We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, but the best activities are to the south.”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, but the best activities are to the south.”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Just returned from a wonderful trip to the Fairmont. After reading the reviews I was well prepared. I travelled with my mom and two boys (11 and 13) We all loved the bikes, pools and beach. We rented a car from Hertz (3 days), but could not get one later in the week due to the busy Spring Break season. It's great to have a car, as there is not much to do and the tours are not my thing. We love to snorkel and travelled to Xel Ha, and Akumal. I highly recommend both. Ask the concierge about going to Akumal in a car. Best snorkelling and day trips are south of Playa and getting through Playa will take 30 minutes if you don't know the short cuts. We did the Hidden Worlds trip as well. It is very rustic, but lots of fun. My boys loved it, but the Jungle ride was rough on my mom.

We ate at Fusion on the beach in Playa and the food and atmosphere were perfect.

The beach is amazing, and you can walk for miles in both directions. Take your snorkel gear up to Hacienda tres rios (about 1 mile north) Grab an umbrella at the beach early in the day . It's the best place to have lunch, though you may have to flag someone down to wait on you.

The bikes are really great and the best way to get around the resort. People do try to stash them at their doors. Don't be shy about taking one if you need it. It's big and it's not close to the beach, but if you like to be active and outdoors it's excellent. If you don't like to be active and outdoors, maybe you should go to Florida.

The canal tour is a must! Book it when you get there. The yummy muffins in the store by the pool are the best deal in the place if you're trying to watch your money. The wine is very pricey, so buy a couple bottles in Playa and put them in the little fridge in your room. Cork screws and wine glasses are in the rooms. And cokes are $4 each so you may want to have extra in the room. Don't bother buying the water in the restaurant. We drank the tap water and no one got sick. Plus, bottled water is bad for the environment.

The food was okay, but nothing to rave about.

The rooms are great, very large, huge bathrooms and comfortable beds. We had a deluxe and signature casita. The only difference was the view. My room had a connecting door and we could hear the neighbors pretty clearly. But the room without the connecting door didn't seem to have that problem. The birds are pretty noisy in the morning, but I liked to get up and take early walks on the beach. If you're a light sleeper, then 6:30 will be your wake up call.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercurialAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,934
    593
    182
    96
    55
See reviews for
1,429
1,386
51
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Situated on an enourmous property sourounded by lagoons, forst and a stunning golf course, the Mayakoba is one of my favorite Fairmont properties. We found the staff extremely friendly and not as pushy as in Cancun or even in Playa. Playa is a great town to visit but the Fairmont Mayakoba was so relaxing, most days we stayed at the resort.

The ocenfront pool is great but the infinity edge pool overlooking the lagoon and forest blew me away.

Splurge on acasita if you can afford it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Move2BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

just came back from romantic trip with my wife. this is our second trip to fairmont and my opinion may be skewed because in january we stayed at banyan tree. therefore, i cant be completely objective because once you have stayed at banyan tree, no other place, no matter how perfect, can be compared to that resort.

good things about fairmont: nice property. we stayed at signature casita which is very nice, comfortable and has upscale feel.
- las brisas restaurant on the beach is excellent and very reasonably priced.
- excellent location with a beautiful beach. you can walk safely 2/3 miles in each direction.
- beachside pool is very clean and pleasant


negatives: service, service, service....starting from front desk all the way down to beachside service, the service is on the level of 3 star hotel occasionally 4 but nearly close to 5 star resort.
- size of the property : it is pretty big and difficult for them to manage

overall, for the price range of 300$ US dollars/night it might be a good choice but if you have to pay more, i would highly consider other places on riviera maya

thanks,
alex

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I traveled with my wife, whose company was honorning their President's Club winners (she was a winner). From the moment we entered the resort, every staff member treated us great. Food, drinks, room -- all first class. The only thing I can complain about would be the slow service in the infinity pool by the beach. But then, you're in an infinity pool by a beautiful beach -- why complain about slow drinks.

To note, my wife's co-workers, who work in a high stress field and are very well paid, are accustomed to being treated like divas. They can be very critical when things are less than first class and they all raved about the Fairmont.

I don't know where the people with horrible reviews stayed -- couldn't have been here!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I visited the Fairmont Mayakoba -for a long weekend- along with my boyfriend. Everything around the hotel and the room was perfectly set and we had a very nice stay for the 4 nights we were there. At the time we checked in at the front desk, we were advised that there were no rooms available for the category we reserved (Fairmont Room), so they offered us a room upgrade (Deluxe Casita), which we happily accepted.

Everything seemed just perfect except for several "issues" we had during our stay:
Our own electronic key cards didn't worked, so each time we wanted to enter the room, we had to look for someone from the cleaning service who could help us open the door. After several calls to the front desk and several "new" key cards, we were advised that the door battery was uncharged so they would send someone to fix it, which they did.
The bath tub had also a leak, so we had to call again to the front desk - after an hour waiting for the plumber to fix the problem (we were told he would get there in 15 mins), the tub was ready to be used.
During our stay at Playa del Carmen, we wanted to take scuba lessons and we were really excited about having our first 'underwater' experience. We went to the travel agency inside the hotel and, as they had no service on Sunday, we would have to wait until Monday for the trip. On Monday (after waking up at 6 AM to be ready on time) we met our scuba instructor and started with our lesson. We were a little nervous about getting back on time as we had to pack and check out at 12 - we were returning home that same day. When we explained the situation to the instructor, he suddenly stopped the lesson, got angry and told us we were not going to the ocean for the practice as we could not dive and fly back to home in the same day. We were surprised as we were not told about this safety restriction when we paid for the trip. When we came back to our hotel and went to the travel agency to ask for a full refund, they just asked us "why didn't you tell us you were flying the same day?!?!?!" - (whaaaat?? > we were just taking our first scuba lesson EVER. How were we supposed to know about the risk we had by doing both thins within 24 hours???

Everything else was very nice - the beach, pool, food at the restaurants, lakes. I am sorry we had to deal with this small issues that doesn't let us enjoy our vacations as much as we would like to. Eventhough, I truly recommend the hotel for some vacations (specially for kids) or business meetings.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waffle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We selected the Fairmont Mayakoba base on the Fairmont's reputation and also both my husband and I are President Club members. We were traveling with our business partners with the intention of possibly considering this facility for a 200-person conference.

Check in was seamless and you are greeted with a fruit tea drink and damp towels. Nice touch. Despite having a reservation and the resort only being roughly 60% occupied, we were told that we would have to change rooms at least once if not twice. At check in, we also were told that we could have a late check out (1:30 pm) which became an issue on our last day.

Our room was an upgraded room on the lagoon. After familiarizing ourselves with the resort, we decided not to pay the astronomical upgrades for various types of rooms - especially the beach area casitas which are very isolated from the rest of the resort and not worth an extra $900 per night for a butler!

The adult only pool is lovely and quiet. Despite low occupancy, poolside service was slow and the servers (other than Omar who made our stay!) did not give the impression that they wanted to be doing what they were doing. Ricardo at the Cafe is terrific and gave great types on local restaurants in Playa del Carmen which were terffific - humble but authentic food.

The food was okay - nothing would qualify as really outstanding and certainly not "5-Star" quality.

Our partners arrived two days after us and had several room issues. The toilet paper holder was ripped out of the wall. Their room smelled of must and was not clean. The toilet was left for several days without being cleaned. With the service issues and room issues, we decided to look onward for a better conference location and didn't tour the rest of the facility.

Nice rest, great company with our partners, wonderful sun and tanning but not what qualifies as a 5-Star resort! It is a quiet stay at a place that is dependable but overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oerworked_but_rested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We just got back from a 5 day stay at the Fairmont. Overall, the trip was nice, but we won't be staying at this hotel again. We booked a beach area casita room which was in the group of rooms and suites that are closest to the beach (the other rooms are a good 15 minute walk or 5 minute golf cart drive away). We were put in room 831 which I recommend you request you NOT get. Upon checking into the room, I noticed a constant running water sound. At first we thought it was the toilet and even had maintenance out to look at it only to discover it was coming from the hot tub in the suite above us. Every time the hot tub heater kicked on, it would send water down the pipes that ran alongside one of our walls. Aside from the water sound, we could also hear people walking around and moving furniture upstairs. The view from our patio consisted of the golf course buffer. We noticed that all the other beach area casitas (the rooms, not the suites) had views overlooking the lagoon. I am a light sleeper so after putting up with this for a night, we asked to be moved to one of the ocean front casitas. Ocean front casita was much, much better (it is it's own self contained unit with no one upstairs or sharing a wall). We had a hammock and direct walk out to the beach, but had to sacrifice a king size bed for 2 queen sized beds and paid an extra $200 per night. We were hoping that the hotel would compensate us for having to upgrade, but they didn't offer even though they knew we were upset with our original assignment.

As for the service, the front desk people were not very friendly especially given our room situation. When we would call the concierge or the "royal service" as they call it, we often got the run around or were told that someone would call us back which never happened. Their follow through was definitely lacking. Upon check-out, no one even asked how we enjoyed our stay. Not a major issue, but it does sum up the general attitude of the place.

Overall, here is a summary of the good and the bad:
Good:
* Great for families. We saw a lot of families with young kids and the resort seems to really cater to them.
* Beautiful, well--maintained grounds.
*Rooms were very clean
* Spa was nice and services we had were top-notch
*food is okay and not too terribly overpriced

Bad:
*Front desk and concierge service is severely lacking and not very good at addressing complaints or issues in a timely manner.
*Not very nice for a romantic getaway weekend. Felt the resort was more geared towards families (we checked out the Banyan Tree and Rosewood which both seemed much better alternatives for romantic getaways)
*Rooms are hit or miss. Especially in the beach area, the regular rooms (not the suites) are dark and showing their age.
*beach chairs are uncomfortable and warped. Would also be nice to have kayaks available for people to use like the other resorts offered.

Recommendations if you do stay there:
*The Bose radios in each room have an auxillary jack to play your ipod so bring an auxillary cord if you want to listen to your ipod in the room. We asked if they had some cords at the hotel, but they did not.
*Rent a car so you can go into Playa del Carmen. Great nightlife and lots of cheap food options. We also went to Cozumel one day via the ferry.
*Buy drinks and snacks at a 7-11 or an OXXO on the way to the hotel and keep them in the room's mini-fridge.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,058 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,673 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,920 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing