We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Getaway, One Problem... :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playa del Karma
Ranked #137 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We just returned from our stay this past week. It was just as we thought reading from the reviews. The staff was great, especially Luis he answered all our questions and made sure everything was fine. We went to the breakfast the hotel offered which was better than we thought, so that was a plus. Some people said the location was way out there but we thought it could not have been any better. Just 5 minutes from 5th ave and 8 min from the beach it was in the perfect spot. The one bad thing about the place was the Mosquito's and bug problems. We were there for 7 days and did not notice until about our 3rd but we left with numerous bug bites and we even had to purchase some bug spray at the local Walmart ourselves which sucked. That was really the only problem we encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsantana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

I did my homework in Playa and took the time to walk into a bunch of hotels and actually look what was available. Aqua Luna had alot to offer, great staff, this safe haven was only a few blocks to the beach!!! and a free hot breafast. I will be back next winter.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamptonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed 13 nights. Family of 4. 2 boys 11 and 13 yrs old. Very small quiet hotel. Great price, tasty breakfast, short walk to sister resort, beach and awesome resturants on 30th ave. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Would highly recommend for someone looking for value, but close to everything. Really appreciated the king size bed, loft with twin beds, oversize bathroom, towel animals, and lush gardens. Would have like pools to be warmer, less travelers that smoked, maybe few more lounge chairs near the pool. Loved the free wi fi and use of internet in the lobby and also the free water and coffee. It was a great 13 nights!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Excellent value and very private. It's only a block or 2 from the and 3 blocks from the beach. The grounds are absolutely amazing! It is a little retreat in itself. If you're lazy it might be a poor location, but if you don't mind walking a few blocks it is an EXCELLENT way to see Playa Del Carmen and say hi to the very friendly locals. The temescal was an interesting experience, but a bit over-priced in my opinion. Just make sure you take a taxi to the pier and catch the ferry to Cozumel... Be sure to go on a Sunday when there are no cruise ships! I would also suggest Xel-Ha versus the other eco-park and definitely snorkel the cenotes!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1GlobalView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a nice little hotel, almost a motel style place, with the friendliest staff. It is on a rather busy street but in Playa del Carmen all the streets are busy unless you can afford a villa in Playacar. The busy city life for me is part of the charm of Playa del Carmen.

Our room was really basic but the bed was comfortable and the street noise and discos were pretty well muffled. It had a small porch with a hammock and two chairs. There is a small lap pool and a very well planted courtyard. There is a laid back live and let live vibe.

The staff is very very nice. The desk person kept getting up to hold the door for us which was not really necessary but quite impressive. The manager was a friendly Italian gent.

In the book for guests to write things, a couple said they had spent their honeymoon at Playa del Karma. That kind of floored me, because this hotel is more for a few nights to see the town and do some shopping and dinner. It's not a honeymoon type place at all.

It was very good value for about $100 per night in the high season, but you might not feel it's worth much more. We did not go for their breakfast because it was extra. The sister hotel where they served the breakfast was really run of the mill.

Easy street parking all around the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advocateonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean but small... bed was really uncomfortable as were the pillows. Nice breakfast at sister hotel. Located on a very busy street and was surprisingly quiet. Kind of a funky little place with lots of character but slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigSkyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaHernandez, Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

Dear guest,
We would like to start thanking you for posting a comment about our hotel; we apologize because we could not exceed your expectations during your stay and we assure you that your comment will be highly taken into consideration. I hope you can give us the opportunity to show you how we are improving each one of our services and demonstrate you that you may live a very relaxing and comfortable vacation in Playa del Karma.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I really enjoyed our stay at Playa Hotel del Karma. It was affordable and had some great value. They had a great massage room, free internet and wifi, temascal offering (which I didn't get to do :( since you needed two people), travel agent on premises, free towels and free breakfast. It was nearby and fine for my needs. I had two friends so we shared the triple. I do not have anything to compare it to although there are really great places in the area that are more luxurious. There are I am sure other places that are not as nice. I thought this was reasonable and reliable as far as what you are paying. The staff was THE BEST. The sweetest staff with great smiles and always willing to help. Very recommended! The massage was a great value!!! Oscar was fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueloks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaHernandez, Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

We are glad that you gave us the opportunity to know our Infinite Hospitality services. We truly hope to see you soon so as to enjoy our holistic services such as Temazcal, a ceremony in an ancestral house of steam used by the ancient cultures of Mexico as a bath of purification for body and soul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#69 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#116 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen
#164 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#111 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa del Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa del Karma

Address: Mza 122 Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 Lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa del Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa del Karma, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, is a contemporary ethno-boutique hotel designed primarily with indulgence and service in mind. This Playa del Carmen hotel with its prime location in the heart of the youngest and liveliest city in the Riviera Maya and its close proximity to the Quinta Avenida is centrally located, allowing guests the convenience to access diverse tourist attractions that accommodate all interests and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Playa del Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Karma Hotel
Playa Del Karma Carmen
Hotel Playa Del Karma Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing