We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent coffee !”
Review of Cafe Orange

Cafe Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Delicious mexican breakfast, all natural juices, home made bread and a really great cup of coffee; later try the daily menu, our traditional argentinean empanadas, lomitos, milanesas, pizzas and many more exquisite options! Everything fresh, made with love!
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent coffee !”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wrap made with fresh chicken, great salads,great juice, high quality food for every meal and the best espresso in Playa Del Carmen..

The owner is proud of his coffee that is a blend of Chiapas and Veracruz and the staff and the ambiance are amazing.

Go !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simkat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    30
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and cozy”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We went for breakfast on a weekday and immediately felt welcomed by the staff and the happy customers around. The decor is simple and elegant with lounge music. The coffee and biscuits were perfect, and I was also very impressed by the eggs Benedict. The hollandaise sauce was not to heavy but very flavourful. The waitress was also incredibly pleasant. Would recommend 100%

Helpful?
1 Thank Mgutlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great little Cafe!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We came back here for breakfast and lunch a few time because we were staying in the area. It is a little way out of the main centre, although it is defiantly worth the short walk. The food was brilliant for a small cafe. The three course meal we had for lunch was high end restaurant standards! The service was excellent too, really great little cafe!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AusDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“True "Hidden Gem" in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have lived in Playa del Carmen almost nine years now and are always on the lookout for new spots with great food at reasonable prices--not only for us personally but to share with our hotel guests as well. Several nights ago some friends (who had been raving about the place) took us to Cafe Orange, and we were smitten. It was all they said, and more. It's a small spot (just 8 tables), located just a few blocks from Fifth Avenue in a quiet neighborhood. Although it's a little bit away from the main tourist area, it's only a short walk and well worth the stroll.

Originally the menu had changed daily, and diners chose from two options at each meal. This has has apparently just changed, as when we went, all items on the menu were available. The food was wonderful, and the price can't be beat. For $90 pesos (about $7 US), we had a choice of appetizer (soup, salad or pasta--with multiple items to choose from for each), a choice of entree (ranging from filet mignon to chicken cordon bleu to seafood and more) and a choice of dessert, as well as a flavored fruit water. Portions are not huge but certainly filling, and you walk away happy and full but not uncomfortably stuffed. You can also order anything off the menu individually as well as salads and pastas in whole or half portions. They also have several sandwiches, including a burger.

We didn't see a breakfast menu, but our friends commented that their breakfasts are excellent, as well.

The service was also excellent, and the staff was friendly and accommodating.

This may be our new favorite "go to" spot in Playa. It's far enough from 5th Avenue to avoid the crowds, and the food, ambiance and price can't be beat. You may want to check this place out soon, before it's discovered by everyone.

We will definitely be back and will be telling all of our guests about this special little place.

Tony & Cheri

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony and Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Funky little cafe with great food at a great price”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were lucky enough to visit Cafe Orange as it was recommended to us by our local host. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic, all for such great value ($15 for two people - including coffee, juice and a main breakfast meal each). The atmosphere is really trendy and it's nice and cool with a relaxing vibe and music. I can't recommend this place more highly if you're in Playa del Carmen. It's a nice change from the more hectic tourist centre.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatherineS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Orange also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cafe Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing