We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for easy to find, clean, and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #119 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good choice for easy to find, clean, and affordable.”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was my third stay with Holiday Inn Express in Playacar. It is consistently priced around $71US and always clean. The staff speaks English. It is a great place to stay for anyone needing a stopover. They have a beautiful resort style pool, but I have never seen anyone there. I think because the location of the hotel does not have the vacation feel to it but we chose it for the easy to find location and access to the main highway. The buffet is nothing special. The coffee is weak....but that is just me.

Room Tip: NO WiFi....which I find surprising! They offer free ethernet connection. You have to get the cable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    183
    104
    43
    24
See reviews for
164
161
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed here a lot, for business, i wanted to write this because every time there is an angry tourist, staying here, this is no a hotel for tourist, is a hotel for business, the hotel is perfectly located and its very clean and tidy, but it is near the main highway no the beaches, and the facilities are for what a business person needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now, and each time the service from the staff has been exceptionally poor. The hotel itself is more than adequate, very much top-notch Holiday Inn standard. It is modern, clean, has a nice pool and provides a great breakfast service. It is quite well-located being on the fringes of Playa.
During our last stay here, we booked online before arriving at the hotel, as we wanted a speedy check-in. Unfortunately, when we arrived the hotel did not appear to have received the booking via Expedia. The staff were not especially helpful and had us waiting for nearly 30 minutes at the reception desk without apology, whilst they tried to track down our booking. The two young men on reception were definitely lacking in the customer service element of hospitality, to the point I felt it was almost downright rude!

We also had an altercation in the following morning with one of these gentleman 'Omar' when we were leaving. My husband asked Omar to order us a taxi mini-bus as we had a lot of luggage. Their courtesy shuttle bus pulled up and their driver loaded our luggage and was ready to take us down to the ferry. We thought Omar had called the driver, but he then made the driver unload the luggage, telling us we had to get a taxi and that the courtesy minibus was not for travel to the ferry dock. Even the driver seemed surprised.

So we asked (yet again) for Omar to order a taxi, and 10 minutes later a small taxi-car pulls up! Useless as we had about 10 bags with us. Luckily the taxi-driver managed to radio and sort a taxi bus for us.

This experience certainly tainted our perception of the Holiday Inn at Playacar, and I do not think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

sav260
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a great option for a stay in Playa del Carmen. Its located right next to the air strip in Playa and right on the road that connects Playa with Cancun and Chetumal. Be warned that you are not next to the beach but the hotel makes up by having a shuttle that takes you to two different beach clubs at schedule times for drop off and pick up. Rooms are big, beds are very comfortable and the ground are immaculate. The breakfast does the job to fill you up before you go out for the day. The front desk people are very helpful and knowledgeable; when we asked for recommendation for places to eat (El Fogon and La Bamba Harocha) they were always spot on and even when we were in the need for a place to wash clothes they told us were to go ( Maya Lav). We would stay here again with out a question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool they will be quite and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sav260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here many times since opened two years ago. Nice rooms, staff a bit slow, but nice. Rooms are all new and clean. Try to get an up-grade to a suite, very nice & large. Pool, is Ok, not near the beach. We use as a one night stop en-route to Chetumal. Good breakfast. Another good value for less than $100 bucks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul MN
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We wanted to avoid the busy scene of a Saturday arrival at Cancun airport, and found we could save a large amount on our flight as well by leaving on Thursday. We chose the HIE in PdC, as we would switch to our timeshare just south of there 2 days later. We enjoyed the clean room, the continental breakfast, and great help from the concierge. We enjoy walking, so we explored PdC and 5th Avenue without using a cab, If you need a store for snacks or more, Chedraui (like Target) is close. We ate at Rolandis and Casa Adela's, and know there are other fine restaurants, such as La Perilla, also in PdC.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

No, it is not on the beach, but an extremely clean hotel. Not a 'resort' type setting, so if that's what you are looking for, this isn't for you, you will be dissappointed.. We knew we'd be doing day trips to Akumal, etc.. so figured this would work out for us and it did perfectly.
Staff very accomodating, as soon as I asked for something - towles, etc.. they were brought up to room within minutes..Decent spread for breakfast - mix of Mexican and American offerings. I noticed there were people waiting to replenish the fruits, etc.. as soon as trays on buffet became empty. Hot foods (eggs, etc..) were hot. The hot chocolate is wonderful!!

The shuttle DOES leave when it is supposed to (don't have to wait around for it, etc..). I can understand why there is no shuttle back from beach. They use a lovely new mini-van that would get trashed with sand, bathing suits, etc.

Beach Club (coco maya) appears to be one of the older beach clubs, not as fancy as some of the others and you can't swim directly in front of it (boats docked there), but the staff there were wonderful and they make the best fish tacos.!! Their beer was a little on the high side but just pack a cooler back with store bought corona's and you'll be all set. They didnt' seem to have a problem with us having our own drinks..

We stayed four nights with teens and thoroughly enjoyed it. Pool out back was refreshing to sit by in the afternoon for an hour or so. Wish there were more seating options out back thoug and that we could have sat out side after returning from dinner but they close the pool area at 10 - my guess is so there are no noise issues with guests. This appeared to be a hotel geared toward tourists and local business travellers. No problems with college kids making noise, etc..I suspect that would not be tolerated here..

Next trip to Playa would gladly stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#117 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
1.0 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#74 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#127 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Property: Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Address: Mz 29 Fracc Playacar Lt 5, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing