We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Playa del Carmen”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #22 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A big thank you to the Steve and the staff at hotel cielo for making my stay a truely amazing and memorable one. Clean and comfortable rooms with a smile around every corner, after only a few days there I felt like part of the "familia". Centrally located only a few minutes to the beach and all sorts of shopping made Hotel Cielo the perfect place to stay for a few nights or a long week. The front desk was full of suggestions and helpful hints as to the best places to go or things to see. I know where I will be staying for all my future vacations in the Maya Riviera.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60878Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you 60878Matt for your review. We are happy that you experienced a memorable time with us here at Hotel Cielo. And we are more then happy that you felt like family, this is exactly the feel we are creating here. Thank you for staying at Hotel Cielo & we too hope to see you sooner than later.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    190
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
136
361
112
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piermont, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Took a quick getaway over Memorial day weekend. Once again, stayed at Hotel Cielo right in the middle of where you want to be in Playa. Extremely affordable, very clean and comfortable. As in the past, the employees are very knowledgeable of the locale and offer great advise. The restaurant attached the the hotel, Carboncitos, has the most delicious and authentic Mexican food in the area. I will most definitely be back at Hotel Cielo, hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotravelerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you solotravelerNY for taking the time to write your review & thank you for staying with Hotel Cielo again. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, noticed our knowledge of the area & our willingness to steer you in the right direction. We know you are on vacation & we will do our best create a great vacation experience. Once again, thank you for staying with Hotel Cielo.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

great experience, really cool area.
The people there are real helpful and fun. The area is perfect to relax... (specially after having been out all night)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viagnehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Gracias viagnehy for your review. We know you traveled a great distance for your vacation,so we at Hotel Cielo were Happy to accommodate you & maybe one day we will see you in Barcelona. Thank you for staying with Hotel Cielo.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed at hotel Cielo on many occasions & was never dissapointed ! Always a warm greeting with lots of helpful recommendations. There is nothing fancy about this place but that's just the way I like it. It has a wonderful Boutiquey Mexican charm about it that I Love!
1 block from the beach and in the heart of town. I love how you can just pop in for quick bite or cocktail, do a wardrobe change and out the door to take it all in again:)
This place has never disappointed in any way. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for beautiful simplicity, location & helpful staff ~_•

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbur68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thank you wilbur68 for your review & continuing patronage, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that we were able to make your vacation enjoyable once again & we will do our best to continue to to so. Please be sure to check your e mail for our frequent guest promotion that we will be sending out in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with Hotel Cielo.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I have gone to Playa del Carmen several times in the last few months as I have been in the market for a condo there. Have stayed in several hotels in the centro and close to the beach. Some of them were twice the price of El Cielo and not half as nice!

I found the hotel because I have eaten many times at Canrocitas, the wonderful and very reasonably priced restaurant next attached to the hotel (5 steps off of Avenida 5th, on Calle 4). Carboncitas is crazy good and I hate to say "cheap" as that can mean not do good, but this place ROCKS for the food and drink. At happy hour they have TWO tacos al carbon for 11 pesos. Do the math, that is two for a dollar. And they have the most awesome 55 peso huge margaritas ever. They bring you the best chips and multiple sauces for the tacos, including their famous pumpkin sauce, pico de galo, guacamole sauce, mmmm. When you stay at the hotel you get half priced breakfast here. Considering that all the other places I stayed give you a crappy free bfast of toast and coffee and juice, getting Carboncitas breakfasts for half price is a very good deal. Their omlets (esp. the chorizo ones) and fantastic. The special cinnamon french toast is yummy. I got one of those two and coffee (free refills) and a mango/pina/orange smothie for breakfast and was set until happy hour time every day.

Now for the hotel. I asked by email for a quiet room in back and one that is cool, as it is blazing this time of yr there. What did I get? For 55 dollars (and get this, the 4th night was free) I got a huge room w/two queen beds and enough room to store the bar stools and stereo I bought for my new condo in Playa, and still had enough room to dance around the room solo. The AC was fantastic, as opposed to the ones at the other hotels I stayed in which just did not cool the rooms enough.

Great TV reception, unlike two other hotels I stayed in. Several English stations and movie stations- I had something good to watch every night before drifting off to sleep after my nightly Carboncitas margarita.

The staff is very nice, very friendly. I met two of the owners and also Roberto at the front desk was particularly sweet, helping me haul up the stuff I bought for the condo. Housekeepers were good and trustworthy. I left my IPad and the new stereo and stuff in the room and nothing was touched. I tipped them nicely when I left.

Love this place. If my new condo can not handle everyone who comes to visit, I am recomending El Cielo to my visitors. For $165 I got 4 nights of bliss there. Oh and the rooftop is cool also. Only drawback is no pool, but with the caribbean one half block away, and AC that blasts like a fridge in the room (and celing fans), who cares. Oh also hot water, although it takes a few min. to get hot- don't give up, just wait a bit, it will get hot.

Watch out for other hotels in this price range in Playa. Some look good on internet but are skany or not so friendly once you get there. EL Cielo is the real deal.

Room Tip: Has ocean view rms, but bargains are the $55 rms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Thank you eileend10 for choosing Hotel Cielo & that you took the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you were so enthusiastic about your review & we really appreciate it. I really cant say much more, you said it all, and again , I thank you , sometimes I myself forget how much we have to offer. And just so you know, we do not allow dancing in the rooms, please do not let it happen again ....just kidding. We wish you well & hope you enjoy your new condo, please be sure to stop by and say hello. Again, thank you for staying at Hotel Cielo & thank you for the future recommendations.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A couple of friends recommended Hotel Cielo to us & I am so happy we chose to stay with them. Clean rooms & It´s one of my peeves Comfortable,rooms were cool, unique design, owner says they will update but we loved it, I will definitely return to see if it could be better. Centrally located, 100 feet from the beautiful Caribbean Sea, many restaurants, good night life & very tourist friendly, scuba, ruins, culture. All of the above was great, but what was the most amazing, was the owner & the staff, incredibly attentive, they really care & show great concern to assure you are enjoying your self. They create a great vibe at Hotel Cielo, they really make you want to come back. Thank you, Steve, Roberto, Miguel, thank you all for making our vacation a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlezb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Thank you beetlezb for your review. This is exactly what we strive for... These are the words we want to continually hear..... "Excellent Little Hotel" and we at Hotel Cielo will continue to work diligently to achieve this. I & I am sure yourselves as well, have been experiencing mediocre customer service & accepting it as good service, this is unacceptable. We´re bringing back excellent customer service & maybe we´ll even start a trend. Bettelezb, I would like to thank you for noticing our attentiveness, and I especially want to thank our staff for their undivided commitment. Thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you in the future.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had an amazing time!!! The hotel has a wonderful rooftop to get away and watch the sunrise and sunset. The hotel is right off the main drag and so close to the beach. The staff was great and the rooms were clean and quiet with comfortable beds. A great value!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leach_jbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you leach_jb for taking the time to write your review. We were delighted that you chose Hotel Cielo again for your vacation & that you had an amazing experience. It is so rewarding for us when we have repeat guests, it is then we know we are doing something right. Thank you for the kind words & will be sure to try our best to lure you back with our wonderful roof top sunset. Hope to see you on your next journey.
Owner/Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#26 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing