We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #37 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful resort. Good food. Friendly personnels. Ac is not blowing cold air. We had dinner at 2 specialty restaurant. Chile's and Japanese restaurant. When we made reservation we were told that they have dress codes for these 2 restaurant. NO SHORTS. We were disappointed to see some people wearing shorts at these 2 restaurant.

Room Tip: Ac not good at two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,264
    1,291
    397
    156
    102
See reviews for
1,433
2,589
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed 31 May-14 June 2014. Travelled with Thomson holidays U.K
This was our 3rd stay in 5 years and probably the best.
Fantastic hotel which has been well described by many other posts. What really makes it stand out is the extremely friendly hard working staff.They will do anything to help you enjoy your stay and all seem so proud to work there.
Many varied choices of food and something for every tastes.The themed restaurants are fun and again food is top notch. If you don't like it then pop round to the buffet restaurant.
Food and drink is coming at you from all directions, the restaurants,beach BBQ,sports bar and even room service,remember your on holiday so enjoy it all !
Rooms are in need of modernising but again this was not an issue in the slightest.
The beach is absolutely stunning,white sand,green ocean and palm trees,great for photos.
So no one has mentioned the musty smell for a while which is good,well don't even consider about worrying about it, yes you will notice it when you first get there but it soon disappears,so don't let it even be a consideration in choosing this hotel.
As I mentioned the staff really make your holiday and its hard to point out individuals, anyway I am going to. Big shout out for Victor, Isais and Big Joe great guys great service.
If you want a luxury holiday where you are treated like royalty then this is the place to go.. Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Room 2005 inward facing near to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

our second time at this hotel rooms clean .pool and grounds always clean and tidy food excellent the theemed restuarants a delight .the pool bar always busy but no problem getting served.the beach is perfection .the high point of this hotel is the staff some remembered us from last year all the staff from cleaners to waiters to bar staff and reception where efficient and friendly.we understand that the hotel is due for a refurb .please dont change a thing dont turn it into a noisy gin palace full of children like the riu mexico i hope to return 2015

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stunning location, beautiful grounds, great rooms, right on the beach, absolutely amazing food, service out of this world. Fly premium economy if you can, definitely worth every penny on long haul flight. You gotta go there, fantastic place.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior junior suite when you get there, we were upgraded for the second week. Rooms the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed from June 21st to June 28th. All meals were delicious ,service was outstanding ,rooms a little dated but all in all a very good hotel for the price.Air conditioning was hit or miss and had to be moved once to a cooler room

Room Tip: pretty much any room is a good room,ours was 0038 on the ground floor and was perfect because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlynn1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful beaches, that will always keep you coming to this area. Great location. Special thank you to Joe and Victor at the pool, keep drinks flowing. Lobby bar, great cocktails. Food, Chilly's good lunch buffet, Asian and Mexican best for dinner. Room service never came for am coffee ordered. Very beautiful resort, the beach is the selling point plus the employees that work their butts off here, thank you. Nice jewelry shop with Lenny, great spa service, over all lovely resort. We switch between Playa Car and The Royal Playa Del Carmen, where we usually stay. The Royal, which I love but the beaches at the Riu's in Playa Car cannot be beat, it's all about the beach. The entertainment team at the Riu, I fell in love, love, they just made me laugh and laugh. Will be returning in 3 months, to Playa Del Carmen the Royal, but I will miss the beaches at the Riu. I would highly recommend this resort, due the close walk to 5th Ave, the perfect beaches, and outstanding service, see ya soon my friends.I am enclosing some pic't that I never posted from yrs ago, and from our recent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerileo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just returned from the Riu Palace RM. I don't want to belabor all of the things that have been said repeatedly so I will just keep to point. Our arrival was very welcoming, provided map of hotel with times of availability of restaurants/bars and welcome drink, very refreshing. We were given our room keys and towel cards and invited to have lunch while our room was being prepared. We requested King bed with rollaway and courtside view...we got it.
-Cleanliness: The hotel is spotless, enough said and I believe no one could dispute that.
We did the kitchen tour and that is immaculate as well. No fears here.
-Pool: The pool is cleaned every day and granted, there are some tiles missing, no biggie, get over it.
-The pool bar was fantastic, We miss all of you, Abel, Keike, Victor and Ciro....Thanks for providing a great time. No waiting for drinks and pool side/beach side service was great
Pool/ Beach loungers: no problems never needed to play the towel game. We were told the hotel was at 99% capacity and there were no isssues at all. First time we didn't have to rise with the birds to get chairs by the pool or in shade.
Sea/Beach: Just breathtaking. There are no words to describe the white soft sand or the blue/ greens of the sea. No need for shoes, no rocks what so ever, you can see clearly to the bottom. All sand and gentle waves.
Food: This is subjective to everyone, however I have a very picky daughter and she ate or tried almost everything and disliked very little. We thought the food was wonderful. Where else do you get lobster, shrimp, crab claws on the buffet? There was something for everyone every night and we didn't even need to eat at the reservation restaurants but we did just to try. We tried the Japanese and the Steak House, both were very good. If you are a huge eater and need to eat everything in sight, the buffet might be for you and not the ala cartes as the food is just an essential amount and not over gorging, that may be why people complain, but it was plenty for us. We enjoyed the surf/turf at the Steakhouse (Chili's) very tasty and the staff was excellent. Lunch was just about the same everyday, but we tried to mix it up by going to a different buffet each day so it wouldn't get boring. It was fine, no problems and we were satisfied everyday.
Bars: Drinks were plentyful and free flowing, no need to wait long and wether we tipped or not (we mostly did) the service was the same and the drinks were well made and with more than enough booze to satisfy.
I know I could go on and on but like I said I will try to keep it brief. We will be returning hopefully next year. We loved it and look forward to another great stay at the Riu. I hope you enjoy it if you try it. I see no need for a refurb of this hotel and I truly hope they do not make it look like the RPM. I do not like the mirrored disco look. Please Riu keep it real and traditional, for those of us who love it this way. Just upgrade the Air Condidtioning, yes.....that is lacking to a point. It would help with the humidity and I am sure make people less grumpy looking for things to complain about that otherwise might not be an issue...

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, just try to book a courtyard view room if you can, if the view is not import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,272 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,601 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing