We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #40 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best.”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed for 5 days for our anniversary. At first they tried to put us in a room with 2 double beds pushed together. The front desk said that was all they had until the next day, but when we asked the bellman, he said he knew if one that was available. So he let us into the other room, and the front desk just let us have it. After that the room was perfect. Grounds were nice and clean except for the pool. It always had stuff floating in it especially by the swim bar. Filmy and nasty. Plus they were supposed to have a separate kid pool, but I never saw it and there were kids swimming and splashing all around us. The food was ok, but you need to make reservations for all resturaunts except the buffet. And you can only make 2 at a time, so every other day you need to stand in this 20 minute line to make dinner plans. And there's only 2 seating times for all as well. If you woke up late, and was hungry between 11-12, good luck finding food, that's when they change the buffet out. The beach was beautiful. Pretty private. The area was very safe and upscale. Go to the xplore tour if you like ziplines and are active. It was my favorite part. Drinks were great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karliclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,387
    1,331
    411
    160
    107
See reviews for
1,495
2,667
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We've never travelled outside the states before & it was amazing! The hotel staff were all very polite & helpful! Everything was immaculate (we saw people cleaning all the time), every day we had a new towel animal waiting in our room, (which I loved!). The beach was so awesome (we even parasailed, it was amazing!). All the pools were well kept & never had a problem getting service! Would go back in a heartbeat! The food was also amazing. Fresh pico & guacomle everyday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickilaplante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Just returned from a fabulous two weeks at the Riu Palace, booked for our tenth wedding anniversary after stopping at the hotel on our way to airport last year as it looked so nice!! Originally allocated a smaller room with tiny balcony on top floor, but reception changed for us immediately with no problem.
The room itself was very comfortable I normally struggle to sleep on holiday but the bed was really comfortable, no dampness in room as described in other reviews, but this could be down to the air con as had this at a previous hotel we used both air con and the fan to keep the room really fresh!
The Thomson Rep Emma was excellent even sending us a card on our anniversary and sending us notes after our excursions to make sure we had a good time, food was great in all a la carte restuarants had our anniversary in Krystal and the table was decorated beautifully, the beach is fantastic as was the infinity pool and the bars are all well stocked and the staff in the bars especially Victor in the Sports Bar were second to none, the place is spotlessly clean (apart from the odd bit of sun lotion residue in the main pool) but we avoided the main pool as most of the swim up bar residents (mostly loud Americans) sat there all day without leaving their seats to answer the call of nature, so decided to swerve that!!
Trip wise Xplor, Tulum & Xel Ha were amazing, however the highlight was the Whale Shark swim (however don't buy this from your rep or Scuba Caribe by the pool as we got this for half their prices from the tour stall in Playa Plaza 300 mts to the left of the hotel.
Last year we did the Coba Mayan Village and the Jungle speedboat tours these are great too
The gym could do with some more updated equipment but it served its purpose.
Definitely go int o Playacar and also take time to look round the Mayan ruins which lie 300 mts to the right og the hotel and there are some more just before Playa Del Carmen
All in all a fantastic holiday and a place I'd go back to in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BrightonBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nts beginning the 14th until the 18th after staying for 4 nts at the RIU Cancun beginning 5/10-14. Overall I'd say this is a very good property but not sure it's for us. Here are my thoughts:
SERVICE---Some areas excellent, some could use improvement. The service in the courtyard area at night was pretty slow. Requested a Dirty Martini w/specific instructions on type of liquor and olives....had to get the head waiter to get it right on the 4th attempt. All waitstaff in the restaurants, top notch. Did not have any beach service at all and very little at the pool--only when stopped someone as they walked by...no one came by and offered to take an order. This was a big difference between RIU Cun and RPRM b/c at Cancun, we were constantly brought drinks to the beach as well as the pool area--and no did not tip any extra at either place. Benjamin on the front desk was very professional and courteous. Big thank you to him for our gorgeous room.
FOOD---Very good...especially the Mexican restaurant. Kudos to Rene!! Thanks for the laughs. Also Chili's, the Steak House, was very very good. Baked Alaska excellent. Head waiter excellent and very professional.
CLEANLINESS---Our room was great. Loved the towel animals and special touches. Would have liked to have more than 2 bath towels but housekeeping brought extra immediately when requested. Courtyard, sidewalks and hallways were constantly being cleaned. Pool area not so great. Water was dingy and noticed serveral tiles missing from wall of pool were the tables were. Swim up Bar area had staws in it and alot of sand on floor.
LOCATION---Really liked the Playacar area. Definitely would recommend this area and would return. 5th Ave awesome.
ENTERTAINMENT---Altho we were very impressed w/the stage shows, it looked as if there were a few nights that would have been good shows later in the week. The singers and bands in the gazebo and courtyard area were good but definitely not my style. Not alot to do after dinner.

Overall, Great property and had a good time! Suggestions....would be nice to have bicycles to rent to go to 5th Ave and sightseeing. Also property very spread out. Could use another elevator in addition to the one near the lobby.

I think RPRM is a beautiful property and perfect for an older crowd. Not many singles here at all. A few families but mostly couples 55 +.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenscruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsford.b.c
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My Husband,Son and I Travelled to this Hotel May 7th to the 21st. We decided this year that we wanted two weeks to spend enjoying the sun and sand... Soooo glad!! I'm amazed at any of the negative reviews. From the time we checked in ,it was first class all the way! The staff was wonderful! Vanesa at the front desk,gave us a room with a Beautiful courtyard view. The beach is one of the nicest we've seen. The pool is Huge and there is always a volleyball game happening in it. The food was delicious, especially at the Krystal restaurant (you must try the ravioli as their starter).. We have stayed at Three other Riu Hotels, and this has been our favourite! Don't listen to the bad reviews...We have high standards, but it would be hard to find much to complain about here....Sandy from Vancouver

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sansat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is a really nice hotel, the location is good, the size is good, and we were upgrade as our room faced the pool and sea. We paid alot of money for 10 nights and was disappointed we both got ill, and it wasn't just a stomach bug, this took 4/5 days out of our holiday, literally couldn't leave the room. When I say it's not 5 star, this is because the main pool's water was not clear, all you see was people's greasy sun lotion and it looked dirty, affinity pool is lovely and so is the beach. There are no slippers or dressing gowns in the rooms, and our room was damp, I had to put what I was wearing out in the evening on the balcony to dry for half hour before I put it on, and the beds do feel damp when you get in them, however the staff don't stop cleaning.
Overall I liked this holiday apart from being ill, and would return to Mexico, but I would try another 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and you might get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Great service at check in,room clean and spacious,well stocked fridge and optics(didn't get re-filled for 3 days informed reception sorted in 10 minutes).Tried all the restaurants,mexican and japanesse were our favourites,try a saki bomb the girls in the japanesse restaurants are good for a laugh,the buffet is great for breakfast,salads,sweets had a couple of cold meals where they had run out of certain selections.Pool and beach area are of a 5 star quality,drinks service around the pool superb,not very good on the beach and in that heat it is certainly needed.Entertainment,days and evening not so good same thing every day at the same time,evening shows very limited,dancing to taped music,but the Micheal Jackson show is worth a look.Visited 5th avenue 4 times ,taxi once,walked the other times only a 15 minute walk,the 2nd visit there were 8 police open backed trucks carrying masked machine gun police officers with lights flashing and sirens blaring quite scary,but we were told that this was a show of strength from the police and happens quite often,on 5th avenue i was quite openly offered drugs on 2 occasions,but don't let this put you off,it really is worth a visit and we did feel safe or we wouldn't of walked back and repeat our visits.Most of the staff were really fantastic,i tipped the maid daily and we got fresh towels twice a day and turn down service most nights with the flowers and petals and towel animals.i also tipped in the restaurants where service was 2nd to none and the drinks waiters who were very good once they'd got a tip,if you hadn't tipped any of the barmen you could wait quite a while for a drink which was very noticable and poor service.I like to visit the gym early on holiday to burn off the extra calories but here the gym is the worst i have seen,very old kit and no cold water,but some nice runs on the beach and on the path's around the other hotels if your that way inclinded on holiday.Lastly when we went to Thomsons to change our money we were told that Mexico only dealt in Peso not Dollars,everything in hotels and shops is marked up in Dollars and taxi drivers quote prices in Dollars,I had several Peso left and tried to buy duty free on our Thomson flight from Thomson cabin crew only to be told that they don't accept Peso,watch out for the con,the exchange rate on Peso isn't very good well done Thomson is anyone available to explain.P.S. does anyone know anything about the loser who set the fire alarm off .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paullynsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.4 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,448 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing