We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay & cheap !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #123 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always a great stay & cheap !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed here many times, very simple but clean and convenient and a great stepping off point for the trip south to chetumal. Attentive caring staff, clean and decent pool for the kids.

Room Tip: Great, but not on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    175
    103
    43
    24
See reviews for
160
154
20
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Totally agree with others who give this a great rating. Given that a good number of hotels in PDC are not beachfront except for the all inclusives or 5*s, you can't beat the price of the Holiday Inn or the facilities. It is immaculate, quiet, nice size modern rooms, great staff. Yes, it is not on the beach and someowhat near highway but you cannot hear the highway at all. The pool area is somewhat small but it is beautiful back there in the mornings and for late afternoons before when you return from the beach and want to crack open a beer. We stayed last Feb for 4 nights and are returning this Feb as well. A little walk from downtown but after dinner and margaritas so what? Shuttle to beach club is a nice feature and the Beach Club, although not as fancy as Kool or Wicky's is sufficient. They have the best Fish Tacos and staff is very nice there.
If I were staying in PDC for a week and just wanted to crash at a resort type place, I might like someplace with more amenities but if you are like us and do some travelling around the area to Akumal, etc.. this can't be beat..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

As most of the reviews say, this is not the best location but it has a lot to offer. You can stay on or off of 5th for 25.00 and up but I was warned that the music at near by properties goes to 5AM! If you want a top notch, quiet US style room, you can't go wrong with this very well managed property. It has always been spotless, the front desk is excellent and everyone speaks very good English. The people at the beach club are terrific and food and drinks are not unreasonably priced, umbrellas at no charge "although would expect that you would buy something" ($20.00 in Miami and no services). The shuttle will take you one way there and it's 700 pesos for a taxi back or about a 25 minute walk. Shuttle runs from about 9:00 to 5:00 each hour and they are happy to drop you off near the bus station or along 5th. Walking to 5th is less then 15 minutes. I'm brand loyal to Priority Club and staying here helps me earn my points so for me it's very much worth the trade off of locations.

Room Tip: Pay for the taxi with Pesos to get the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cincitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was my third stay with Holiday Inn Express in Playacar. It is consistently priced around $71US and always clean. The staff speaks English. It is a great place to stay for anyone needing a stopover. They have a beautiful resort style pool, but I have never seen anyone there. I think because the location of the hotel does not have the vacation feel to it but we chose it for the easy to find location and access to the main highway. The buffet is nothing special. The coffee is weak....but that is just me.

Room Tip: NO WiFi....which I find surprising! They offer free ethernet connection. You have to get the cable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed here a lot, for business, i wanted to write this because every time there is an angry tourist, staying here, this is no a hotel for tourist, is a hotel for business, the hotel is perfectly located and its very clean and tidy, but it is near the main highway no the beaches, and the facilities are for what a business person needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now, and each time the service from the staff has been exceptionally poor. The hotel itself is more than adequate, very much top-notch Holiday Inn standard. It is modern, clean, has a nice pool and provides a great breakfast service. It is quite well-located being on the fringes of Playa.
During our last stay here, we booked online before arriving at the hotel, as we wanted a speedy check-in. Unfortunately, when we arrived the hotel did not appear to have received the booking via Expedia. The staff were not especially helpful and had us waiting for nearly 30 minutes at the reception desk without apology, whilst they tried to track down our booking. The two young men on reception were definitely lacking in the customer service element of hospitality, to the point I felt it was almost downright rude!

We also had an altercation in the following morning with one of these gentleman 'Omar' when we were leaving. My husband asked Omar to order us a taxi mini-bus as we had a lot of luggage. Their courtesy shuttle bus pulled up and their driver loaded our luggage and was ready to take us down to the ferry. We thought Omar had called the driver, but he then made the driver unload the luggage, telling us we had to get a taxi and that the courtesy minibus was not for travel to the ferry dock. Even the driver seemed surprised.

So we asked (yet again) for Omar to order a taxi, and 10 minutes later a small taxi-car pulls up! Useless as we had about 10 bags with us. Luckily the taxi-driver managed to radio and sort a taxi bus for us.

This experience certainly tainted our perception of the Holiday Inn at Playacar, and I do not think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

sav260
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a great option for a stay in Playa del Carmen. Its located right next to the air strip in Playa and right on the road that connects Playa with Cancun and Chetumal. Be warned that you are not next to the beach but the hotel makes up by having a shuttle that takes you to two different beach clubs at schedule times for drop off and pick up. Rooms are big, beds are very comfortable and the ground are immaculate. The breakfast does the job to fill you up before you go out for the day. The front desk people are very helpful and knowledgeable; when we asked for recommendation for places to eat (El Fogon and La Bamba Harocha) they were always spot on and even when we were in the need for a place to wash clothes they told us were to go ( Maya Lav). We would stay here again with out a question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool they will be quite and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sav260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#89 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#110 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Property: Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Address: Mz 29 Fracc Playacar Lt 5, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing