We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place in playa del Carmen!!”

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
Reserve with OpenTable
PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,238 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic place in playa del Carmen!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Enjoy the place, very good food, Amazing concept with the smocked cocktail!
I recomended this fabulous place in the heart of playa!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your excellent experience and for your kind recommendations. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed all of the food and our signature smoked cocktails! These signature cocktail creations really do compliment our beautiful smoked dishes in a way that is truly delicious and unique. Thank you again and we hope you will return back to Plank in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    240
    86
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderfull evening in the Plank with fantastic food and a great atmosphere. The place gives a nice variety to the other restaurants around 5th avenue, as it is modern in food and style.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We really do appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your experience at Plank. We are happy that we were able to accommodate for a great evening with great food! Our restaurant does offer something quite different and unique with our contemporary cooking style accompanied by upscale ambiance, service and the highest quality foods. Thank you again and we hope that you will return back with us the next time you visit Playa.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Elegant, Delicious and Very Competent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a fabulous restaurant that is high end. The staff are friendly and their English is impeccable. The menu is great and really high end. The majority of food is prepared on wooden planks which are very flavourful. The restaurant is usually full which indicates guests really enjoy their meals. What you don't know is that you will be given a flatbread appetizer and biscotti at the end of your meal so don't order either. You can order several appetizers to make a meal which is fun to do. For two with beer and 4 appetizers expect to pay $60.00. This would be a great place to celebrate Birthdays or other special occasions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such a wonderful review. It makes us very happy to receive such kind comments from a Senior Contributor such as yourself. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the compliments from the chef in addition to all of your selections. We have a great dinner menu, appetizer menu and also extra selections in the bar area. The flat breads are also innovative and creative highlights on our menu, that people really seem to love. As you mentioned about celebrating a special occasion, we offer a great birthday experience for birthday parties and if you let us know you are celebrating any special day we will work to make the experience most memorable. Perhaps you will return with us one day to celebrate a memorable occasion. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
“Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ambience and service are one of the best I´ve found in Playa del Carmen. Smokey Cocktails are a must to try, its something different and worth trying at this place.
The menu has a very limited variety of options, though food is sublime. Flat breads are amazing and presentation of plates is really nice.
Santiago, our waiter made our evening really nice. Never had such an authentic and assertive waiter.
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review and wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy an incredible experience with us. The smoky martini's are wonderful aren't they? The smoky mojito is fantastic as well. We do offer a variety of seafood, meat and vegetarian options which are cooked and served directly on wooden planks or Himalayan Salt blocks. We have an exceptional array of artisan flat breads as well. This week we will be introducing some new menu items. If you are still in town perhaps you will be able to stop in and give some of the new items a try. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had read all of the glowing reviews so we wanted to try Plank when in PDC last week. We enjoyed the ambiance and had a great waiter (sorry forgot his name!) but have mixed feelings about the food.
Drinks were good but there was no good sparkling wine or prosecco choices on the wine list. The flatbread appetizer with the three spreads was very nice!
There were two non seafood people in our group, and we were disappointed with the chicken pot pie and the lemon thyme chicken was dry, tough and had no taste.
The sides are HUGE! Be careful when ordering as these will feed the table with more to take home. The mashed potatoes were OK, the Mac and cheese was just OK, but the grilled asparagus was excellent!
The salt crusted fish was wonderful and the at-table filet presentation was very nice.
I think if you stick to the menu items prepared on the wood or salt plank, you will be safe here, but I would skip the other items as they seem to be " fillers".

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caugh51654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy that you had a great overall experience with us at Plank. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your meal but apologize if some of the others did not meet the same expectations. As you mentioned, the side dishes are plentiful as we serve them in a family style fashion to be passed around the table (they serve 2-4 people depending on the selection). We do offer a fantastic and rave worth concept cooking directly on wooden planks of cedar alder or cherry woods or on beautiful presented and tasteful Himalayan Salt Blocks. Of course we always recommend trying our specialty dishes, most of which are cooked in that fashion. We are happy we could accommodate a lovely evening and we do hope to see you again at Plank in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing