We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #118 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here many times since opened two years ago. Nice rooms, staff a bit slow, but nice. Rooms are all new and clean. Try to get an up-grade to a suite, very nice & large. Pool, is Ok, not near the beach. We use as a one night stop en-route to Chetumal. Good breakfast. Another good value for less than $100 bucks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

We wanted to avoid the busy scene of a Saturday arrival at Cancun airport, and found we could save a large amount on our flight as well by leaving on Thursday. We chose the HIE in PdC, as we would switch to our timeshare just south of there 2 days later. We enjoyed the clean room, the continental breakfast, and great help from the concierge. We enjoy walking, so we explored PdC and 5th Avenue without using a cab, If you need a store for snacks or more, Chedraui (like Target) is close. We ate at Rolandis and Casa Adela's, and know there are other fine restaurants, such as La Perilla, also in PdC.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank WayfaringPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

No, it is not on the beach, but an extremely clean hotel. Not a 'resort' type setting, so if that's what you are looking for, this isn't for you, you will be dissappointed.. We knew we'd be doing day trips to Akumal, etc.. so figured this would work out for us and it did perfectly.
Staff very accomodating, as soon as I asked for something - towles, etc.. they were brought up to room within minutes..Decent spread for breakfast - mix of Mexican and American offerings. I noticed there were people waiting to replenish the fruits, etc.. as soon as trays on buffet became empty. Hot foods (eggs, etc..) were hot. The hot chocolate is wonderful!!

The shuttle DOES leave when it is supposed to (don't have to wait around for it, etc..). I can understand why there is no shuttle back from beach. They use a lovely new mini-van that would get trashed with sand, bathing suits, etc.

Beach Club (coco maya) appears to be one of the older beach clubs, not as fancy as some of the others and you can't swim directly in front of it (boats docked there), but the staff there were wonderful and they make the best fish tacos.!! Their beer was a little on the high side but just pack a cooler back with store bought corona's and you'll be all set. They didnt' seem to have a problem with us having our own drinks..

We stayed four nights with teens and thoroughly enjoyed it. Pool out back was refreshing to sit by in the afternoon for an hour or so. Wish there were more seating options out back thoug and that we could have sat out side after returning from dinner but they close the pool area at 10 - my guess is so there are no noise issues with guests. This appeared to be a hotel geared toward tourists and local business travellers. No problems with college kids making noise, etc..I suspect that would not be tolerated here..

Next trip to Playa would gladly stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We spent one night at this hotel and we very pleased. We got a great price and expected very little. The rooms are basic but were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is not located near the beach or shopping/restaurants so we wouldn't stay there for more than a couple nights. I was thrilled with everything about our stay until we went to the breakfast buffet that's included. The options are very limited and once I saw moldy bread I was grossed out so we decided to head somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I go to Playa often and usually stay in one of the in town properties. I had not previously chosen the H I because it is a little out of the center. This trip ( Feb14-19) I went there because it was the best value I could find. I am glad that I did . The room was large with a king bed ( 2 types of pillows); a work table with a LAN plug; an armoire with TV (some English channels); an an OK sized bathroom (with a coffee maker) with a shower. VERY clean. The included breakfast was fine and always replaced when low; coffee, juice, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, sweet rolls, toast bread, pancakes, scrambled eggs, and frijoles. They have a decent sized pool (and towels) with some tables and lounges. They offer a beach shuttle to town 6 times a day and you can go to one of the "beach clubs" and use their area without paying. Of course they hope that you will buy some food and drink at the restaurant. I used this shuttle to get to the bus station for my trip back to the airport.
Location- Take a right turn out of the lobby and it is a 12 minute walk from the hotel to the edge of town, and then another 5 minutes to 5th Avenue. Take a left turn and it is 5 minutes to a big supermarket and then 12 minutes to the bus station and 5th Ave.
They also have WiFi which works in the breakfast room and the lobby.
2 small things: the ice machine is behind the front desk so you have to go down there when you want ice. There are no small fridges in the rooms.
Overall- friendly staff and a good value. I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallyaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

tHIS HOTLE IS GREAT!!!!!!...... The way we were treated from the time we checked in to the time we checked out was nothing but great service....... If there is anything you need just ask, they will do whatever they can to do it for you.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papabear542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Truthfully, my husband and I felt like we had should have paid more.... free breakfast is a buffet, very nice rooms, grounds, pool and professional helpful staff. We felt very much at home browsing about this hotel and the city areas too.
As I said, they don't have a beach but the pool area is very nice with palm trees. The beach is blocks away. We use this hotel as a fill in before/after a week somewhere else on the beach.
We stay here every time we are in the area and have had no negative experiences to report.
Relax and enjoy staying here in wonderful Playa Del Carmen... ready to return : )

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NC2CUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#111 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#120 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Address: Mz 29 Fracc Playacar Lt 5, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £38 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing