We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Tiny Slice of Paradise”
Review of Cocos Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocos Cabanas
Ranked #112 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
MINNESOTA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Tiny Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Once again I find myself here dreaming about another trip to Coco's - I have been there so many times I have lost count. Yep, I love it. I love absolutely everything about it. It is where my soul wants to go when it comes time to plan a vacation. Sometimes we even go twice in a year. There is nowhere else exactly like it. I have written many reviews and they are all true. There is a tug that I get whenever I think about the place, the family that owns it, the food, the wine, the laughter, the funny bird noises, the palms swaying, the tiny little pool shimmering in the sun, and so on.... There is too much to tell and words can't make up what you feel when you are there. All I can say is go.... and go with someone you love. You will come away loving them more than you did before your trip. Leave a seashell on your patio so I know you were there. 88 days and counting.....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KARI3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    48
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
49
122
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My husband and I felt like we were staying at the beautiful home of good friends: friends who give you plenty of privacy, but also who give the very best of themselves to their guests. The couple who own and run this place are true gems! From the moment we arrived, they made us feel right at home in every way. The food they cook is excellent, as are their potent cocktails! The beach is a few steps away and is totally uncrowded, plus there is a good restaurant (not affiliated with Coco's) on the beach. It is a totally relaxing experience to stay here, with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! It's a short ride to Playa Del Carmen, but away from all the crowds there. In a word: Paradise!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrances801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, bc
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Cocos Cabanas is a very small (5 cabanas) resort-family sort of feel, rather than resort feel. They are in the process of rebuilding the road now, so I can't give directions-other than to say I hope they signpost it, because it was next to impossible to find! Coming from Cancun, you turn at the lights by the Coca Coal/Cristal plant and follow the signs. There is building going on all around, and the beach is no longer remote-it's full of development. But still way quieter than Playa.
The cabanas are nice-comfortable beds, great air conditioning (they don't all have a/c). There is no door between the room and the bathroom, though there are walls-not a lot of privacy, if that's a concern. The palapa roofs are nice, and tile floors are cool on the feet :) There is wi-fi, but only in the restaurant/bar area. Pool is nice to cool off in, and perfect for kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I honeymooned at Coco's Cabanas after reading some great reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't let down! We were a little worried as we traveled to Coco's. You have to go back a very long, bumpy dirt road, but in the end we came out right by the beach and the best little resort in Playa. Helmut and Sylvia and their family make you feel right at home. Their cabanas are very nice and comfortable and the rest of Coco's is a haven for relaxation. Even though Coco's isn't right on the beach the walk to the beach is very short (about 1 minute) so we never minded. The restaurant was amazing and we ate there every night of our trip. Try the lobster pizza and the fresh fish fillet! I highly recommend Coco's, my husband and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I confess we stayed a couple doors down but heard such great things about Coco's Cabanas that we had to go to the restaurant. Helmut and Sylvia own the place with only 5 rooms. The restaurant is nearly impossible to find. Going North from The Tides resort take the first left after you are past The Tides. You go between a couple buildings and are certain you are in the wrong place. After about 100 yards you see a sign and the restaurant. The food there is amazing. We had salmon pizza cooked in a wood fired oven and a great fish filet. This is a personal restaurant since the only people working there are Helmut and Sylvia. I counted 16 chairs but the most people we saw there in 4 trips was 5. Yes we went 4 times in a week.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlemcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

10 years ago while walking on the beach we literally stumbled onto CoCo's Cabanas, met Helmut and his wife and their brand new baby in the pool. The cabanas were new then and we spent a couple of wonderful nights. Over the years we've wondered if the cabanas had survived the massive build up along the Riviera Maya and were happy to see a sign just north of Playa Del Carmen. We were between condo stops and decided to drive in and take a look. Absolutely charming!! Helmut met us like old friends. Rosie is as vivacious as ever and they now have two sons. Some changes: A wood fired pizza oven has been added - absolutely fantastic. Continental breakfast included in the morning with warm bread right out of that oven. And, if it is possible Helmut is an even greater chef than he was 10 years ago! If you are looking for a quiet place to relax in a lush tropical beach setting with great food and wonderful people this is your place. If you have no sense of adventure, prefer all inclusive, stay home and go to the Hilton for a week. j

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRWestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Coco's Cabanas and had a good experience overall. The cabanas stand out in an area that has been taken over by mega resorts and condos. The rooms are clean and adequate for the price. We always had hot water. The food is outstanding, but prices are a little higher than I like to pay for every meal, snack and beverage. Drinking water is not provided, so buying bottles of water got old fast. Also the restaurant/bar close at 9pm. This is inconvenient if you are the kind of person that enjoys night time drinks, as there are no refrigerators or ice available.

The beach is very nice. It is definitely not as remote as I thought it would be. There are numerous resorts sharing this stretch of beach, but it does remain pretty quiet, no vendors. It costs just over $10 to take taxis to and from town, and the winding entrance can be difficult for some drivers to navigate, especially in the dark. We rented a car for a day and had an awesome time exploring Coba and Akumal. I would definitely recommend renting a car for anyone that wants to stay here for more than a few days, see the area and be able to pick up things (i.e. water and bug spray) at the store.

Do bring bug repellant. Jungle+ evening rain= Lots of mosquito bites.

Try the gorganzola and bacon pizza as well as the coconut ice cream with kalhua- you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.8 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#81 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
3.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
658 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Cabanas

Property: Cocos Cabanas
Address: Xcalacoco, Lte. 2 ,Punta Bete, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocos Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Cocos Cabanas has 6 cozy Bungalows (3 Queen ,1 King and 2 Junior suites), an outdoor Swimming pool and is just 10 minutes walking or 3 by bike from the beach. All bungalows have A/C, Ceiling Fans and iPod docking stations. The Junior suites come with King Bed and a Futon , Kitchenette, Fridge, Micro, Coffee-maker and all Boutique amenities .The bungalows are built in a typical local style with thatched roofs made of dried and woven palm-tree leaves. They all have tiled flooring and private bathrooms with a shower or bath. Cocos Cabanas offers both Mexican and international cuisine, including pizzas made in Coco's wood-fired oven(Lobster-Pizza), grilled Shrimp, Lobster and Steaks and a range of Mexican appetizers and Main dishes such as Mole poblano, Guacamole,Mixiote, Ceviche or Quesadillas. Guests can relax in the sun loungers or hammocks by the pool, go snorkeling or explore some of the nearby Mayan ruins, including Tulum or Chichen Itza. Ferries to the island of Cozumel leave from Playa del Carmen, about a 20-minute drive from the resort.Just Relax we do the rest!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cocos Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco`s Cabanas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cocos Cabanas Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing