We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fave restaurant in Playa!”

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
Reserve with OpenTable
PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our fave restaurant in Playa!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed in Playa for 4 nights and visited Plank for 2 of those nights because it was that good! The flatbread appetizer alone was amazing, as were the shrimp, lobster mashed potatoes and everything else we ordered. Cool touch with the menu photos on a kindle, amazing service - Willy was a tremendous server. Just a block from busy 5th avenue on a quaint and quiet street. The decor of the restaurant is modern and cozy. I could have eaten here every night and miss it already!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leavinchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you so much for your incredible review! We are delighted that you had two wonderful experiences with us and still wouldn't mind coming back for more. Of course it also means a lot coming from a Senior Reviewer such as yourself! We work hard every day to offer the best food, best service and the best overall atmosphere for our guests to enjoy. We do hope to see you again the next time you visit Playa del Carmen.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    250
    95
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, location not for us”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We ate at Plank on our last night in Playa del Carmen. Unfortunately the Playa del Carmen location was not for us, however Plank was a delight and much more to our taste.

The service was good from arrival and we were offered a choice of inside or outside, my husband said inside as we had been bitten by insects on previous evenings elsewhere. The staff listened and closed up the doors to prevent this which was great. Miguel (I think this was his name) our server spoke excellent English and I presume his spanish was good too! He was able to explain the menu and provide recommendations. Both domestic and imported drinks were fairly priced and there was good selection. The food was excellent although we perhaps ordered too much not realising we had a free appetiser. THe flat breads are extremely tasty and I would definitely advise trying one. For main we both had Fillet Mignon which came out perfectly cooked. Sides were large for us and we struggled to finish the bill was resonable. If you are looking for a decent meal in Playa visit Plank.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so happy that we could be one of the nicer highlights during your trip to Playa del Carmen. We do offer a particularly unique style in Playa with an upbeat and trendy atmosphere and NYC style appeal. Our menu is focused around an nontraditional cooking style where most dishes are cooked and served directly on wooden planks or Himalayan salt stones. Also we are a family style restaurant which means portions are plentiful and side dishes are meant to serve between 2-3 people. Great choices on the Filet Mignon's as they are most certainly on the list of well loved items by our guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to share.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A New Gem”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our dining experience was a true joy. Our waiter Diego was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and provided excellent, professional and friendly service. Th food was excellent. We had the jumbo grilled shrimp which defies description as. To the size and quality as well as the presentation of the dish. We also had the salmon which was exceptional. Our clam chowder and house salad appetizers were an excellent introduction to the wonderful dining experience. We highly recommend Plank and will definitely include it on our annual visits to Playa del Carmen. Don't miss this new (just opened in December 2013) dining gem!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled to hear about you excellent dining experience with us at Plank. The Cedar Plank Salmon is indeed our staple and we love to hear every wonderful comment. It is true we are newly opened this past December but we have quickly made an impression on the Playa del Carmen restaurant scene with our unique cooking concept and NYC style standards. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food fit for foodies in Playa!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

August 2014 - Plank is the real deal. Everything and anything I tried...seafood, meat, pork, salad, flatbreads...to die for...seriously. Oysters Rockefeller is the best ever! A true must if you eat them. The highest quality ingredients used for everything...flavors, preparation and combinations are perfect and the service is knowledgeable and friendly. Such a great place and culinary experience...SO GOOD! Going back for thirds before I leave.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Wow! The real deal! Thank you! We work so hard to bring the very best every day! That includes the highest quality of service, amazing food and a friendly and upbeat ambiance that just makes you feel great! We are so happy to have you with us not once but several times and certainly we hope to see you again the next time you return to Playa del Carmen.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a very nice, friendly restaurant that serves its food on a wood plank or skewer. I ordered the duck breast medium rare. It was OUTSTANDING. My wife ordered salmon and she said it was perhaps the best salmon she's ever had. Scallops wrapped in bacon was a good appetizer.

Service is excellent. We sat at a bad time as the restaurant just filled. So we were waiting a while for our food. The waiter felt bad and gave us a complimentary appetizer of homemade bread and three delicious dips. He was friendly and knowledgable.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We love to hear wonderful reviews such as this and it means a lot coming from a Senior Contributor such as yourself. Anytime we hear the word outstanding we know we have done something right. Definitely our concept of cooking food on Wooden planks and Himalayan Salt Stones is unique and worth the experience. You can feel the beautiful natural flavors in every bite if your food bringing culinary bliss to the highest level. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Playa del Carmen.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing