We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family or couple that wants flexibility - Unit 212”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Great for a family or couple that wants flexibility - Unit 212”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Wow! We really enjoyed staying here in Unit 212. First off, it was great for family because it has two pools, so my son practically swam in them the whole time. The kitchen and the bedrooms made it ideal for a family as well.

The hotel is right by the main area of attraction, so we were able to eat out anytime and enjoyed the restaurants. However, they weren't as cheap as you would think they might be if you wanted to go to the nice restaurants, so we loved having the kitchen in the condo to make our own food (we shopped at the local Big M) and ate on the patio table listening to the sounds of the fountain. The patio looks out at the lush courtyard and one of the pools/hottub (which never had more than one or two people in it). There were two bedrooms and two bathrooms, so that was perfect as my husband and I were actually on a sort of honeymoon and we liked being able to have our own time ;-).

We were one block from the beach, so we walked down there frequently (they give you beach towels to use). My son played in the sand, but it didn't end up in the room because it was a block away. I ran on the beach a few mornings, but also worked out in a nice gym which they allow you to use, which is attached to the building.

There is a lot of nightlife near the hotel, but we tended to be to bed early and woke early so missed most of it. However, we never heard any activity at night from our room. The inside of the condo was beautiful, modern and the floors were stone (I am not a lover of carpet). The kitchen had appliances and there was a tV and DVD player. The cleaning people and concierge were outstanding and kind (they found someone to sew a torn hem on my pants).

We rented a car for two days in Playa del Carmen (rather than the airport) and took it to Tulum, Rio Secreto and Punta Laguna nature reserve. And of course, we went to Chi Chen Itza. I think renting one in town and riding a shuttle to the airport is the way to go costwise. The shuttles were fairly cheap but the airport car rentals were really expensive.

We are going again in the future but will bring mother-in-law with us and feel like this will be the perfect place to stay because of the fair amount of space. We will definitely ask for the same room again, because we like that it was in the courtyard (no stairs), yet very private with all the foliage. THanks much for a great vacation!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganMom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    107
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
270
188
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

If you want to stay in a fun town, with lots of excellent restaurants, a beautiful beach, and exciting night life, then you have come to the right place. Did I also mention that this happens to be absolutely the best condo I've ever stayed in? Located one short block from the beach, and within a 2 minute walk from the coolest clubs and restaurants, this condo is both luxurious and cozy. It has a nice contemporary look and all of the amenities you could possibly want in a condo (this includes a terrace/patio on the top level with a grill and a hottub, which overlooks the beatiful pool and garden with a view of the ocean). There were six of us staying the whole week, and we all had plenty of room and privacy. For those that like to work out while on vacation (not me personally), there is a really nice fitness club attached to the hotel, where guests get to go for free. For the rest of us that are there to get some sun and relax, walk a block to the beach and park yourself on some comfy loungers right on the beach (again, free to guests of the condo). All in all, it was an absolute blast! Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at the Playa Condos in Playa del Carmen. Our unit was #215 on the ground floor facing the garden. We looked out on the lovely pool and water fall, while our bedrooms faced the back where it was very quiet. The condo was beautifully decorated and felt like home. There were two bedrooms and two baths, offering us more than enough room and privacy. You simply can't beat the location just one block to the beach and one block to 5th Avenue with all the shopping, dining, and night life. Playa offers something for everyone and we couldn't recommend staying at the Playa Condos more!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellover215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed in room 212 Porto Playa and we loved it. The location is great: one block from the beach and next to shopping/dining area. The property is very clean and green with a wonderful pool. A gym (extra but not expensive) is the same building (try their smoothies!). The condo has two bedrooms with nice isolation. Large and cozy common area. Nice and new everything. Huge bathroom! Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetacary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed in unit #212 in the Porto Playa Condos most recently in April of 2010. This was our third trip to Playa and we stayed at the same location each time. The condos are clean, comfortable and modern with all the amenities (big screen TV, full kitchen, elegant marble appointed bathrooms) that you could possibly need. They are surrounded by lush gardens complete with a roof top pool. An added plus is that the complex is guard gated so we felt very safe. There is a staff person available to help schedule sight seeing trips, arrange for car services and made recommendations for restaurants. It is a short walk to fantastic shopping and beautiful beaches where you can rent (very inexpensively) umbrellas, lounge chairs and receive beachside food and beverage service. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time in Playa del Carmen and would give Porto Playa very high marks.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronvonross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I enjoyed staying in room 212 during our stay in beautiful Playa Del Carmen. It was literally steps off 5th Ave where all the nightlife and restaurants, and cafe's are. (Starbucks was only a few minutes away!!)! The pool was fantastic and perfect to get away from the rush if this is what you were looking for. The pool was never too busy, warm and clean. The maid service was excellent and also the concierge was a big help if and when we needed their service.
The beach was only a short distance from the condo if we chose to spend the day there. Close enough that if you forgot something in the room it was a quick walk back. The Indigo beach club was also great to be tied to the condo so we didn't have to search for somewhere to sit on the beach. The service, drinks and food was spectacular at Indigo also!
I highly recommend this Condo because it is quiet, there were no large crowds. The grounds are beautiful and we will be returning for another vacation soon!! It was amazing to see what we saw once we walked through the entrance! Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This is a terrific complex! We had a penthouse with a rooftop terrace... Loved it. The photos were 100% accurate, the location was perfect.
The pool and grounds were immaculate. Great service... What more could you want?
The beach is a half a block away and all the action is around the corner.
I highly recommend Porto Playa and rm 217

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKHartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#36 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing