We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was okay but the nightlife rocks in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Ranked #193 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel was okay but the nightlife rocks in the area!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Blue Parrot hotel itself is ok. The first room they gave us was a disaster but they were accommodating and switched us right away to a decent and clean room. It was spacious and had all basic ammenities. The reception desk was unusually always closed (only open around 9am til 10pm)... but nonetheless they took care of us.

The BEST part of it it's the beach nightclub... you get free entrance (no cover charge) when you are a guest at the hotel. We had tons of fun! there are two different dance floors and it's on the beach! so be aware ladies that you will end up removing your high heels or platforms... sands gets all over and that's the most fun! removing those shoes and dancing all night!

This is definitely NOT your hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet, all the main nightclubs are within blocks... so if you are party animals like my husband and I, then I would highly suggest it! No need to pay a cab and no worrying about drinking and driving.

Room Tip: try to choose the room closest not too further down and not too close to 5ta ave... it's a boist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surge527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    36
    16
    29
See reviews for
19
42
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you're staying in downtown playa del carmen, this is probably one of your better choices. It's a good value, rooms are fairly clean, pretty basic.
The pool at the suites location is nice to look at, but not practical for swimming. But that's what the beach is there for anyways. And if you wanted a huge pool with a swim up bar you'd be at one of those all inclusive resorts on the riviera maya.
The breakfast was lame, just a cup of coffee and some sliced fruit. Get breakfast at a local place, it's worth the extra few dollars

It's a great place to stay with a group of friends. Plus you get free admission to the Blue parrot club on the beach at night, and free beach chairs during the day. Those can add up believe it or not.

Room Tip: ask for upgrades, especially during the low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krashtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Be careful with the staff of this place. We were a party of 8 people and asked for 8 cocktails, the gave us 6 cocktails without alcohol and 2 with alcohol. They assume we were drunk and we were not going to notice that they were stealing us selling drinks without alcohol. We were very polite asking the waiter to change our drinks, but he started yelling at us, he was very rude. We did not want to ruin our night fighting with that guy so we called the manager and we told her what happened. The waiter told us the amount we owed but he did not provide a receipt. I asked him that he must provide a receipt but he told me that I needed some kind of mexican number in order to get a receipt.
Very bad experience, do not go there.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Torcaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great location, great service from the hotel staff but not from the beach club staff. Beach club entrance and breakfast was included so that was great. Enjoyed the club! Staff at club is money hungry therefor you will not get treated well unless you blow money. Would not recommend sharing room with another couple or anyone you're not comfortable seeing you naked since the shower is not enclosed and you can be seen from the sink/vanity mirror.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alcira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

There is a major scam going on at the Blue Parrott bar on 12th Avenue and the beach. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights there are street touts outside the entrance "selling" wrist bands to enter the bar. They will promise you a free drink with the band and tell you that all drink are free for the ladies. After paying the guy money for the wrist band to get in you will soon discover that this is all untrue! When we complained to the management and door staff they said that it is not their problem and we would have to talk to the guy who sold us the wrist band. This is clearly a scam co ordinated with The Blue Parrot as the staff at the entrance to the Blue parrott scan the bar code on your wrist band and are fully aware of the guy in the street selling the bands as its the only way to enter the club.

When we asked for our money back the manager got violent and threatened to punch us and through us out! Be warned!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank mexistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The Blue Parrot is an OK hotel if you want to be right in the middle of the action. It's in the middle of 5th Av which is great for getting around, but it's LOUD at night with music lasting until about 3 a.m. So I guess if you plan to stay up late and party it would be OK to stay here, but I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolo4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We were on a 10 day trip in Cancun, but decided to take a day/night trip to Playa del Carmen to show our friends as they had never been to PDC before. We arrived with a small group that afternoon and did the beach clubs/5th Ave stroll - drinks, shopping, drinks, dinner. Only us and another couple were staying overnight, so as we made our way up and down 5th, we would check out the hotel rates of various places. We chose Blue Parrot on 5th and were very pleased.

The rate for each room (one was a King, the other two Queens) was about $65/room. This rate included a nice/simple breakfast which consisted of a fresh fluit place and toast out on the beach. It also included the cover for the Blue Parrot club that night as well as beach chairs the next day.

The room was cute. Older, but with a modern touch. LOVED it. The shower is in the room and only separated by a cement wall, so if you are just friends it could be a bit awkward for the lack of privacy. I was with my hubby and could care less. The bed was hard, but slept wonderfully.

Room amenities included two small bottles of water, shampoo, soap - the usual. I think there also was a coffee machine, but we don't use it so I don't pay that much attention.

Noise from the club could be an issue. I opted to stay in that night while the others went to the clubs. Yes, I could hear the music, but it definately didn't keep me up at all.

I'd have no problem staying here again, or recommending it to anyone else. In that recommendation, I would be sure to mention that noise could be a problem but for us it wasn't. In fact, the couple that was with us LOVED LOVED LOVED it all. They fell in love with Playa del Carmen immediately, but also with the Blue Parrot hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZsaZsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#127 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#112 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Property: Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Address: Avenida 5, Norte 16st, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot 5th Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Parrot 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing