooks and crannies for them to entertain themselves so they don't overwhelm the place.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank NYCNYers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meags163
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

The staff was extremely nice. The room was clean and spacious. The beach and pools were beautiful. The food at the restaurant was great. Not too crowded and we were able to practice our spanish with the staff who were eager to practice with us. The hotel room was not right near the beach but it is an easy bike ride or you can hop on one of the golf carts. The hotel is about 40 minutes from Cancun and 10-15 from Playa del Carmen. Very convenient weekend getaway!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank meags163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami,fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

the hotel is very nice. the rooms are great and the staff is extremely nice, but that's it. There's so many details that are just not right and this is why i wouldn't consider it a 5 star hotel. First of all, when you check in, they tell you that they will be charging you $15 per person per day for hotel tips (these tips don't include the bell boy, room maintenance, and waiters). They don't tell you that they will be charging you this before you make the reservation and that's just not right. 2nd, if you want to use the gym, they charge you $10 extra a day, if you want to use the spa, they charge $15 a day. I've never been to a hotel where they charge extra for these amenities. 3rd, the beach is beautiful and private, but they don't have towel/bar service at the beach till 11am. so if you want an early start at the beach like around 9am, you got to setup everything yourself and bring your own water because there's no staff at that time. 4th, room service is soooooooo slow and they already include the tip in the bill, so that's probably why they take forever to get to you. The food is ok, nothing special, so don't get too excited. bottom line- I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay in the mayan riviera.

  • Liked — the room was very big and comfortable
  • Disliked — service is not the best
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank poysoniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,182 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing