We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel-- great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playa del Karma
Ranked #128 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
quesochica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel-- great value”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions while laying over in Playa del Carmen on our way to another location. So we didn't do an extended stay.

What works: We paid about $60USD, which is a good value for the area. Even though the hotel is on a busy street, all of the rooms face a courtyard and are very quiet. It's off the main drag (believe me, you don't want the main drag) but it's a super easy walk to the restaurants and the beach. Just a block away from the ADO bus station. Best of all- a KING bed which is practically unheard of in the land of the Mayan double bed.

Beware: The interior courtyard is very tranquil and the plunge pool is nice but the moisture and vegetation attract the mosquitos. Lost a pint of blood attempting an evening read in the hammock on the porch. The shaded courtyard also means that the rooms don't get much sun. There isn't really a social scene here so you'll need to hit the beach or bars for that.

I'd recommend this to anyone who wants modest accommodation for a few nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfaringviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    199
    53
    17
    19
See reviews for
38
313
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Wash.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Playa del Karma on our last night of vacation before flying home from Cancun. It really makes for a nice relaxing evening and this time we visited the beach club. We had come from Tulum and just wanted to relax for our last night so we had purchased a bus ticket to the airport for the next day. The hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy the cool garden and small pool after a long day of traveling. The beach club has that wonderful white sand and the swimming is great and you can wander down 5th ave. doing some last minute shopping and getting some great ice cream. All and all it's a great place to spend the last night in the Maya Riveria and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I found this hotel on Priceline. It was a terrific bargain and I will most definately stay there again. A small hotel with about 15 rooms. My room was perfect - clean, quiet, no issues. The hotel is on 15th Avenue and in the middle of everything. Three blocks to the beach, 3 blocks in the other direction to the MEGA supermarket, 2 blocks to Constitutiones. I walked everywhere and felt 100% totally safe. In my 5 day stay i probably saw 500 police officers - no joke, they are everywhere. Restaurants all around. If 5th avenue if your thing (it is NOT mine) it is a short 2 blocks away. I prefer the local flare instead and walked to 30th Avenue and the more local places. Mario at the front desk was fantastic, had lots of good food tips. I was the only guest using the pool during my 5 day stay but it was warm and clean and well maintained. The pool is surrounded by trees which gives the whole place a rainforest feel, expect to have to take the occasional leaf or two out of the water - no big deal. While I was there they skimmed the pool 3 times a day - it is plenty clean! WiFi does only work in the lobby. My A/C was super cold and froze me out. The hotel is clean, well maintained and quaint - an excellent value. If you expect the IBEROSTAR you will be disappointed, if you expect a basic clean room and a very quaint atmosphere this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: I was in room #10 and it was perfect for me. If given a choice, I may of asked for a room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Pros: Excellent Location, lovely staff, Excellent Atmosphere and Decoration of the common areas. Cons: WiFi is only available in the Lobby; no WiFi inside your room. The AC in my room wasn't working, luckily it wasnt very hot but i can't imagine staying there during July or August without AC. And another disappointing feature was the breakfast. We payed the "breakfast included rate" but it was just coffee, juice and toast.. I would recommend the hotel, and definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Nice small hotel, excellent position, clean, quieter, the price are good, the garden is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Good option.

Room Tip: very close to the beach, bus station and also close to the super market and the 5th av.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrosolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good average small hotel with need of refurbishment. Excellent all reception staff , very helpful and genuine , well informed about the area. Staff were always welcoming and makes you feel special (special thanks to Jesus Mario and Erick). 5 out of 5 . We did have an issue with the spa but we had a quick answer with alternative given. Room nicely cleaned everyday with fresh towels nicely decorated like animals , I asked the room aid if she could do a turtle with the towels and she did. Thanks again to Mario to arrange a lovely surprising deco in my bedroom for my birthday. Those little things will make me coming back again in the future. Muitas Gracias, Chin chin ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had a great week staying here. The room was simple but totally functional for our basic needs of a clean, quiet and safe place. It's off the main strip which was to our liking. The main strip in Playa is really touristic and noisy, so staying a couple blocks away meant we still had easy access to the beach and all amenities but could get away from the crowds to relax and sleep. We could still just barely hear one of the clubs pounding until late at night, but not so much that it disturbed sleep. Any closer to 5th and I could see that being a problem. The folks at the desk were incredibly sweet and had a few good tips on how to get around. Overall, we recommend it and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuccavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#120 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#63 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#92 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#144 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa del Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa del Karma

Property: Hotel Playa del Karma
Address: Mza 122 Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 Lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa del Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa del Karma, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, is a contemporary ethno-boutique hotel designed primarily with indulgence and service in mind. This Playa del Carmen hotel with its prime location in the heart of the youngest and liveliest city in the Riviera Maya and its close proximity to the Quinta Avenida is centrally located, allowing guests the convenience to access diverse tourist attractions that accommodate all interests and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa del Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Karma Hotel
Playa Del Karma Carmen
Hotel Playa Del Karma Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing