We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #115 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel from July 2nd to 4th. We were in the area for our wedding anniversary, and the hotel staff made special arrangements during our stay! Very kind of them to do so!

This is a very nice hotel for away from all the hustle and bustle of Avinida 5 area.
Taxi fare to the hotel is 70 pesos from heart of Playa del Carmen. Pretty quick car ride. Most we paid for taxi fare on our stay was 90 pesos from a local restaurant we visited.

There is also a shuttle bus that takes off periodically to take you to designated locations around town. Our driver was more accommodating and dropped us off exactly where we wanted to go.
This is a one-way only shuttle, however. Hotel staff advised us before we got on the shuttle that we would have to find our own transportation back. Which is not a problem in this area, considering plentiful and cheap taxis.

The rooms were very clean, and the staff did an amazing job refreshing the rooms. We found the breakfast was very good. Front desk staff and concierge were all very professional and helpful.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, although breakfast is served. We found that there are quite a few delivery options in the area. Had no problem ordering food one night.

Overall, excellent stay, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest:

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a destination wedding in Playa del Carmen and rented a house for 5 nights, after all the celebrations we booked at the Holiday Inn Express with the rest of our family. The prices are very affordable and the overall property is very clean and updated.
The rooms are very nice and clean.
The complimentary breakfast if very good- it includes juices, coffee, tea, toast, cereal, eggs, beans, meats, etc... One thing to know is that the breakfast is the same everyday, but we didn't mind.
There is a business center where we could use the computers and the printer for no fee. This was useful because we purchased Tours to Xcaret and Xplor online and printed the confirmation page there.
The wifi is excellent! It is also included and can be used anywhere on the property. The signal works great!
The pool area is basic but clean and nice.
The location is away from downtown, but not too far. You can walk and be there in 15 min. or take a taxi for an approx price of 70 pesos or less. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle with 4 stops downtown. There is no pick up though.
The hotel also gave us a bracelet to Senor Frogs beach club, this gave us access to the beach where we could use their beach chairs. The hotel also provides beach towels, but you need to leave a photo id with them.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest:

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is in playacar not close to the beach but they provide transportation to the beach club.
They built a new area,so the rooms are new, very clean and very nice.
they give complimentary breakfast, it is good with juices, fruits, coffe, tea, cereals, eggs, pancakes etc.
The location is very good near playa del carmen beaches, cenotes, Akumal, Puerto aventuras, even tulum etc

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IRALELI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments. We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations. We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at HIE Playa del Carmen with her parents for 4 nights on a road trip around the Yucatan. Given that we're used to staying in budget or mid-range family-run hostels and guesthouses, we never considered that an international brand hotel would end up being the most economical place for four people. Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and we were very happy with our stay.

Pros: First the good stuff. Either the place is newer or has just gone through extensive renovation. It's a nice place, by any standard. Very clean and well-maintained. Our room was very spacious, even with four adults, with two large beds and lots of room to spare. The pool was clean and never crowded, even with hotel at capacity. Good Mexican buffet breakfast (complimentary) and complimentary access to two beach clubs down at the beach (Senior Frogs and another).

Cons: The main issue we had was that the advertised free shuttle between the hotel and the main plaza/ beach was in the shop and no arrangements had been made to get a replacement in the mean time. The beach/ plaza is only a mile down a very walkable (if hot!) avenue with wide, street light lined sidewalks; generally this isn't a problem for us, but my father-in-law sometimes has mobility issues and we booked the hotel with the understanding that there would be a working shuttle. To the hotel staff's credit, they were able to arrange alternate transportation on a few occasions for him, but really, there should have been an alternative solution for all guests. In addition to the shuttle issue, two of the mornings staff had drastically underestimated the number of guests for the breakfast buffet, and by 8:30 or 9am they were cleaned out. Additionally, the breakfast wasn't quite on par with the HIE Cancun that we stayed at a few days prior.

All in all, good value for the money, as others have pointed out. If they can get their shuttle and breakfast kinks worked out, it will be a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Recently my family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Playa del Carmen. This is a nice hotel which is reasonably priced. The hotel offers a wonderful buffet each morning with a number of hot dishes, scrambled eggs, muffins, lots of juice, hot coffee, a variety of cereals, toast and some sweets for those with a sweet tooth.
The hotel tends to appeal to Mexican clientele as well as a few Europeans and Canadians. There is a nice outdoor hotel in a quiet area of the property. The front desk staff are very friendly and willing to help anytime that is needed. The dining room staff constantly upgrade their breakfast buffet each day with new items added to the menu. The rooms are reasonable and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the downtown area of Playa del Carmen every hour. The hotel offers free internet service. The shuttle also takes guests to the beach where they are able to use the lounges and umbrellas in front ot Senor Frog's. There is a great restaurant around the corner - maybe a 10 minute walk called Vips and this family style restaurant offers a big variety of meals both Mexican and American dining. The Holiday Inn is a great place to stay. It is just minutes off Highway 307 which is the main divided highway from Cancun Airport to Playa del Carmen and on down to Tulum. It is located in a convenient location.

Room Tip: The pool area is a nice quiet place to use the internet and enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Can't fault them for 85USD weekend rates, (81USD weekday). Playa del Carmen has a problem with its central hotels being too noisy and mixed customer service, from here you can walk to centre in 15mins or taxi for 70pesos. I was only going to stay for 1 night but decided to stay for 6-7.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrived at the airport in Cancun , and we already had booked a transport with cancuntransfers.com to Playa Del Carmen. it worked very well, and I must say I enjoyed our stay in HI expresss. I was little surprised that we could not open the windows, but we learned very quickly why, as it was very humid here. The hotel was very clean, good service, but I was not so very keen on the breakfast. As this hotel is located at the western side of the town, there is 10-15 minutes walk to the streets in town. However, as the price for our stay was so good , it really doesn't matter. Yes, I would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0rwegianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#84 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#123 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#128 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#79 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#83 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Address: Mz 29 Fracc Playacar Lt 5, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing