We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Playa del Karma
Ranked #129 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

we originally booked 4 nights at this hotel and extended it to 6 after we were so impressed by the hotel staff and atmosphere. we especially appreciated the towels folded into cute animals each day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
We are very pleased that the little details works. Here at Playa del Karma always try to make our guest like home, so they ended staying longer. Definitely the human resource that we have is infinite valuable, so we only have fun with little details like our extended catalog of animals in our towel zoo this offers a little joke on top of the bed for the joy of the one that sees it... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    200
    53
    18
    19
See reviews for
37
313
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We spent 6 night in 'Playa del Karma' no matter we planned only couple of them. This is a small hotel but with its own charming swimming pool. We have hammock and garden chairs for our own use. We were granted free water, tea, coffee. The rooms are clean. The most valuable was lovely multi-lingual staff that made our stay very peaceful. However this is not a seaside hotel, location is very good (just a block or a couple of blocks from beach access, supermarkets, bus station, 5th Avenida with its shops, restaurants and music clubs).
We highly recommend 'Playa del Karma' as highest quality at reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uspedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
We are very thankful for your comment, it is resumed all the services you can enjoy staying in our ethno-boutique Hotel, we try to maintain this services to a point that every time you come you will have the same pleasant visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

A lovely little hotel,,, close enough to the main street to get walk there quikly but far enough not to be hassled by noise and drunken teenagers on holiday... Romantic, not to crowded so your able to have some space and relax in the afternoon in the lovely pool... the staff are quite friendly and service oriented but not anoying and in your face... I'm going back there soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildaPBGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thank you for your comment, really we think that our best reward is hearing the great adventures from the guest that stayed with Us. We are very glad that people take advantage of our location to walk around cosmo-town Playa del Carmen, going walking from here to everywhere is very easy, we offer the basic needs for people with all kind of tastes and is like a magic formula when the right ingredients are combined together. Mi casa es Tú casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We checked the tripadvisor reviews and stayed for 3 nights in this hotel at the end of our Southern Mexico trip. The hotel is in a great location, only 10 minutes walk to the beach and less then 5 minutes to the 5th avenue where the action is. Rooms are situated in a lush garden. Have a private patio, with Hammock and chairs. The pool is great and very refreshing. The hotel has a great deal with a beachclub for umbrella and beachchairs. Beachtowels are free of charge, so is the internet. Reception and other staff are very Friendly.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kingtioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Location is what make the difference at the time of staying at our ethno-boutique Hotel. Playa del Karma is in the best location of Playa del Carmen, you literally can walk everywhere from here (or bike). Our gold is to give a relax experience to all our guest being close to everything without feel the buzz of the 5th ave, we try to do the opposite by opening our garden to everybody making them feel like they're in a Caribbean home instantly appreciating all the beautiful nature that surrounds our Nativo rooms with they're hammocks and they're palapa ceilings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great little hotel. Close to the main 5th avenue but it is not too noisy and it is away from the resort area. The staff at this hotel are fantastic. The only thing is that breakfast is served about a 5 minute walk away but the breakfast is definitely worth it! You can also organise tours to Tulum or Cozumel from the hotel and there is free internet and filtered water in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbultjari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
We are a petit Hotel with an Ethno-Boutique concept who are in the middle of the action but with a great garden that hides the noise. Thank you for enjoying with Us. We are getting better and better making our restaurant be redesign so our guests can have the service of breakfast without going out or walk other places, just the ones you want to experience like "cenotes" (natural pools from this area of Mexico), snorkel the reefs or diving adventures, at the Riviera Maya you will have a great selection of activities inside of the water or out on land to enrich your experience of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orondo, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

This Hotel was small and personal without being understaffed. Beautiful courtyard, blocks from the bus station and beach!!! Great for people passing through or for someone looking to relax for weeks.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank pope_jp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 19 June 2010
We love the word "Karmatronic" is a very good idea, it describes one hole experience in to one word. We feel very honored that, as our guest, you have a cozy staying in our luxury garden, we like to keep it as simple as the guest want, exceeding their expectations every time we have the chance, here at Playa del Karma guests can stay as long as they want, as well they can choose to stay only one night and rest before going to a paradise beach or to a spectacular ancient ruin at the Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

the location is bad, but the staff was super nice and the place clean and with a friendly atmosphere.
it is not on the beach, and playa del carmen is not a beautiful place at all, but the people working in this small hotel are doing a great job !!!
if you want a beautiful beach go somewhere else, but if you want nightlife this is the place !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js1975ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thank you for your comments! Depends on how you define bad location and beautiful. We find our location very convenient, because we are near by the big scene that happened in the daily life on the 5th avenue and we are not really part of it, located on the 15 avenue we can say that we are a garden in the middle of downtown, one block away from the Foreign Bus station that have busses going to Merida or shuttles to the Airport; if you turn to the right is the Calle 12 where all the nightlife is located, and to the other hand you have the Calle 14 called "Calle Corazon" that is fully packed of nice restaurants and shopping. It depends of your plan if you need a retreat faraway place this is not the right place, this is a very lively part of town to explore and begging your adventures on the Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#66 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#86 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#123 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa del Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa del Karma

Property: Hotel Playa del Karma
Address: Mza 122 Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 Lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa del Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa del Karma, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, is a contemporary ethno-boutique hotel designed primarily with indulgence and service in mind. This Playa del Carmen hotel with its prime location in the heart of the youngest and liveliest city in the Riviera Maya and its close proximity to the Quinta Avenida is centrally located, allowing guests the convenience to access diverse tourist attractions that accommodate all interests and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa del Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Karma Hotel
Playa Del Karma Carmen
Hotel Playa Del Karma Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing