We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #40 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice for 14 nights each time.
Nothing but praise or the hotel and staff. Big room with a living room area.choice of buffet restaurants or the themed restaurants which you need to book for.Food is varied and top quality.
Usually sat round by the pool and occasionally on the beach both have plenty of shaded areas if you need them.
Staff are freindlly and always very helpful and are genuine people.
You can use the facilities of the local Riu hotels but this one is the better one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 5,542 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya from March 31st till April 7th. The height of spring break. We took along our daughter and three of her girl friends. The high school kids were there in force but never were disrespectful to the adults in the pool area. They stuck to themselves during the day and went off with their parents during dinner. I understand that Riu Tequila has an over 18 club that many of them went to in the late evening. We were woken up only once by loud partiers in the hall ways returning at the end of the night. The hotel is spotless. Employees are cleaning the public areas constantly. I felt our room was always cleaned nicely every day. Rigoberto usually got to our room in the afternoon and we received turn down service two or three evenings. My wife commented that the mattresses were not the best. I would have to agree.The hotel decor from the enormous chandeliers to the dark wood furniture was just what we preferred. (Riu Palace Mexico down the street is newly renovated and VERY contemporary. It's all just preference.
We thought the hotel food variety was very good in the main dining room. As the week played out we only ate at the Mexican and the Brazilian restaurants. Both we thought were very good. The seating times being at 6:30pm or 8:45pm became a struggle and we wish they offered more times in between. Reservations were required a day in advance and you had to get in a short line around 11:45 each day to be put on the list. Long pants required for men in all the specialty restaurants. We have been to a Dreams and Secret's resort in Cancun and were very pleased to see that the Riu Palace met or exceeded almost all of our needs. Last note, please tip the staff. Their salary we understand is under $10.00 a day. They need and depend on the tips we provide to them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed hear over Xmas and new year. 2012/2013. This hotel is beautiful and in an excellent location. The beaches are beautiful really could not fault anything but if I had to be picky the only thing is the humidity. Your clothes tend to feel damp and there is a smell in the lobby, small price to pay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseaker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

3 times still a charm! Great stay again. I really miss the beach, white powder. Great room 3rd floor at the end over looking pool(2047) but who cares about the room, only slept there. They say tips are included and you don't have to tip, but tip the staff who go the extra mile for you and you WILL be rewarded. Prices in town seemed to be very expensive even at Wal Mart. We bought a killer bottle of wine that was from Baja and brought it to dinner at Krystal becuse the wine at the Riu's are not that good. To bad they did not offer quality wine to buy with dinner. That's my only bitc* though, and yes I am a wine snob!

Room Tip: Had the best room you can get 2047, top floor end of hall over looking pool, ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kmj29elj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My mother had always warned me to never go to Mexico since I was very young. So when I got asked to vacation in Mexico I was at first apprehensive about my safety. I researched on-line if any warnings for this area and did not see any; plus 6 million people go to this area every year. I went w/ a group of 80 that were associated through work. Was there in mid-Nov. had perfect sunny low 80's weather.
The hotel was spotless. The staff was very friendly and extremely attentive. No need to tip as all inclusive, (my first) but It's a good idea to take maybe $50 one dollar bills as they are delighted w/ a $1 if you are so inclined. The hotel did have an ATM but would pay out in pesos. Loved the all inclusive -- frozen marqaritas & xxoo beer. Room complete w/ 4/5 fifths of liquor; in-room fridge w/beer, bottled water, soda. Do not use the tap water to brush teeth. Always drink/use bottled water. We only ate and drank at hotel.
The beach was totally magnificent w/beautiful palms w/ great breezes -- could get sun or shade as you please. Wonderfully clean pools. Food probably a 7 out of 10. Could have been better but lots of variety to choose from. I personally stayed away from eating salads. Probably 20 of the 80 people got some form of illness but many went outside the hotel and ate and drank
I felt totally safe the entire time. Only regret wish I had visited Chitzen Itza on a day tour. It was offered and I did not go; people who went good not stop talking about it.
Hotel had entertainment each night and it really was entertaining!! Enjoyed it all.
Would love to return soon!!

Room Tip: For some reason, they push two twin beds together; so if you let them know this won't work for y...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank royalzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Riu Palace Riviera Maya was wonderful!!! Great food, great service and such a beautiful place to say inside and out.

Service was SO good. We love Marlen & Adrianna!!!!! and WE WILL MISS YOU TWO!!!

Marlen - cute little server that work 6 days a week (breakfast and lunch). She was completely friendly, genuine and cute.

Adrianna - Bartender at the swim up pool. This girl mixed great drinks and fast service. She is funny, personable and fantastic!!!!

We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Do not hesitate to book this hotel, it is great . Superb food, great location and friendly courteous staff. We left a snowy N Wales to sunshine every day , bar one afternoon when it rained heavily.
We were allocated a second floor room ,outward facing another hotel. However this was not a problem as little noise and as it went dark fairly early we did not use balcony much. People we met did suffer from lots of the American Spring breakers returning from their parties early am but fortunately we did not. Room as spacious inl bathrooms. Lots of storage space, coffee machine, dispensers for drinks and fridge which was always filled with beers, water etc. bed large and comfortable.
The beach is fantastic with miles of soft white sand and you could walk safely in either direction or on the road. Taxis are cheap and plentiful .
The food was absolutely fantastic, don't know what people eat at home if they do not like or are bored with the choice. We were there for 2 weeks and with the exception of one meal were extremely pleased. You can have lunch at beachside or in the main buffet restaurant which was open when we were there but may not be the case at quieter times. We went to 3 of the speciality restaurants and preferred the fusion one. Booking was easy, between 12 and 3 in the lobby and you could book up to 3 days in advance.
Staff are all fantastic and go out of their way to assist. Tips are much appreciated but you do not feel pressurised at all.
We spent a lot of the day time at the sister hotel the Palace Mexico as we preferred the pools there , there were 4 smaller pools as opposed to one large area at RM, plus the pool lunchtime restaurant was much better than at Riviera with grater choice and better service. The pool bar gets v busy at both hotels, but again probably due to time of the year. Animation teams work hard all day but no pressure to join in if you prefer not to.
We went on one trip booked with Thomson, to Coba and mayan village etc which was v good. Bought tickets to Xcaret from rep and got own taxi there. This was good value we felt and we were free to go and return when we wanted. Taxi was about £7 each way.
We have been to this area three times now and would return again and to the RM but not in March.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.4 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,608 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,824 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £190 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing