We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST VACATION OF MY LIFE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #16 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST VACATION OF MY LIFE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

207 Porto Playa Penthouse far exceeded our expectations!

It was simply wonderful!! The condo was beautiful and completely relaxing. The staff was gracious and accommodating. The maintenance workers were very polite and considerate. The gym was state of the art and fully equipped. The facilities were impeccable and our stay was beyond fabulous.

A huge shout out goes to the Indigo Beach Club…. They by and far are outstanding!! Every single thing on their menu was delicious. A huge shout out to Pedro, Joaquin, Hugo and a host of other servers that went out of their way to provide top notch service. The quality of service and the quality of their food superseded anything we have ever experienced!! I’m sure we gained 10 pounds and it was worth every bit of it. The food at Indigo was better than every single other place in Playa….they put them all to shame. The drinks were incredible, but most of all what stood out to me was the authentic niceness of the staff…it wasn’t a put-on, it was genuine. There is nothing I would change about our vacation…it was just awesome in every single way.

We are already looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    99
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
241
179
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights while travelling in the Yucatan. We didn't really use many amenities offered by the hotel as we were more focused on exploring the area. However, there's nothing we can complain about.

The hotel is located very close to the beach, 2mins walk from the 5th Avenue. We had some minor problems finding the hotel initially so it would help if the hotel was better labelled. The check-in was flawless and we were presented with all possible services offered by the hotel. These included free breakfast, beach club access and 10min of massage.

Our condo was very big and I'm sure it would fit a 4-person (or even bigger) family. We did not cook but it was clear that the kitchen was very well equipped. I read some reviews complaining about doors/locks but our lock turned out perfectly fine and we never had any problems locking the door.

As for the breakfast, both restaurants offer fairly small portions so if you like larger breakfast, you might not be satisfied. Apart from that, it was very good and both restaurants were about 2-3mins walk from the hotel so distance wasn't a problem.

We went to the swimming pool a few times and we were always the only ones using it. Same goes for the top jacuzzi (the bottom one actually seemed pretty busy). Water was warm and the pool area seemed very clean.

One problem we had was during a very heavy storm - the ceiling above the toilet started leaking (water was even flowing from the lamp, which looked a bit dangerous). We called the reception desk and after 15mins the receptionist unlocked the second bathroom for us. I was very happy with the way the situation was handled. The receptionist was also helpful with the Cozumel ferry and other nearby attractions.

Both of us were very pleased with the stay. However, we found the hotel to be more suited for families. It just didn't have the intimate/cosy feeling perfect for couples. This is not a bad thing at all - we just thought it had a slightly different target. I am pretty sure that it's ideal for families/larger groups though.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. Not many people stayed in the hotel at the time so we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WojciechWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very comfortable, modern, spacious condos. We had a two bed, two bath condo with a good sized kitchen. The gym in the building is very clean and modern and the pool and hot tubs are great. The included breakfasts at a nearby restaurant are also quite good.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, including Erick Perez at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The condo was clean and in a great location. There is a lot of construction in the area. We heard pounding, drilling and grinding constantly. We had to complain twice about the noise the first time it was still happening at 7pm a few days later they were hammering at midnight. The office took care of it but still a major annoyance. We were in 220 with a rooftop area. I probably would not spend the extra money for it again. We just never spent much time up there. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lighthouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was very happy initially, even with the lack of ramp for our toddler's stroller, and the sliding doors in our condo (there is a gape that could allow someone to slide it and break-in), but not allowing us to use our extra booked night as future credit, surely takes the cake. We mistakenly booked an extra night with the wedding planner and instead of allowing us to utilize it as future credit (and guaranteeing future revenue for them) they refused the credit. Not cool. THey should also find out if there are kids staying there and place rugs down so they don't slip on the concrete as my 20 month old did, or simply don't advertise it for families with small children. BUt really the lack of credit presents an issue for us. The pool was great for my son, the staff was wonderful (bring plenty of tip money, they deserve it) but the policy of the Condo Association is penny-wise-pound-foolish.

Room Tip: If you have small kids or handicap, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HurricaneCami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Desert, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this condo hotel. The staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful. We were right next to 5th Ave....but without the noise!! The location was right in the middle of the main business/restaurant row. A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hands down my favorite place to stay in Playa. The location is fantastic. The condos are comfortable with everyrhing you need. Breakfast is delicious and the beach club is the best. It's such a great place to stay, low key, has a great gym, the pool is small but comfortable. It is everything that I want when I stay at a condo hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diddleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing