We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if you can put up with the noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Ranked #191 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value if you can put up with the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

The Blue Parrot is centrally located on 5th Avenue which is the main strip of Playa Del Carmen which has numerous bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel was reasonably priced for bed and breakfast and the room was adequate for a our needs and well maintained. There is a large shower area separate from the toilet.
The other part of the hotel is literally round the corner on the beach front and this is where you go for breakfast and have access to the sunbeds.
Breakfast included in the price is fruit and toast but other items are available if you want to purchase them. We ate lunch in the restaurant a couple of times and it was reasonably priced, good food.
The hotel has cards which enable you to get 50% off at The Gym which is just down the road although it still cost about £5.
The safe can be used for free and there is free wifi when at the beach front part of the hotel.
I enjoyed my stay at the Blue Parrot but the noise from the nightclub at night did impact. It literally reverberates the room from about 11pm to 5am (I knew what time it was whenever I woke up in the night by whether the music was still going). My advice would be to stay out till 5am!
We did drink in the Blue Parrot on a couple of occasions. Girls get in free and we were given plenty of alcohol (although probably not of the best quality but what do you expect for free!)
The hotel isn't luxury but it certainly has character.
We took the bus from the airport to Playa which cost about £6 each and took around an hour.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxtigerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    33
    16
    26
See reviews for
16
40
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

There are so many nice hotels in Playa del Carmen. There is no reason at all to stay in this dirty, noisy over priced hotel. Many people have had things stolen from their rooms so be warned! The bar also sells very bad drinks that have been watered down or have no alcohol at all in! If you are offered to buy a wrist band for free drinks all night this is a lie!!! You wont get your money back! The management is unfriendly and will threaten you with violence if you make a complaint about anything!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is our fourth time staying at the Blue Parrot, which tells you we certainly find it a good place to be. The location is perfect on Quinte Avenida at Calle 12, with almost everything within walking distance, including the Cozumel Ferry!

We had the large room acing Quinta Avenida with a small balcony and had no problems with the walking traffic or the music from the Tequila Bar across the street. The fans operated well, but the a/c was slow to cool the large room, but we learned to ask the security guard to turn it on if we were going to be away for the day and that worked fine, as we did leave t spend the day at Xcaret.

The bedding was great. The shower was fine..it is quite common not to have doors on showers i Mexico. They are built so the water drains away from the adjoining area! We did miss the old restaurant Playasia, but there are lots of other restaurants nearby, like the Blue Lobster, as well as The Glass House/Di Vino. The staff were very accommodating he price was excellent for the location.

There is no parking on Quinta Avenida, so if you have a car, there is a 3 storey garage behind Coco Bongo at 200 pesos for 24 hours and it is very secure! It is just four blocks from the Blue Parrot on 10th Avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Playa is a cute town with beautiful beach on the Caribbean sea and all that beauty softens me and cool me down when I found out that they stole the money from our room. We got the room without safety box so they took advantage of that to stole the money we placed in hidden pocket. There were other valuable things that we were keeping in the room which can be even easier to steel if you are in hurry but they obviously had time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tijana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Cool location directly at the Quinta Avenida, very nice rooms. Be prepared to hear the music from Calle 12, don't go there with families. Good for people who like to go out at night!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I can't say the place isn't nice, in fact the location is really good: in the middle of Playa's 5th Ave., with shops, restaurants, and clubs in front and all around. The hotel's beach club is just a block away. At night they have this amazing fire show with dancers. We couldn't sleep the two nights we stayed there, the first room - a suite - faces the 5th Ave so the noise is constant, and to make it worse the a/c unit and ceiling fans did their part with the noise as well. Next morning we switched to a smaller room in the back, and at night the noise was even worst from the clubs down the back street. We had to ask for extra towels, which weren't delivered but were waiting at the security booth for us to go for them, because in both rooms half of the water in the shower goes in the drain, the other half goes outside: there's no door in the shower. The products available in the bathroom (shampoo, lotion, and bath gel) are really good.
The Playasia restaurant, which is still shown on the hotel's website as one of the main features, is no longer operating, and also there is no mini-bar in the suite, also advertised in the website.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the middle of the action, don't stay here, much better options can be found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. My husband and I love boutique hotels and usually are very pleased, but this was like staying in a cheap college apartment from the 1980's. Our room was not clean (huge dust bunnies on the floor and on the fans, the sheets had stains on them, and it seemed like the shower had not been cleaned from the previous guest). The cupboards were all crooked and everything else was majorly outdated.

We didn't trust the hotel staff - no smiles as we passed them by, just a nod usually, just overall unfriendly and questionable.

It rained our 2nd night there, and water came pouring in the front door - we had to put a towel in front of the door crack. Our bathroom also had water constantly on the floor due to the shower - no matter how we turned the shower head, water got out of the shower and pooled on the bathroom floor.

We called the front desk 3 times during our stay, each time with no answer.

Just a completely disappointing experience. We wished we had stayed in Tulum at our amazing little hotel called Piedra Escondida!

We were so happy to leave The Blue Parrot and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinIsmerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#109 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#126 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Hotel Maya Turquesa
#198 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Property: Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Address: Avenida 5, Norte 16st, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot 5th Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blue Parrot 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing