We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel”
Review of Cocos Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocos Cabanas
Ranked #110 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night before heading deeper into Playa del Cramen for a vacation. We stayed in the Queen Cabana, which I believe is less updated than most of the other huts. The location is right by the Grand Sunset Princess, and just off the beach. It is a bit of a walk from the main highway, so a ride is recommended if travelling here from the airport.

The accommadtions we stayed in were pretty basic but for the price we paid, it was fair. The nicer rooms cost a bit more per night. For the one day/night we stayed here, we hung out by the pool, strolled the beach and ate in their restaurant. The food is excellent here and the foliage and ambiance are very relaxing.

If I could make suggestions, my only complaints would be that the Cabana should be equipped with a small safe and mini fridge. It was a bit annoying having to take all our valuables with us everytime we explored.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank getawayOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at Coco's during a recent destination wedding trip and fell in love. While most of the other guests stayed at a pricey resort down the beach, we opted for the affordable Coco's and were thrilled with our choice. Sylvia is a treasure and made us feel like we were staying at an intimate B&B. The food is straight-up delicious—I cannot overstate how much I love their quesadillas. Great pizza. Guests expecting something fancy will be disappointed, but the bed was comfy, the AC worked, and the beach is 100 feet away. I hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennylovesquesadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a quiet, little, family - run "resort" set in the midst of all the "big boys." It was hard to find. But so worth it. Helmut and Sylvie own and run the place and are genuine, helpful and friendly. They built it 16 years ago. It has 7 little cabanas that are clean and comfortable. Get the king size ones if you want a little fridge and kitchenette. We ate several meals there and they were all delicious with attention to detail. It was a very short walk to the beach (there is a small jet ski shop between Coco's and the beach). Close enough to enjoy the ocean breeze through our cabana each night. I would recommend this to anyone who is traveling to this area IF they are renting a car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As always I read the reviews here before booking. Then I saw some negative comments which left me wondering if I'd made the right choice. If you like big, soulless hotel chains, then this isn't for you. If you prefer friendly, authentic & family run then you just might.
It's off the beaten track - the taxi driver needed a lot of help - it's best explained as behind the Hotel Princessa, a large popular hotel about a 30 min walk away. Surrounded by trees and wildlife it's great if you want a more tranquil break. Only a handful of lovely, thatched cabins around a small pool. Plenty of hammocks and not the kind of guests who'll set the alarm for 5 to put their towel on a sun bed they won't need til the afternoon.
The owners are always around and very helpful arranging taxis etc. As you walk to Playa del Carmen along the beach you realise how lucky you are - vast stretches of beach all to yourself. Once in playa you can see why you chose the cabanas.
Breakfast was perfect - fresh fruit salad, pastries etc. There is a lunch and evening menu both of which were popular with guests from other hotels who came to sample the fayre.
Would recommend & will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this lovely, quiet little resort. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything I wanted and more. The restaurant is excellent, pizza, fish and desert were great. The included breakfast was only continental but fresh and good. Nice staff and owners and the beach is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank music_lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a wonderful little spot surrounded by huge all inclusives. Much more our style. The little cabanas are perfect with thatched roofs and so many beautifully designed detais like fountains, gardens and hammocks. We had a nice dinner and highly recommend the shrimp with onions,red bell peppers and a rosemary chili sauce. The wood fired pizza was wonderful too! The staff were all so nice and helpful. What a find! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennwoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found this place to be very enjoyable. A great place to relax and unwind. The food was excellent, and the staff took good care of you. The location near the beach is nice, and we away from the barrage of leaches. You have to go to town if you need attacked by salesmen. We found everything we needed here without leaving. Thanks Sylvia & Helmut. Omar, Eduardo, Demarco, Santiago, and Maria were very attentive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharlieBob917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#106 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
951 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#115 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
308 reviews
3.8 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
221 reviews
6.6 mi away
Amarte Hotel
Amarte Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Maroma
188 reviews
3.2 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Cabanas

Address: Xcalacoco, Lte. 2 ,Punta Bete, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocos Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Cocos Cabanas has 6 cozy Bungalows (3 Queen ,1 King and 2 Junior suites), an outdoor Swimming pool and is just 10 minutes walking or 3 by bike from the beach. All bungalows have A/C, Ceiling Fans and iPod docking stations. The Junior suites come with King Bed and a Futon , Kitchenette, Fridge, Micro, Coffee-maker and all Boutique amenities .The bungalows are built in a typical local style with thatched roofs made of dried and woven palm-tree leaves. They all have tiled flooring and private bathrooms with a shower or bath. Cocos Cabanas offers both Mexican and international cuisine, including pizzas made in Coco's wood-fired oven(Lobster-Pizza), grilled Shrimp, Lobster and Steaks and a range of Mexican appetizers and Main dishes such as Mole poblano, Guacamole,Mixiote, Ceviche or Quesadillas. Guests can relax in the sun loungers or hammocks by the pool, go snorkeling or explore some of the nearby Mayan ruins, including Tulum or Chichen Itza. Ferries to the island of Cozumel leave from Playa del Carmen, about a 20-minute drive from the resort.Just Relax we do the rest!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cocos Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco`s Cabanas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cocos Cabanas Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing